Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan
Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
Mercenary Character Ordic Solo (Attached)
The court of King Baird Cathor II of Ord is known for its subtle intrigues and stunning courtesans. Madelyn Corbeau may not have been the most beautiful woman to grace the Bandit King’s court, but she is certainly the most brilliant intriguer to enter his service. Having charmed half the courtiers in western Immoren, it is simple enough for her to gain access to the commanders of armies. She sells her services as an adviser to any army with coin. No matter which army she accompanies, her loyalties remain firmly with the Baird, and she passes her intelligence on to the King’s spies whenever possible. Madelyn may be the most formidable asset in the Bandit King’s struggle to keep his nation independent of his hungry neighbors.
- Unarmed - This model has no weapons.
- Mercenary - Will work as a Cygnar mercenary, Cryx mercenary, Khador mercenary, Protectorate of Menoth mercenary, and Retribution of Scyrah mercenary .
- Attached - Before the start of the game, attach this model to a friendly Faction warcaster for the rest of the game. Each Faction warcaster can only have one model/unit attached to it.
- Intrigue (★ Action) - Target enemy/unit in CMD range loses stealth for one round.
- Parlay (★ Action) - Enemy warrior models in this model's CMD range cannot target attacks at this model or its warcaster for one round.
- Seduction (★ Action) - Take control of a living enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model B2B with this model. You can immediately make a full advance with the enemy model followed by a basic melee attack, then Seduction expires. The enemy cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement. A model can be affected by Seduction only once per turn.
- Sucker! - If this model is hit with a ranged attack, it must redirect the shot to a nearby friendly warrior.
Thoughts on Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan
Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan in a nutshell
Madelyn Corbeau is one of the stranger models in the game. She keeps melee infantry from attacking her and her warcaster, has limited stealth removal, and Seduction is sometimes helpful.
Combos & Synergies
- Creative use of Seduction will make the most of her abilities. She will likely die to magic, blasts or shooting if she advances far enough forward to use Intrigue.
- Parlay is more to keep her alive than your caster. Casters almost never get killed by melee infantry. It's almost always guns, magic or heavies. Unless you see Butcher3 or Saeryn and Rhyas a lot...
- Drake MacBain's feat can keep her alive for an extra turn.
- If there is a zone or a flag guarded by nothing but melee infantry, they won't be able to get her off it.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Don't rely too heavily on Parlay. It doesn't affect warbeasts, warjacks, or battle engines. Also, a lot of models can simply stand outside Parlay range and shoot her dead.
- Intrigue is near-useless. If a fragile, backline, support attachment is near enough to the action to remove Stealth and the main battlelines are so far apart that Stealth is still an issue ... then something weird is going on.
- Sucker means, that you MUST allocate a direct hit, even if it then hits your warcaster. That is not an issue with battle-engine casters, but frankly, they'd rarely take her due to her slow speed.
- Just about every other warcaster attachment in the game is more useful.
Tricks & Tips
- This might be a dangerous game against models with Assault as well; as they still get their ranged attacks, if they fail their charge outside Madeline's CMD range.
- Seduction's obvious targets are powerful solos, but unit commanders also worth a consideration. Pulling back the unit commander can potentially put models out of formation. Such models do not benefit from spells/upkeeps on the unit (but still count as having spell/upkeep on them, thus, making them vulnerable against things like Purgation). Outside their activation they also cannot move (Admonition, Countercharge, Pursuit, etc.), or attack (Counterblast, free strike, etc).
- Even if you cannot attack with a seduced model, you should turn it around, so your enemy gets the back strike bonus. Don't forget, it does not affect undead models (understandably).
Other Mercenary models
Rules Clarification : Madelyn
- Madelyn can be attached to a Cephalyx caster in a 2-caster game that isn't using the Operating Theatre theme force. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Attached (Edit)
- Attached models are not (normally) part of the warcaster's/warlock's battlegroup. (Infernal Ruling)
- (You need the Companion rule to become part of the battlegroup).
- Thus, attachments are not affected by battlegroup-only effects such as Energizer (unless they're a Companion).
Rules Clarification : Intrigue - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Parlay (Edit)
- Madelyn and her caster can still be affected by attacks that target someone else, such as AOEs that deviate or Sprays.
- Only actual warcaster models are protected by Parlay.
- If Madelyn is attached to a warcaster that has a companion (such as the Coven & Egregore), the warcaster can be affected by Parlay but the Companion is not. (Infernal Ruling)
- If Madelyn is attached to a warcaster unit (such as Goreshade1), the warcaster is affected by Parlay but the 'Grunts' are not. (Infernal Ruling)
- You can target a 'Grunt' with a unit-wide debuff attack (such as Crippling Grasp) and the warcaster will be affected. (Infernal Ruling)
- With Haley3's unit, only Haley Prime is actually a warcaster. See the Time Projection rule.
- Models can still declare charges against Madelyn/caster, but if they end in Parlay range then they can't make the charge attack. They have to redirect their melee attack(s) against someone else. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Seduction (Edit)
- Seduction does not target. You can take control of someone in your rear arc, if you're B2B.
- Seduction doesn't require an attack roll.
- Depending on the model, sometimes Seduction is a normal action and sometimes it is a Magic Ability.
| Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)
- Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
- This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
- If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
- The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
- Buffs and effects:
- The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
- If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
- If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
- Theme abilities:
- If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, whether it keeps that ability is ... being checked
- You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
- The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
- If you enter into an area, the controlled model can suffer the effect of entering into the area only once per advance. It means you cannot yo-yo a Devastator in and out of a Razor Wall 36 times to deplete all its damage boxes.
- Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
- Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
- Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
- With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
- As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
- It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
- Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
- Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
- You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
- It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
- Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
- Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
- A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
- Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
- If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!
Rules Clarification: : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- Sacrificial Pawn & Grim Salvation are optional, but Sucker! is not
- Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, chain attacks.
- Spells are not basic attacks, because they are not "made with a weapon". (Infernal Ruling)
- CRA and CMA are basic attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a Special Attack generates an additional attack (such as Multi-Fire), the second attack will be basic and as such can have Grim Salvation used vs it. (Infernal Ruling)
- Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
- None of them work vs magic attacks (spells). All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
- The model the attack is transferred to is always hit, even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed (such as Stealth).
Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than when the attack is moved. (Infernal Ruling)
From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable
- Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model.
- The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
- Sprays and AOEs
- A model hit by a spray attack can use Sacrificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The placement of the template does not change.
- Note that this may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
- A model directly hit by a AOE may use Sacificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The AOE template is moved (because Sac Pawn is resolved at Step 6 of the Attack Sequence in Apdx A, but AOE placement occurs at Step 7).
- Depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are, the first guy might get clipped by the AOE anyway.
- A model indirectly hit by an AOE cannot use Sac Pawn.
- Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
- If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
- Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
- Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn
- If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
- This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.