Liberator

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search
























This server will go offline in September 2018. Please migrate to our new server, Warmachine University




















.

For more info on why we're moving to a new server, check out the Brief History section on the new main page, and/or listen to episode 45 of the LOS podcast
If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot.
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.


Liberator
Crucible Guard Light Warjack

The Liberator is a combat light warjack based on the Vanguard chassis. The Liberator serves a role similar to that of a Lancer or Revenger. It should have basic combat abilities and function as a channeler for the Faction. The Liberator’s arc node is abnormal because it is alchemy-based, not the standard technology used by many other militaries. It’s inconsistent Arc Node should be offset by its offensive and defensive capabilities.


CID icon.jpg

Rules subject to change.
This model is unreleased.

This model is part of the current CID cycle (What is CID?) and the information shown below does not represent its final rules.

This is a new model, and the information here is what was given at the start of the CID cycle

Basic Info[edit]

Liberator
Liberator.jpg
SPD 6
STR 9
MAT 6
RAT 6
DEF 13
ARM 17
HP 26
Cost 10
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Shield - 0.5" range, P+S 11 melee weapon.
    • Shield - This 'weapon' is a shield that provides a cumulative +2 ARM bonus. The bonus doesn't apply if the weapon is crippled or if the damage originates in your back arc.
  • Thurible - 2" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon.
    • Chain Weapon - This weapon ignores Buckler, Shield and Shield Wall.

Abilities[edit]

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
  • Arc Node - This model can channel spells cast by its controlling Warcaster.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Ashen Veil - This model has concealment, and living enemy models within 2" suffer -2 to attack rolls, unless they have Fire immunity.
  • Immunity: Corrosion - This model does not suffer corrosion damage, nor the continuous corrosion effect.
  • Immunity:Fire - This model does not suffer fire damage, nor the continuous fire effect.
  • Experimental Arc Node - This model’s controller can channel spells through it even if it is engaged.
  • Node Capacitor - When a spell is channeled through this model, after the spell has been resolved roll a d6. On a 1 or 2, this model suffers 1 damage point to its first available Arc Node system box.

Thoughts on Liberator[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Release
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.

Liberator in a nutshell[edit]

The Liberator is a combat light warjack based on the Vanguard chassis that also sports a prototype Arcnode. It has basic combat abilities and pretty good defensive capabilities. The Experimental Arc Node is dangerous, as two bad rolls can unmake its 'A' system. However, we all know how good channelling while engaged is (hi Thorn). You should take the Liberator only if you need the arcnode, as for the same price you get the Vanguard, which is more flexible due to having a gun, Shield Guard, Assault and extra POW on its weapon. On the other hand between a shield and Ashen Veil as light warjacks go it is extremely tough, making it effectively a 15/19 against most shooting and almost all living enemies.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • It's not as expensive as it used to be, but it's hardly cheap for light warjack.
  • POW 13 makes it weak into armor so its more of an infantry and cavalry slayer that can help out with Shield Wall/Shield models here and there.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Thanks to its quirky arcnode you can still charge in, maul what you can AND still channel that spell you wanted on that unit so badly.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released 2018.08

Theme Forces[edit]

Placeholder.

Other Crucible Guard models[edit]

CGLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Aurum Legate Lukas di Morray - Aurum Adeptus Syvestro - Marshal General Baldwin Gearhart & Mr. Clogg - Aurum Lucanum Athanor Locke - Captain Eira Mackay
C
R
U
C
I
B
L
E
Warcaster attachments Aurum Legate Alyce Marc - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
"Junior" Prospero
Warjacks Light Heavy Colossal
Liberator - Retaliator - Vanguard Suppresor - Toro - Vindicator Vulcan
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Infantry - Assault Troopers - Combat Alchemists - Dragon's Breath Rocket - Rocketmen - Shock Troopers -
Ranking Officer : Doctor Adolpheus Morely
Solos Rocketman Ace - Mechanik - Trancer
Prospero - Gorman - Hutchuck
Battle Engines Railless Interceptor
 
Theme Forces
Primae Materia - Magnum Opus
Merc CG.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn d’Elyse - Captain Bartolo Montador - Captain Damiano - Crosse2 - Durgen Madhammer - Drake MacBain - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback

Requires a 2+ caster game.

C
R
U
C
I
B
L
E
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
'Jack Marshals
"Juniors"
Captain Sam - Colbie Sterling - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Crosse1
Warjacks The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a CG army depends entirely on what type of model is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
 
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Hammerfall High Shield Gun Corps - Horgenhold Artillery Corps - Horgenhold Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Boomhowler & Co - Captain Sam - Blythe & Bull - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Ogrun Bokur
Alten Ashley - Anastasia di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Hawk - Crosse1 - Lord Rockbottom - Madelyn Corbeau - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal MacNaile - Eilish Garrity - Ragman - Rhupert Carvolo - Rutger Shaw - Sergeant Nicolas Verendyre - Stannis Brocker - Sylys Wyshnalyrr - Taryn - Thor - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Note to self: I need to update this rules section after the CID rules are finalised - juckto.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node     (Edit)

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.
  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the DEF bonus.
  • Since Stealth has both a LOS component (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed); this can lead to some non-intuitive interactions between channeling and stealth when either the caster or channeler is able to ignore stealth.
    We've put a bunch of examples on the Category:Channeler page.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Corrosion      (Edit)

  • A weapon can inflict continuous corrosion without itself being a corrosion damage weapon (for example, the Acidic Touch animus). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity: Corrosion it just won't apply the continuous effect.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ashen Veil      (Edit)

  • The concealment bonus and the attack roll penalty do stack with each other, so someone making a ranged or magic attack while within 2" of you will suffer -4 to the attack.

Template:RC Node Capacitor