Lord Longfellow

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Grymkin Character Solo

"The noble is a fool, who would accept this spider’s duel."

To all the wastrel nobles in the Iron Kingdoms, Lord Longfellow is a terrifying specter. With stunning accuracy, this arachnoid gentleman guns down those audacious enough to hold themselves in higher regard than their fellows, serving as a not-so-gentle reminder of one’s place in the world.

Basic Info[edit]

Lord Longfellow
DEF 16
ARM 12
HP 5
Base Size Small
Cost 6
See also How to Read the statblock



  • Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapons even while in melee, but when it does so it can only target models it's in melee with. It can even make ranged attacks after charging.
  • Circular Vision - Enemies get no bonuses from attempting a back strike on this model.
  • Finisher - This model gains a damage bonus vs already-damaged targets
  • Fortune Hunter - Longfellow gains an additional die on its ranged attack and damage rolls vs character models.
  • Reciprocate - When this model is missed by an enemy ranged attack, immediately afterwards it can make one basic ranged attack against the attacking model.
  • Swift Hunter - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a basic ranged attack, immediately after the attack it can advance up to 2".

Thoughts on Lord Longfellow[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Release
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.

Lord Longfellow in a nutshell[edit]

Ranged combat solo that wants to kill off characters and especially casters. He is accurate enough to threat high DEF-low ARM casters, and thanks to his special rules, his attacks are strong enough to deal with low DEF-high ARM casters, if they are already damaged.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Lord Longfellow can operate quite well on his own, however, some models can get extra mileage out of him:

  • Glimmer Imp - Scoop + Blind + Paralyzing Gaze + Black Penny + Finisher = very dead targets
  • The Dreamer - Standing in her Artifice of Deviation template gives you a near-unassailable DEF20 against ranged attacks, whereas you can shoot back with Reciprocate. A small Phantasm with the Mark Target will make you all the more accurate.
  • Old Witch3 - He really appreciates Pathfinder to reach his target, or get back into cover with Swift Hunter.
  • The Heretic - his staff can deal with pesky upkeep spells on your target, then you can run in and gun it down. Plus his Arcana will make your shots as strong as a Charger's cannon.
  • With his already meagre ARM he probably won't mind standing near to The King of Nothing, while he can properly expose the warlock's -2 ARM aura on his target. Being Gunfighter, he can deliver Scything Touch by himself to his opponents, making his shots effectively POW14 form the start.
  • Though you probably won't bring a Cage Rager for the sole purpose of supporting Longfellow, he really likes its Wraithbane animus.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Rather expensive
  • Only defense is DEF, and is high on the target list
  • Does little to infantry, jacks, or beasts.
  • Ranged attack denial tricks make him completely harmless.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Lord Longfellow is an assassin; against a wounded caster he's effectively RAT 10.5 POW 17 thanks to the combination of extra dice.
  • "Characters" include not only casters and named solos, but also character jacks and named models in character units - basically anything with FA:C on their card.
    • Note: Many character units contain models that aren't characters. For instance the Grunts in Boomhowlers, and everyone in Croe's.
  • Finisher and Fortune Hunter extends to all of your attacks, including free strikes.
  • Use Black Penny to unjam important models
  • You can make only a single attacks per Reciprocate, but there's no limit how many times you can use that.
  • Things that stop him from from operating at peak efficiency:
    • Terrain - he has no pathfinder, and doesn't ignore concealment/cover
    • Stealth/Smoke/Cloud and intervening models - he can't ignore any of them
    • Ranged attack denial (Countermeasure, Swamp Pit and the like)
    • Enemy upkeeps - notably Arcane Shield, Blur, Roots of the Earth, Iron Flesh, and many more.
    • Models with Tough, Sucker!, Sacrificial Pawn and Shield Guard



Originally released in the Grymkin CID (2017.03)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Grymkin models[edit]

Grymkin Logo.jpg


Warlocks The Child - The Dreamer - The Heretic - The King of Nothing - The Wanderer - Old Witch 3
Lesser Warbeasts Crabbit
Light Warbeasts Frightmare - Gorehound - Rattler
Heavy Warbeasts Cage Rager - Skin & Moans
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Dread Rots - Hollowmen - Mad Caps - Murder Crows - Neigh Slayers - Piggybacks
Twilight Sisters
Solos Cask Imp - Glimmer Imp - Gremlin Swarm - Trapperkin - Witchwood
Lady Karianna Rose - Lord Longfellow
Battle Engines Death Knell
Theme Forces Minions
Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night Eilish Garrity, the Occultist

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Black Penny      (Edit)

  • You ignore the "Target in Melee" DEF bonus, but if you miss you still need to randomly reassign the shot as per normal.

Rules Clarification:  : Gunfighter      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

  • You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
  • A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).


  • 1. Outside of melee
    • If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
  • 2. In melee, but didn't charge
    • If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
    • This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
    • If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
  • 3. Charged into melee
    • If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
    • If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
  • 4. Other targeting notes
    • Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
    • If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.

Attack Roll

  • You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
  • Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
  • How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
    • they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
    • they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
  • Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).

Missing the Attack Roll

  • If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
    • Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
    • but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).

Incorporeal Gunfighters

  • Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
  • Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).

Gunfighter + an AOE weapon

  • If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
  • If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.

Gunfighter + a spray weapon

  • Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
  • If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.

Units of Gunfighters

  • If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
  • Redirected attack:
    • If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
    • If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
    • If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.

Other interactions

  • Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
    • If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
    • These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
    • Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
    • Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
      • Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
      • Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
    • Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
      • Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
      • Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.

Rules Clarification : Circular Vision      (Edit)

  • This changed in mk3 so that you're no longer "directly facing every direction".
  • This means you now need to mark your facings for LOS, targeting, etc. Also, you need to obey all the normal rules for directly facing targets (after charges, before slams, etc).

Rules Clarification : Finisher      (Edit)

  • Finisher is not tied to a specific weapon so it applies to all damage rolls, including power attacks.

Rules Clarification : Fortune Hunter      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Reciprocate - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Swift Hunter      (Edit)

  • Swift Hunter must be resolved before other abilities that involve attacks (such as Quick Work). Refer Step 12 vs 14 in the Attack Sequence appendix.
  • Swift Hunter does not trigger off special ranged attacks, only basic ones.