Lord Carver, BMMD, Esq. III

From Battle College
(Redirected from Lord Carver)
Jump to: navigation, search

Crucible Guard CID is now live     (Edit)  

Lord Carver, BMMD, Esq. III
Minion Farrow Warlock

Lord Carver arose from the squalid hordes of the farrow on a tide of determination and violence, leaving behind him a trail of enemies and rivals crushed beneath his sharpened hooves. Carrying powerful weapons wrested from his enemies, the farrow warlord leads his snorting, bloodthirsty army on a campaign to trod all who would oppose them into the muck.

Basic Info[edit]

Lord Carver, BMMD, Esq. III
Base Size Small
WBP +28
DEF 15
ARM 17
Hitpoints 17
Fury 6
See also How to Read the statblock


  • Sawed-Off Scattergun - 6" spray, POW 12 ranged attack.
    • Both Barrels (★ Attack) - This model gains +4 to the damage roll for this attack. This model cannot make additional ranged attacks with this weapon during an activation in which it used Both Barrels.
  • Hand of God - 2" reach, P+S 15 melee attack.



Batten Down the Hatches - Cost 3

While in the caster's CTRL range, models in its battlegroup cannot be knocked down and gain +3 ARM, but suffer -2 DEF. Batten Down the Hatches lasts for one round.

Mobility - Cost 3

Battlegroup models gain +2 SPD and Pathfinder for one turn.

Quagmire - Cost 2, 6" range, Upkeep

While B2B with target friendly Faction model/unit, enemy models suffer -2 DEF and cannot advance except to change facing.

Rift - Cost 3, 8" range, 4" AOE, POW 13

The AOE stays in play for one round as rough terrain.

Feat: Hog Heaven[edit]

All friendly Farrow models in CTRL range gain Overtake and an additional damage die on melee attacks. (Overtake - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a basic melee attack during its Combat Action, after the attack is resolved it can immediately advance up to 1".)

Analysis of Lord Carver, BMMD, Esq. III[edit]

Lord Carver, BMMD, Esq. III in a nutshell[edit]

He‘s your basic, well-rounded warlock with an emphasis on passive infantry support, while his spell list focuses on his battlegroup. With Batten Down the Hatches you can keep your beasts alive and Mobility makes up for their lackluster speed and mobility.

His feat is where things start to shine. With Overtake and additional damage Berserk models such as Maximus and Battle Boar can carve through infantry, and the War Hog extends its threat range drastically as it pacmans through targets. The drawback is the control range, meaning on feat turn Carver will need to be close enough that he is in danger the next round. His passive abilities boosts all attacks making the RAT of most Farrow units on par with other factions.

Maximising his feat & spells[edit]

Feat - Carver's feat is awesome for wrecking both infantry and heavies. It's pretty obvious what it does and what's there not to love about it?

  • Batten Down the Hatches - Great for brawling out with the enemy. Obvious what it does.
  • Mobility - threat range for your battle group. Again obvious and useful and his other mainline spell.
  • Quagmire - his signature spell, Quagmire is effectively a MAT buff that gives the enemy a challenge to kill whatever has Quagmire before they can move.
  • Rift - zap! You don't often cast this but don't forget you have it/

Common strategy & army[edit]

Carver is an attrition based warlock who pounds the enemy army to a pulp. He basically supports his battlegroup and the Farrow in his army. He's almost always taken in The Thornfall Alliance because it gives you all the Farrow you could want - and although Overtake on your beasts is great, Carver gets it on feat turn anyway.

Warbeasts and Battle Engines[edit]

With both Mobility and Batten Down the Hatches available every turn, and with the ability to send your damage up on feat turn, Carver goes very well with ... just about everything.

  • War Hog - Kill! Maim! P+S 18 Weapon Masters.
  • Road Hog - what was that threat range again?
  • Feat, then charge in with the Meat Thresher in Carver's CRTL range. Knock the target down, and watch your opponent's face upon rolling 5D6 + 16 for damage.


Farrow Units all benefit from Veteran Leader. Because Carver isn't incredibly tough (although he does benefit from Batten Down the Hatches) he wants to stay back, so ranged units get more from his Veteran Leader.

  • Farrow Brigands are an excellent all-round ranged unit - and getting an extra point of MAT and especially RAT is really useful.
  • Farrow Valkyries have much the same benefit and can help protect things from shooting.


  • Gremlin Swarm with Quagmire can be incredibly annoying to anyone who didn't bring enough magic weapons. Stay incorporeal.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • On feat turn he needs to be in the mix to keep the chain of attacks going.
  • His spell list and abilities are aimed at Farrow and do not help other models besides pigs.
  • He's a Fury 6 warlock who wants to go battlegroup heavy in a faction with little Fury management.
  • Combined arms casters don't go well into theme forces as the theme forces normally reward you for either a mostly infantry or a mostly warbeast list.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

You're going to be casting Batten Down the Hatches and Mobility every turn until you make contact. This means everything will be getting hit with the lowered DEF. As much as his spell list now screams warbeast he is in desperate need of ranged attacks to keep pressure up while his army slowly moves across the board.



Theme Forces[edit]

Other Minion models[edit]



Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh
Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks Wrong Eye
Gatorman Warbeasts (Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ - Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries
Gatorman Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Special WA: Void Leech
Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Farrow
Agata, Queen of Carnage - Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor
Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Unaligned Efaarit Scout - Feralgeist -Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Ogrun Bokur - Gobber Chef - Gobber Raiders - Thrullg - Totem Hunter
Alten Ashley - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Gudrun the Wanderer - Hutchuck - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Orin - Raluk - Saxon Orrik - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
Minion - Theme Forces (Edit)
The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Both Barrels - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warlock      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

  • General
    • FURY (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warlock's card. Fury (lowercase) refers to fury points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FURY stat, not double your fury points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warlocks are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warlock rules.
  • Reaving & Leeching
    • If you choose to Reave, it's all or nothing. You must Reave all the Fury (up to your limit) and you can't choose to "let some disappear". (Locked thread)
    • If your warbeast is Removed From Play, you can still reave fury off it. (Locked thread)
    • If your warbeast is destroyed or RFP'd while under your opponent's control then:
      1. You cannot reave fury off it. Because it is still enemy at the time it was destroyed/RFP'd, and you can't reave from enemy warbeasts.
      2. After it is taken off the table, it returns to your control and is eligible for Spirit Bond and (possibly) Return to Play stuff (like Thagrosh1's feat).
  • Transferring Damage
    • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)      
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argii can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Farrow Warlock      (Edit)

  • This model cannot take control of wild non-Farrow warbeasts.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Veteran Leader      (Edit)

  • Veteran Leaders don't give themselves the buff, because of the "other models within ..." clause.
    • Although if you have two models giving out the buff, then they can give it to each other. (Locked thread)
  • Some versions say "friendly" and some don't. Regardless, Veteran Leader only buffs friendly models. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Batten Down the Hatches - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Mobility      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shadow Bind and/or Force Hold and/or Force Lock and/or Quagmire     (Edit)

  • Models affected by Shadow Bind/Force Hold may still advance 0" and thus abilities that trigger on "ends their movement within ..." or "after this model advances ..." will still trigger (for example Slipstream, Countercharge, etc).
  • Models may still be placed, so abilities like Apparition will still work.
  • The restriction applies to all advances: normal activation, bonus in-activation (like Overtake), and out-of-activation (like Energiser).
  • Shadow Bind only. If you manage to free strike a charging warjack and Shadow Bind it, their charge continues (an effect which prevents charging isn't retroactive if applied after the charge has already been declared).

Rules Clarification : Rift - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Overtake      (Edit)

  • Overtake triggers at Step 12 of the attack sequence, before stuff like Berserk.