Lord Kozlov, Viscount of Scarsgrad

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Khador Warcaster

Koslov is a man at home in the harsh northern reaches of Khador, a landscape dominated by ice and snow. His family has a long history of service to the Iron Fangs, and Kozlov himself underwent the demanding training regimen of that distinguished fighting tradition. His warcaster talent and combat prowess make him a great asset to the Khadoran military, but his heart remains with the people of his ancestral home. Walking the line between his obligations to the Khadoran Army and his duties as a noble is difficult, but Kozlov’s loyalty to the Motherland is unquestionable.

Basic Info[edit]

Kozlov1
Kozlov.jpg
SPD 6
MAT 7
DEF 15
ARM 17
FOCUS 6
HP 17
WJP +28
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Warcaster - This model comes with a bunch of special rules, most notably being really awesome at everything.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Precision Strike - When damaging a warjack/warbeast with a melee attack, the attacker chooses which column/branch takes the damage.
  • Side Step - When this model hits an enemy model with an initial melee attack or a melee special attack, it can advance up to 2" after the attack is resolved.

Spells[edit]

Affected friendly model/unit gains +3 STR and -1 DEF.
This spell has no special effects.

Upkeep spell that gives target friendly faction model/unit Reposition [3"]. (Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.)

Feat : Onrush[edit]

Friendly Faction models in Kozlov's CTRL range gain +2 SPD and Unyielding for one round. (Unyielding - When this model engages an enemy it gains +2 ARM.)


Thoughts on Lord Kozlov, Viscount of Scarsgrad[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Release
This model has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally:

  • Have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, and
  • Have reviewed this article and either you
    • agree with the content 100% or,
    • for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.

Lord Kozlov, Viscount of Scarsgrad in a nutshell[edit]

Placeholder.

Typical Strategy & Army[edit]

Strategy[edit]

His main method of winning is ...Placeholder.
For example: "using her feat turn to get a melee/ranged/spell assassination" "attrition then win on scenario" "board control then win on scenario" "sending a jack in, to beat the enemy warcaster's face into pulp" "etc"

Army[edit]

Lord Kozlov is the Khador battlebox caster, sold alongside a Juggernaut and a Decimator.

He is able to support a wide variety of lists, with 2 speed buffs (Tactical Supremacy and his feat) a damage buff (Fury), access to pathfinder and surprisingly tough with good defensive stats and steady while able to mix it up in combat when needed with his axe.

I would suggest a combined arms approach, A couple units and a few jacks.

With Chosen Ground upkept all game so your jacks just do not care about terrain. He lacks a to hit buff, so look more to units that hit well on their own Doom Reaver Swordsmen or Great Bears of the Gallowswood and support that can help with this, i.e. Greylord Ternion, Koldun Lord

Man of War work well with him, especially the shock troopers as he brings a number of speed buffs. Being able to shield march up 9"(4" base+2" desperate pace+ 3" Reposition) with out the feat gets them right up the board and then when in position swap to fury and really bring the pain as each one will swing at PoW 17 (18 on the CA).

Drawbacks, Downsides, & Bad Match-Ups[edit]

His main down side is he is a bit straight forward. He has some of the hitting power of The Butcher, some of the support of Irusk, some of the jack support of Harkevich. But they can all do their respective stchik better. He's a jack of all trades, master of none, but better than a master of one.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

Placeholder.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • Lord Kozlov, Viscount of Scarsgrad is the battlebox caster for Khador
  • Originally released in Prime Mk3 (2016) [Verification needed]

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for generic casters (Edit)

Other Khador models[edit]

KhadorLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2
K
H
A
D
O
R
Warcaster attachments War Dog (Khador) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary) - Reinholdt (Mercenary) - Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Malakov1 (BGC) - Man-o-War Kovnik (Marshal) - Greylord Forge Seer (Marshal)
Heavy warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Yuri
Battle Engines Gun Carriage
 
Theme Forces
Winter Guard Kommand - Legion of Steel - Jaws of the Wolf
Merc khador.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game

K
H
A
D
O
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Brun Cragback & Lug - Rorsh & Brine
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Khador army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps
Alexia1 - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Bradigan - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gorman - Gudran - Harlan - Hutchuk - Bailoch - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Thor
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon such as arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer latest errata).
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. They're not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack.
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be intrepreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)


Rules Clarification:  : Warcaster      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

 
  • General
    • Your CTRL area is double your current focus statistic, not however many focus points you currently have.
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warcasters are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      • There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warcaster rules.
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    3. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    4. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • Units
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.


Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argii can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Marksman and/or Precision Strike     (Edit)

  • These abilities do not get around Retribution Force Fields. The attacker's ability assigns it to a column, and Force Field reassigns it.
  • If both the defender and the attacker have an ability which lets them choose the column, then ... it's unclear what you're supposed to do in Mk3. The discussion thread is in limbo. (Link to unresolved discussion)

Rules Clarification : Side Step      (Edit)

  • You can't trigger Side Step by hitting friendly models.
  • You can't trigger Side Step from additional attacks that you buy, or out-of-activation attacks (such as free strikes).
  • If you have multiple initial attacks, you have to step after each one. You can't "save up" all your side steps then get a single big 4" or 6" move.

Rules Clarification : Unyielding      (Edit)

  • If you can't be "in melee" with your target (for instance an enemy Steamroller objective) then you can't get Unyielding.
  • If you become knocked down, stationary, or otherwise lose your melee range you lose Unyielding.
  • An enemy can engage you, without you engaging them (for instance they're in your back arc). In this case, you don't get Unyielding.


Rules Clarification : Avalanche      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.

Rules Clarification : Chosen Ground      (Edit)

  • Pathfinder (Edit) - Pathfinder doesn't apply to involuntary movement (i.e. when you're pushed or slammed).

Rules Clarification : Steady      (Edit)

  • Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
    • For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
  • A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.

Rules Clarification : Fury - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Razor Wind      (Edit)

  • The text description has no in-game effect. It's just for flavour.

Rules Clarification : Tactical Supremacy      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. Click here for a detailed explanation
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended.
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)