Major Beth Maddox

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Cygnar Storm Knight Warcaster

fluff blurb

Basic Info[edit]

Maddox1
Maddox1.jpg
SPD 6
MAT 7
RAT 6
DEF 15
ARM 16
FOCUS 6
HP 16
WJP +30
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

  • Storm Strike - 10" range, POW 12 gun
    • Damage Type: Electricity - This weapon does electricity damage.
    • Critical Disruption - On a critical hit, a warjack hit will lose all focus points. It also can't gain focus or channel spells for one round.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Warcaster - This model comes with a bunch of special rules, most notably being really awesome at everything.
  • Immunity: Electricity - This model is not damaged by electric weapons, and is ignored when determining lightning arcs.
  • Quick Work - When this model destroys one or more enemies with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately afterwards it can make a free basic ranged attack.

Spells[edit]

  • Assail - Cost 2, 6" range, Upkeep
Target friendly Faction warjack can charge, slam, or trample for free and gains +2" when it does so. Also, if it does a slam, the slammed model is moved +2".
Friendly Faction warrior model/unit gains +3 ARM and Tough.
The caster and friendly Faction models that start their activation in the caster's CTRL range gain Relentless Charge for one turn. (Relentless Charge - This model gains Pathfinder while it is charging.)
  • Snipe - Cost 2, 6" range, Upkeep
Target model/unit's ranged weapons gain +4 RNG.

Feat : Thundering Rage[edit]

While in Maddox's control range, friendly faction model's melee weapons gain +3 POW and Beat Back. Thundering Rage lasts for one turn. (Beat Back - Immediately after a basic attack with this weapon is resolved during this model's Combat Action, the enemy model hit can be pushed 1" directly away from the attacking model. After the enemy model is pushed, the attacking model can advance up to 1" directly towards it.)


Thoughts on Major Beth Maddox[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Release
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.

Major Beth Maddox in a nutshell[edit]

Major Beth Maddox is a toolbox caster whose large variety of support spells fit any situation you might find her in. As a battlebox caster, her simplicity is meant to serve as an entry point for players new to the game. This has a noticeable impact on how she functions as a warcaster, namely she can tend to be starved for focus as she is maintaining spells to buff her army.

Major Beth Maddox can shift the battle in her favor by using her powerful upkeep spells. Snipe on ranged troops engaged in a fight fight means your soldiers are free to make more aimed shots or shoot at favorable targets. Dauntless Resolves has a similar effect for units that are likely to take some punishment from the enemy. Assail allows for threat extension, it takes some desperation for a player to put a valuable piece in the threat range of an Ironclad. Onslaught on the other hand can be wildly powerful opening battlefield in surprising ways.

How does this all come together? Build a list that makes efficient use of these spells. Avoid the dangerous pitfall of daring to put Beth’s personal combat skills to use. Yes, she has a cool gun, yes she has a good reach weapon and decent melee skill, yes she has decent defensive stats. Despite all of that, she is not meant for the front lines. Maddox is going to be unable upkeep all of her spells, run heavy warjacks, and survive a half decent assassination run from a mildly competent enemy.

Thoughts on when & how to use her feat and spells[edit]

Feat thoughts[edit]

Charge. Use it when most of your army smashes into theirs or when you smash into their heavies. Not much to say other than that you can sometimes get interesting positioning.

Spell thoughts[edit]

  • Assail - 2" extra movement can make that charge connect. And the free charge is worth an extra focus. Use it when you can get good use out of it.
  • Dauntless Resolve - An ARM boost for warriors. Best used on high-ARM warriors; Storm Lances being your toughest warriors and Stormblade Infantry and Silver Line Stormguard being your next toughest units. She goes well with Storm Knights. Sword Knights go from being great jammer infantry to fantastic jammer infantry.
  • Electrical Blast - Zap. Incorporeal targets or the occasional warjack only.
  • Onslaught - Pathfinder rocks - this is probably worth casting on turn 1 and upkeeping for the whole game unless there is far too little scenery on your battlefield.
  • Snipe Good ranged unit or warjack buff.

Typical Army & Strategy[edit]

Strategy[edit]

Her main method of winning is ...Placeholder.
For example: "using her feat turn to get a melee/ranged/spell assassination" "attrition then win on scenario" "board control then win on scenario" "sending a jack in, to beat the enemy warcaster's face into pulp" "etc"

Army[edit]

Take units that will make use of her upkeep spells. This should encourage you to take a decent variety of troops including some ranged choices for Snipe, some moderately armored troops for Dauntless Resolve, and some good heavy warjacks for Assail.

  • Storm Lances are as mentioned not just the best cavalry in the game but the best target for Dauntless Resolve. Pathfinder from Onslaught is the icing on the cake.
  • The Stormclad takes advantage of the fact that she's a Storm Knight and can charge it up (and she likes other Storm Knights). Assail to make it charge for free works pretty well.
    • You can actually get more power out of it if you marshal it - but it then becomes vulnerable to effects a normal warjack could shake
  • Silver Line Stormguard - reach, hitting power
  • Trencher Infantry love Snipe, Onslaught, and love her feat.
  • Sword Knights make incredibly good use of Dauntless Resolve. Defensive Line provides immunity to knock down which in turn allows them to make use of multiple tough rolls. Being cheap jammer infantry, many players, this spell amplifies their power.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • She won't catch many enemies by surprise.
  • Vulnerable to anti-upkeep tactics (Purgation, Lamentation, Purification, Eiryss2, etc.)

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Keep in mind the Beat Back element of her feat - even though you cannot destroy a target, you can use it to push contesting models out of the zone, if they are standing on the edge.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for any-and-all casters (Edit)

Other Cygnar models[edit]

CygnarLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Jakes2 - Darius - Kraye - Sloan - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Sturgis1 - Constance - Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Maddox - Siege1 - Siege2
C
Y
G
N
A
R
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Journeyman - Jakes1 - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Marshals Runewood - Strangeways - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA
Light warjacks Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy warjacks Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Gun Mages - Mechaniks - Long Gunners - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - T. Cannon Crew - T. Chain Gun Crew - T. Commandos - T. Express Team - T. Long Gunners - T. Infantry - T. Mechaniks
Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team

Ranking Officer CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch

Solos Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Captain Adept - Journeyman Warcaster - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - T. Buster - T. Master Gunner - T. Patrol Dog - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Runewood - Strangeways - Maxwell Finn - Anson Hitch - Harlan Versh - Jakes1 - Bastian Falk - Gwen Keller - Laddermore - Harrison Gibbs - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
 
Theme Forces
Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Merc cygnar.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten
Requires a 2+ caster game
C
Y
G
N
A
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine - Brun Cragback & Lug
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cygnar army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Horgenhold Artillery - Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Alexia1 - Sam & the Devil Dogs - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Eilish Garrity - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Dougal - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Savio - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn - Thor
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Disruption      (Edit)

  • If a model is disrupted, it cannot get focus for any reason. Whether the rule says 'allocate', 'gain', 'receive' or 'give' ... Disruption stops it all. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Despite being unable to channel spells, a warjack can still be the target of spells just fine.

Rules Clarification : Cortex Damage      (Edit)

  • The damage to the cortex is applied before making your normal damage roll.


Rules Clarification:  : Warcaster      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

 
  • General
    • FOCUS (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warcaster's card. Focus (lowercase) refers to focus points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FOCUS stat, not double your focus points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warcasters are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      • There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warcaster rules.
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    3. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    4. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • Units
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.


Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argii can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.

Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Quick Work      (Edit)

  • If you're still engaged in melee when Quick Work triggers, you won't be able to make the ranged attack.
  • Quick Work specifies "Combat Action" so doesn't work with Impact Attacks or out-of-activation attacks


Rules Clarification : Assail      (Edit)

  • If you're planning on casting this spell often, you should probably check out the Trample and Slam clarifications.
  • The extra slam distance applies to any slam the warjack causes, not just Power Attack Slams. For instance, it also applies to the Banshee's Force Cannon.

Rules Clarification : Dauntless Resolve      (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Electrical Blast      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Onslaught      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Relentless Charge      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Snipe      (Edit)

  • Although Snipe the spell and Snipe the Attack Type are two different "sources", they are multiple instances of the same effect. As such, they're not cumulative. Refer to the "Rule Priority" section of the core rulebook.
  • Snipe does not affect the range of weapons that use the Spray template, or one's which have RNG = CTRL.


Rules Clarification : Beat Back      (Edit)

  • You cannot use Beat Back if you destroy the target; because you can't advance towards a model that is no longer on the table. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The free advance doesn't depend on the target being pushed, but it is dependent on you trying to push them:
    • If you try to push something which Cannot Be Pushed (such as a Colossal), then it won't move and then you can advance directly towards it.
    • If you choose not to push your target, then you choose not to trigger Beat Back, so you don't get to advance.
  • Beat Back can be used to push larger models.
  • See also the clarifications on Pushes.