Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary Character Ordic Solo (Attached)

The court of King Baird Cathor II of Ord is known for its subtle intrigues and stunning courtesans. Madelyn Corbeau may not have been the most beautiful woman to grace the Bandit King’s court, but she is certainly the most brilliant intriguer to enter his service. Having charmed half the courtiers in western Immoren, it is simple enough for her to gain access to the commanders of armies. She sells her services as an adviser to any army with coin. No matter which army she accompanies, her loyalties remain firmly with the Baird, and she passes her intelligence on to the King’s spies whenever possible. Madelyn may be the most formidable asset in the Bandit King’s struggle to keep his nation independent of his hungry neighbors.

Basic Info[edit]

Madelyn1
MadelynCorbeauOrdicCourtesan.jpg
SPD 6
DEF 14
ARM 12
HP 5
Cost 4
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Unarmed - This model has no melee weapons, which means a host of options are not available to it.

Abilities[edit]

  • Mercenary - This model will work for Cygnar, Cryx, Khador, Protectorate, & Retribution
  • Attached - Before the start of the game, attach this model to a friendly Faction warcaster for the rest of the game. Each Faction warcaster can only have one model/unit attached to it.
  • Intrigue (★ Action) - Target enemy/unit in CMD range loses stealth for one round.
  • Parlay (★ Action) - Enemy warrior models in this model's CMD range cannot target attacks at this model or its warcaster for one round.
  • Seduction (★ Action) - Take control of a living enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model B2B with this model. You can immediately make a full advance with the enemy model followed by a basic melee attack, then Seduction expires. The enemy cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement. A model can be affected by Seduction only once per turn.
  • Sucker! - If this model is hit with a ranged attack, it must redirect the shot to a nearby friendly warrior.


Thoughts on Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan[edit]

Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan in a nutshell[edit]

Madelyn Corbeau is a warcaster attachment with some minor abilities. The biggest one is Parlay - which can keep your caster safe from a lot of things.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Due to her Parlay ability Madelyn synergises well with any warcaster that wants to stay alive ... so all of them. As she became a warcaster attachment instead of a standard solo, you must weigh her usefulness compared to the other available attachments within a faction.

  • The Squire is strong contestant in Cygnar's army; 3 extra focus, a re-roll on magic attack roll, and an extra 2" CTRL range often overshadow the perks of Madelyn. But in the case of Haley1, this concern is often negated by the enormous benefits of parlay on such an in-your-face 'caster
  • Sylys Wyshnalyrr, The Seeker works well with spell slinging casters, who sometimes tend to be fragile. Decisions, decisions...
  • The Hierophant also supports spellcasters, but if you need defensive buffs, rather go for Madelyn.
  • Reinholdt, Gobber Speculator is the complete opposite of Madelyn, mainly offering offensive buffs. If you have a caster with a strong weapon (Caine. Brisbane), he's the favoured choice. His Spygalss works much further than Madelyn's Intrigue, but only affects a single model in a unit.
  • The Withershadow Combine (and in small point games, the Skarlock Thrall) are both strong contestants of her. Cryx loves sneaky, spell-supporting attachments, and they do just like that.

So for synergies it's not so much who she helps, but who helps her. For instance, warcasters that can keep her alive:

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Don't rely too heavily on Parlay. It doesn't affect warbeasts, warjacks, or battle engines. Also, a lot of models can simply stand outside Parlay range and shoot her dead.
  • Intrigue is near-useless. If a fragile, backline, support attachment is near enough to the action to remove Stealth and the main battlelines are so far apart that Stealth is still an issue ... then something weird is going on.
  • Sucker means, that you MUST allocate a direct hit, even if it then hits your warcaster. That is not an issue with battle-engine casters, but frankly, they'd rarely take her due to her slow speed.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Paradoxically she's best kept behind your caster to protect them from melee assassination.
    • Say you have a small-based warcaster, you want to position her about 3.5" behind the warcaster. Then her 7" Parlay bubble will extend 2" in front of your warcaster, ensuring anyone that gets in melee range of the caster will be affected.
    • If you do this, watch out for Chain Strikes though. In the attacker's activation the melee range will be much bigger, than the protective aura of Parlay.
    • This might be a dangerous game against models with Assault as well; as they still get their ranged attacks, if they fail their charge outside Madelin's CMD range.
  • Seduction's obvious targets are powerful solos, but unit commanders also worth a consideration. Pulling back the unit commander can potentially put models out of formation. Such models do not benefit from spells/upkeeps on the unit (but still count as having spell/upkeep on them, thus, making them vulnerable against things like Purgation). Outside their activation they also cannot move (Admonition, Countercharge, Pursuit, etc.), or attack (Counterblast, free strike, etc).
  • Even if you cannot attack with a seduced model, you should turn it around, so your enemy gets the back strike bonus. Don't forget, it does not affect undead models (understandably).

Notable changes from Mk2[edit]

For all practical purposes she's an entirely new model.

  • Intrigue effect changed, and is also a special action now instead of a passive ability.
  • Gained Parlay special action


Other[edit]

How can I include this model in my army?[edit]

Mercenaries are a bit more complicated than regular faction models, they can be taken in one of three different ways.

  1. This model can be included in a pure Mercenary army.
  2. This model can be included in the following Faction armies:
  3. This model can be included in the following theme forces:

Trivia[edit]

Other Mercenary models[edit]

MercenariesLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs
Mercenary Warjacks (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rover
Gallant - Rocinante
Colossal Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
Marshals Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
  M  
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Units Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Ogrun Assault Corps - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator
Character Units Alexia1 - Sam & The Devil Dogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea - Commodore Cannon - Devil's Shadow Mutineers
Solos Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber River Raider
Character Solos Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Brun & Lug - Colbie - Dahlia & Skarath - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone1 - Gorman - Gudrun - Harlan Versh - Hutchuk - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Savio - Saxon - Sergeant Nick - Stannis - Taryn - Thor - Viktor - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
 
Theme Forces (Edit)
Hammer Strike - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Madelyn

  • Madelyn can be attached to a Cephalyx caster in a 2-caster game that isn't using the Operating Theatre theme force. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Attached      (Edit)

  • Attached models are not (normally) part of the warcaster's/warlock's battlegroup. (Infernal Ruling)
(You need the Companion rule to become part of the battlegroup).
  • Thus, attachments are not affected by battlegroup-only effects such as Energizer (unless they're a Companion).

Rules Clarification : Intrigue - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Parlay      (Edit)

  • Madelyn and her caster can still be affected by attacks that target someone else, such as AOEs that deviate or Sprays.
  • Only actual warcaster models are protected by Parlay.
    • If Madelyn is attached to a warcaster that has a companion (such as the Coven & Egregore), the warcaster can be affected by Parlay but the Companion is not. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If Madelyn is attached to a warcaster unit (such as Goreshade1), the warcaster is affected by Parlay but the 'Grunts' are not. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You can target a 'Grunt' with a unit-wide debuff attack (such as Crippling Grasp) and the warcaster will be affected. (Infernal Ruling)
      • With Haley3's unit, only Haley Prime is actually a warcaster. See the Time Projection rule.
  • Models can still declare charges against Madelyn/caster, but if they end in Parlay range then they can't make the charge attack. They have to redirect their melee attack(s) against someone else. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Seduction      (Edit)

  • This ability does not target. You can take control of someone in your rear arc, if you're B2B.
  • Depending on the model, sometimes Seduction is a normal action and sometimes it is a Magic Ability.
Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)

General

  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
    • If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.

Movement

  • You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.

Melee Attacks (Influence, Seduction, Bone Shaker, etc)

  • Normally the controlled model can't make Gunfighter attacks (because that would be a ranged attack, and most "take control" abilities only allow melee attacks).
  • Nor does it allow Point Blank attacks (Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation').
  • Controlled models can't get backstrike bonusses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (apdx A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".

Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)

  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!

Rules Clarification:  : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation     (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

* Sacrificial Pawn & Grim Salvation are optional, but Sucker! is not
  • Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, or chain attacks.
  • Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
  • None of them work vs magic attacks (spells). All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.

From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable

  • Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model; including stuff that triggers "on hit" (such as Critical Fire) (even though the Pawn kinda wasn't "hit").
  • The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
  • Sprays and AOEs
    • A model hit by a spray attack can use Sacrificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The placement of the template does not change.
      • Note that this may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
    • A model directly hit by a AOE may use Sacificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The AOE template is moved (because Sac Pawn is resolved at Step 6 of the Attack Sequence in Apdx A, but AOE placement occurs at Step 7).
      • Depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are, the first guy might get clipped by the AOE anyway.
      • A model indirectly hit by an AOE cannot use Sac Pawn.
  • Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
    • If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
    • Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
  • Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn
    • If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
    • This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.