Cygnar Cavalry Warcaster
Promoted to the rank of Lord General, Coleman Stryker leads his Storm Division with unquestioned authority. Stryker commands his soldiers from the front lines, spurring his mount Valorous onward as he charges Cygnar’s enemies alongside his loyal Storm Lances. At the pivotal moment, Stryker is able to harness the galvanic potential of those charging with him into a thunderous tempest of destruction.
Weapons and Attacks
- Quicksilver Blast - 8" range, POW 14 gun
- Quicksilver Mk3 - 2" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon
- Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 12 mount attack
- Warcaster - This model comes with a bunch of special rules, most notably being really awesome at everything.
- Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
- Assault - This model may make a ranged attack as part of its charge.
- Immunity: Electricity - This model is not damaged by electric weapons, and is ignored when determining lightning arcs.
- Plasma Nimbus - If this model survives a melee attack, the attacker suffers a POW 10 electrical damage roll.
- Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
- Arcane Bolt - COST 2, RNG 12, POW 11 Offensive spell with zero special effects.
- Chain Blast - Cost 3, 10" range, 3" AOE, POW 12
- After determining the point of impact, a second 3" deviates from that point. Models in the second AOE are hit and suffer a POW 6 blast damage roll.
- Battlegroup warjacks activating in the caster's CTRL range gain +2" movement. Also, the caster gains +2 ARM while a battlegroup warjack is within 3".
- Fury - Cost 2, 6" range, Upkeep
- Target friendly Faction model/unit gains +3 to melee damage rolls but suffers -1 DEF.
- Target friendly Faction warjack can run, charge, slam, or trample for free and gains boosted melee attack rolls.
Feat : Lightning Charge
When a friendly Faction model makes an impact attack or charge attack while in Stryker's control range, the attack automatically hits and gains an additional die on the damage roll. Lightning Charge lasts for one round.
Thoughts on Lord General Coleman Stryker
Stryker3 in a nutshell
Stryker3 is an aggressive melee oriented caster that enhances the melee capabilities of his battle group and supporting units. Though equipped with two offensive ranged spells, you’ll likely find yourself utilizing the Lord General to cast supporting spells and allocating focus. Generally he hits harder than Captain Allison Jakes, but she runs the same playstyle better thanks to her Sprint
Thoughts on when & how to best use his feat & spells
He likes a decent battlegroup with Escort and turns melee infantry into wreckers with Fury. Arcane Bolt is never cast and neither is Chain Blast.
Typical Strategy & Army
Stryker3's main method of winning is almost pure attrition.
Stuff you take in his army to specifically help with this strategy is:
- Centurions often find themselves in many Stryker 3 lists not only due to Stryker’s ability to speed them up with escort but also as primary targets for the spell Iron Aggression. Centurion’s large bases can also be used to obstruct LOS and charge lanes to Stryker, and Polarity Field will prevent enemies from Slamming their way through the Centurion to get to Stryker.
- Ol’ Rowdy’s affinity with Stryker is another tool to be used in keeping this speedy caster alive.
- Lancers are not only useful warjacks for hurling either of the General’s spells at foes but also for cycling Stryker’s short ranged upkeep spells. Also if you only want to bring just enough Jacks to use up Stryker3’s warjack points take a Lancer and Ol’Rowdy.
- Sentinel: You may want a shield guard since Stryker's large base makes him hard to screen and vulnerable to shooting. Also the Sentinel can hang out near Stryker in order to trigger the ARM buff from Escort. This leaves your other 'jacks free to charge off into the distance.
- Colossals: Both the Hurricane and Stormwall can bring a flurry of accurate or powerful attacks to their opponent’s faces and do it 2 inches while Escort is being upkept.
- Stormblades with Fury will hit as hard as an Ironclad.
- Storm Lances with Fury on a Charge also hit like an Stormclad. They also gain from his Lightning Charge more than most.
- Nyss Hunters accompanied by Captain Jonas Murdoch with the spell Fury on them will Hit just as hard as
- Precursor Knights on their mini-feat turn; add in Stryker’s feat and both units will be rolling 5 dice after auto-hitting (Colossals will fall).
- Trenchers, are a good option for jamming up the enemy early. When supported by Fury, trenchers on a charge will hit with P+S equal to a Carnivean’s Talon.
- Sword Knights with the right positioning are also capable of rolling 5 damage dice on feat turn.
- Devil Dogs with Murdoch against any constructs will roll 5 damage dice on feat turn (know you’re playing convergence? Consider these guys)
- Lanyssa Ryssyl: Deliver your warjacks fist to your opponents faces faster and loaded up with more focus. Also Stryker’s feat turn doesn’t do you much good if you can’t reach your enemies.
- Sylys Wyshnalyrr: with average focus Stryker needs all the help he can get when it comes to getting the most out of a limited number of focus.
- Runewood, Rhupert, or a Stormblade Captain, to help your favorite flavor of units navigate difficult terrain, as Stryker has no way of providing this.
Drawbacks, Downsides, & Bad Match-Ups
- On a large base he's a big target.
- Most of what he does is get a great charge - in a faction chock full of slow troops and jacks (only sped up by escort)
Tricks and Tips
Originally released in Warmachine: Vengeance (2014)
Themes for any-and-all casters (Edit)
Other Cygnar models
Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Disruption (Edit)
- If a model is disrupted, it cannot get focus for any reason. Whether the rule says 'allocate', 'gain', 'receive' or 'give' ... Disruption stops it all. (Infernal Ruling)
- Despite being unable to channel spells, a warjack can still be the target of spells just fine.
- Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
- Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
- Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
Rules Clarification: : Assault (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
Step 1: Declare the charge
- Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
- If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
- If no, continue to Step 2.
- Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
- You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).
Step 2: Move the charging model
- As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
- Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
- Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
- Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata.
- Did you fail the charge? You still get the Assault shot anyway.
- Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata and also this (Infernal Ruling)
- Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you (or your opponent) can trigger "Ends Movement" effects.
- Nothing that happens from this point onwards will retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge, or vice versa.
- If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
The Infernal Ruling dictates that Assault is not a "triggered ability" (since if it was, you wouldn't be able to cast a spell between ending movement and using your Assault shot).
Thus Assault will never occur simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot
Step 3: Make the ranged attack
- The ranged attack is optional.
- Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
- Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
- Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
- If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
- Is the target in melee with the shooter?
- If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
- If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.
Step 4: If you miss
- If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
- If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, then ...
- Randomly reassign the shot (as per the TMM rules) (nothing in Assault says it ignores this).
- Do not include the shooting model in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) but do include models the shooter is in melee with (as per the TMM rules).
- If the shot is randomly reassigned to a friendly model, then they will always get the +4 DEF bonus. The only way to ignore that bonus is if the 'point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target' and you can never be in melee with a friendly model.
Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack
- If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
- If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
- still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
- dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
- Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).
- Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
- Assault & CRA (Edit)
- You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)
- Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
- Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
- With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
- So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
- If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
- But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
- Assault & Drag ( Edit )
- You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
- If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
- It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
- You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).
Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Plasma Nimbus (Edit)
- If you're hit by a CMA, only the primary attacker takes damage from Plasma Nimbus.
- For a warbeast with Plasma Nimbus and a crippled body, you roll less one dice for the Plasma Nimbus damage.
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Chain Blast (Edit)
- For direction, you orientate the second AOE so it points in the exact same direction as the first one.
- Regardless of distance between the caster and the original target, the second AOE deviates the full distance you roll on the die.
- The second AOE does magical blast damage, given that it is caused by a spell.
Rules Clarification : Escort and/or Battle Host - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Fury - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Iron Aggression (Edit)
- If you're intending to use this spell lots, it's probably worth you checking on the slam and trample rules clarifications. We didn't want to repeat it here because together they become quite a long list.