Madrak Ironhide, Thornwood Chieftain

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Crucible Guard CID is now live     (Edit)  

Madrak Ironhide, Thornwood Chieftain
Trollblood Trollkin Warlock

Fluff blurb (Copy from PP)

Basic Info[edit]

Base Size Medium
WBP +29
DEF 14
ARM 17
HP 18
See also How to Read the statblock


  • Thrown Rathrok - 8" range, POW 15 "gun"
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
    • Blood Boon - If this weapon kills an enemy, this model can cast a spell of COST 3 or less for free. Blood Boon can only trigger once per activation.
    • Ricochet - If this weapon hits you may make another attack against a target within a short distance of your target, ignoring LoS. Ricochets don't bounce again.
    • Thrown - If this model has a STR buff/debuff, it is added to the POW of this weapon.
  • Rathrok - 2" reach, P+S 15 melee weapon
    • Damage Type: Magical - As above
    • Blood Boon - As above


  • Warlock - All warlocks come with a stack of standard special rules - most notably being awesome.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Scroll of Grindar's Perseverance - Once per game, Madrak can take no damage from an attack that hits him. Declare before the damage roll.
  • Tactician [Faction warrior] - While in this model's CMD range, friendly Faction warrior models can ignore other friendly Faction warrior models when determining LOS. Friendly Faction warrior models can advance through other friendly Faction warrior models in this model's CMD range if they have enough movement to move completely past them.


While in Madrak's CTRL range, friendly Faction models gain +2 DEF and cannot become knocked down. Even Ground lasts for one round.
Target friendly Faction model/unit gains an additional die on each model’s next melee attack roll this turn.
Target model in the caster's battlegroup immediately makes one basic melee attack.

Feat: Grim Determination[edit]

Remove d3 + 3 damage points from friendly Faction models currently in Madrak’s CTRL range. While in Madrak’s CTRL range, friendly Faction models cannot be charged or slam power attacked. Grim Determination lasts for one round.

Recent Changes[edit]

2017.07 Trollkin CID - Madrak1 got a massive overhaul

Feat changed (used to grant a free attack)
Gained Tactician
Wording of Guided Hand changed so it works a bit more intuitively with out-of-activation attacks.
Lost Stone Fall and Sure Foot spells and replaced them with Even Ground and Jackhammer.

Thoughts on Madrak1[edit]

Madrak1 in a nutshell[edit]

Madrak1 is an infantry support warlock who wins by attrition and holding the objective. +2 DEF for the entire army plus no knockdown makes his entire army very annoying to kill.

Maximising his feat & spells[edit]

Grim Determination is much better used proactively than reactively; the healing is nice but very seldom game changing.

  • Even Ground is his signature ability. +2 DEF and no-knockdown-tough means that grinding through Madrak's army is frequently trying. This spell is frequently cast via Blood Boon from Rathrok.
  • Guided Hand is useful - but with Madrak's lack of Fury it's frequently cast via a Trollkin Runebearer
  • Jackhammer lets him get excellent use out of hard hitting warbeasts.

Theme Thoughts[edit]

With Tactician Madrak is primarily an infantry caster and with no damage buff or shooting support he's a melee caster. This leads inexorably to two themes - Band of Heroes for pure melee and Storm of the North for combined arms. Band of Heroes has the remove from play effect and allows Warders, the Sons of Bragg, Fennblades, and the Stone Scribe Chronicler. Storm of the North has an advance deploying army and allows DEF 13 Raiders Fire Eaters, and the Bears, and keeps the army safe from Sorscha's feat and the like.

Typical Strategy & Army[edit]


Madrak wins by attrition and holding the objective. For this reason he will suffer more against ranged opponents than melee, and will often need to be careful of alpha strikes although his feat can hold off many of them. Madrak himself does best to stand behind a line of units/warbeasts and to throw Rathrok to soften up targets for his warbeasts to kill.


Theme thoughts[edit]

There are precisely two theme forces that allow Trollkin Champions, Long Riders, and at least another multi-wound infantry unit. Few lists for Madrak1 would work better when not tweaked to fall into one theme or the other.

  • Band of Heroes is the default theme force for Madrak and allows Trollkin Warders, Trollkin Fennblades, and provides remove from play effects to prevent recursion lists from working.
  • Storm of the North doesn't have any significant benefits to the models (although free stuff is always good) - but does allow you advance deploying models and some ranged infantry.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • His small CTRL area makes him extremely vulnerable to Lamentation, making you to rely on Rathrok and Blood Boon to get Even Ground
  • He has no damage buffs so needs really hard hitting infantry. Of course much of his favoured infantry hits hard.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Rathrok can force the enemy to keep their head down.



Released way back in Primal Mk1 (2006)

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for any & all warlocks (Edit)

Other Trollblood models[edit]



Warlocks Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor
Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - Champions - Fennblades - Highwaymen - Long Riders - Runeshapers - Scouts - Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer
Sons of Bragg
Solos Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - Northkin Shaman - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner
Braylen Wanderheart - Horgle1 - Horthol - Janissa Stonetide - Valka Curseborn
Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North
Minion Trollblood.jpg


Minion Battlegroups
Warlocks Bloody Barnabas - Calaban - Helga - Jaga-Jaga - Lord Carver - Maelok - Midas - Rask - Sturm & Drang

Requires a 2+ warlock game

Other Controllers Lesser Warlocks: Brun & Lug - Dahlia & Skarath - Rorsh & Brine - Wrongeye & Snapjaw

'Jack Marshals: Raluk Moorclaw

Warjacks & Warbeasts The minion battlegroup members you can include in a Trollblood army depends entirely on what type of model is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what minions it can control.
Minion Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Bone Grinders - Brigands - Commandos - Razorback Crew - Slaughterhousers - Bokur & Swamp Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows

Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea -

Solos Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Efaarit Scouts - Feralgeist - Witch Doctor - Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Ogrun Bokur - Gobber Chef - Thrullg - Totem Hunter

Agata, Queen of Carnage - Alten Ashley - Brun & Lug - Dahlia & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Gudrun - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Maximus - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Saxon - Victor Pendrake - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines Meat Thresher

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Feat : Grim Determination

  • You roll once per affected model and each model removed wounds equal to their respective dice roll + 3.
    You don't roll once and apply the same amount to each affected model. (Locked thread)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blood Boon and/or Rites of Blood     (Edit)

  • Blood Boon doesn't interact with abilities that change the COST of a spell. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For instance, if you trigger Blood Boon while being affected by Lamentation then you can still cast a COST 3 spell (even though if you spent focus to do the same thing it would cost you 6 focus).
  • (Rites of Blood only): The Priestess doesn't need to be in the caster's CTRL area to use her ability.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ricochet      (Edit)

  • Placeholder
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Thrown      (Edit)

  • You do not add the model's base STR to the thrown spear, just modifiers. The base STR is already included in the POW of the weapon. (Locked thread)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warlock      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

  • General
    • FURY (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warlock's card. Fury (lowercase) refers to fury points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FURY stat, not double your fury points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warlocks are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warlock rules.
  • Reaving & Leeching
    • If you choose to Reave, it's all or nothing. You must Reave all the Fury (up to your limit) and you can't choose to "let some disappear". (Locked thread)
    • If your warbeast is Removed From Play, you can still reave fury off it. (Locked thread)
    • If your warbeast is destroyed or RFP'd while under your opponent's control then:
      1. You cannot reave fury off it. Because it is still enemy at the time it was destroyed/RFP'd, and you can't reave from enemy warbeasts.
      2. After it is taken off the table, it returns to your control and is eligible for Spirit Bond and (possibly) Return to Play stuff (like Thagrosh1's feat).
  • Transferring Damage
    • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)      
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argii can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Scroll of Grindar's Perseverance - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Tactician      (Edit)

  • The moving model doesn't have to be in CMD range, just the model they're moving through.
  • The "can ignore for LOS" is not optional. You cannot opt to "turn off" your ability to see through models, in the hope of getting a free strike or some such. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Even Ground - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Guided Hand      (Edit)

  • Although Impact Attacks generate multiple attack rolls, Guided Hand will only buff the first roll you make. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Jackhammer      (Edit)

  • The caster can cast Jackhammer on themself (as they're a member of their own battlegroup).
    • The caster can do this before advancing. They can even choose to do initial ranged attack(s) as their combat action, after casting the spell.
  • Battlegroup members (Edit)
    • Spells that target/affect "models in the battlegroup" can also target/will also affect the caster, the caster's unit (if they have one), and the caster's Companion (if they have one).
    • It won't target/affect models which are Attached, though.