Theme - Legion of Steel
Khador Theme Force
The brotherhood of the Iron Fangs maintains traditions arising from ancient warriors who battled the beasts of the north armed only with spears and the indomitable courage all true Khadorans possess. Iron Fang assault forces are tasked with breaking enemy lines regardless of whether those lines are composed of towering warjacks or masses of infantry. Surrounding a hard center of warjacks, an Iron Fang legion marches in lockstep behind a wall of shields, supported by swift and brutal cavalry to protect their flanks.
Theme Force Restrictions
A Legion of Steel army can only include models from the following list:
Theme Force Bonuses
- This army can include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary non-character unit that will work for Khador.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Khador] rule.
- Mercenary units can have attachments, or even a Ranking Officer.
- For every full 20 points of Iron Fang models/units in this army, you can add one Iron Fang CA or small-based Khador solo to the army free of cost.
- These free models don't count towards that total when calculating when the benefit is applied.
- The Great Bears of the Gallowswood and Iron Fang solos in the army gain Countercharge. (Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.)
- One small-based Iron Fang unit in the army gains Advance Move. (Advance Move - Before the start of the game but after both players have deployed, a model with Advance Move can make a full advance.)
- Gained access to Mercs. No other changes.
Thoughts on this Theme Force
Legion of Steel in a nutshell
Uhlans and Pikeman and Kovnik's, OH MY!
The Iron Fang contingent within Khador has extremely potent internal synergy with each other that is caster independent making this theme force somewhat viable regardless of which caster is chosen to lead it.
- Kovnik Markov grants tactician to friendly Iron Fang Models within his 10" command bubble allowing all Iron Fangs to draw line of sight and move through each others basses.
- The Iron Fang Kovnik grants Precise Strike to Iron Fangs in his command 10 as well as making them immune to knock down.
- Kapitan Sofya just straight up boosts Iron Fang attacks, while being tough as nails and a shield guard.
All of these in addition to counter charge on the Great Bears and solos allows you to screen you important "Kommanders" with Pikeman of either flavor, then counter charge through them into juicy targets that present themselves if you can be relatively sure they can survive. Precise Strike even allows you to potentially carve out key systems to unwary Jacks or beasts who wander into counter charge range potentially crippling them before they can perform actions.
Tim Banky, Professional Tournament Winner
To my way of thinking, there are about 4 archetypes of list types:
- Winter Guard Kommand (Gunline, combined arms capacity)
- Jaws of the Wolf (Heavy warjacks, supporting variable threat ranges)
- Legion of Steel (Melee-centric, high-damage infantry & board denial based pieces)
- Vlad2 (Multiple combined arms vectors, threat saturation)
This theme does in Mk3 what Cryx did best in Mk2 - charging weapon masters (or weapon-master-like) into an opponent's face. The core strengths of this list are the amount of board it can capitalize on, especially when going first, and its capacity to take on multiple heavies. It can suffer from a lack of damage multiplication to sufficiently accomplish the latter against some lists. Another natural weakness of this list is resiliency (especially against guns), as getting off charges is only powerful if you get enough of them.
- Both Irusk1 and Irusk2 offer this list damage multiplication and resiliency. Irusk1 deserves special mention as he gives the list even more board denial tools.
- Zerkova1 offers the list a lot of resiliency in her cloud wall, and Ghost Walk gives it more tools to capitalize of board position, but she does nothing for damage multiplication, so dictates a pairing somewhat.
Theme weakness & Mitigating them
- Limited Ranged options: Your Warcaster, their Warjacks, and a small number of merc units and solos are you only options for ranged attacks. If you're doing it right though, you shouldn't be in shooting range for more than 1 turn before you charge, and your armor should weather most of that.
- Other than mercenaries or your caster (and possibly Ruin), you have zero options to deal with Incorporeal models. This isn't terribly different from most Khador lists, but you probably want access to more Koldun if you are finding yourself up against a lot of incorporeal targets.
- Just about the only theme force that doesn't allow character Mercenary units. Don't forget though that you do still get access to the excellent Kayazy Eliminators and Assassins though.
List Building Tips
Units with interesting synergies with this theme:
- One max unit of Uhlans is exactly enough to get you a free solo; a max unit of IFP plus UA is 1 point shy of a free solo; and a max unit of Black Dragon IFP plus their UA is 1 point more.
- If you can get two or more Great Bears to counter charge the same enemy model they benefit from Flank making them MAT 10 and 4 dice on damage.
- Kovnik Markov's Concussion Lance will trigger Warhead on a counter charge making it even more dangerous to infantry who try to group up on hard targets. Make sure to counter charge the last viable target to catch the most models in the 4" AOE.
Casters of Note
- Irusk2: One of the best infantry casters in the game, who can help improve the Iron Fangs survivability.
- Strakhov2: Our newest and arguably best pure infantry caster; he makes the Iron Fangs absurdly survivable.
- Lord Kozlov, Viscount of Scarsgrad: Improves the speed and ARM and hitting power of the entire army.
- Zerkova1: This theme is, besides eventual battlegroup warjacks, purely melee oriented. 12" of clouds will help the Iron Fangs to actually get there safely.
Other casters will get varying mileage out of the theme depending on their playstyle, but due to the innate synergies withing the Iron Fangs themselves they demand little in the way of support in order to do what they are intended to do.
Originally released 2017.03
Rules Clarification : Advance Move - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Countercharge (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| Triggering Countercharge
- What does trigger Countercharge
- Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
- You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
- Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
- What doesn't trigger Countercharge
- Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
- If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
- Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
- Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
- Even when an entire unit is moving, countercharge is triggered per model. So you can countercharge after any models of the unit had finished his move within range, but you can only countercharge the model who finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."
What can your opponent do?
- Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
- They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).
Attacks & Boosting
- You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
- You can't spend fury/focus to boost it, or buy additional attacks afterwards. Because you're only allowed to do spend fury/focus during your own activation.
- The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.
After the Countercharge
- You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)
Enemy "Skipping" their movement
- If your opponent 'forgets' to move their model and didn't declare they're forfeiting movement (they just said "I'm activating this model and making an attack") then do they count as moving or not?
- Technically the rules don't have a default condition for this, and it becomes a Sportsmanship issue for you to sort out with your opponent.
- However, the Judges document (which is used to run all official PP events) states that the model officially counts as "Advancing 0 inches" and thus will trigger Counter Charge. Most players follow the Judges document for casual play as well.
Unit with countercharge
- This applies to Zaadesh2 with Scarab Packs
- Each model in the unit has its own individual countercharge. They don't have to all countercharge at the same time, and only the specific model within 6" of the trigger will be able to countercharge.
- If a model is out of formation, it won't be able to countercharge (since it is unable to move out of his normal movement).
- If a model starts in formation but the countercharge movement takes it out of formation, it won't be able to make the charge attack (but will engage).
- If several models in the same unit want to countercharge the same model, you fully resolve the counter charge of the first, including the attack, before starting the counter charge of the other(s).
- If the unit commander countercharges such that the other models become out of formation, they immediately lose the ability to trigger countercharge (because out-of-formation models can't move).
- Since Countercharge isn't an actual activation, you can't trigger in-activation stuff like Sprint or Quick Work.
- Exception: Very rarely you can trigger Countercharge during your own activation. For instance your opponent triggers Admonition to try and move away.
- Countercharge vs. Admonition (etc) ( Edit )
- You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation - if a model with Admonition (or similar) uses it to (try to) move away.
- You move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge off their admonition-move.
- In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
- Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge).
- Countercharge plus Admonition
- If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
- Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
- Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
- This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
- Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
- With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
- So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
- If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
- But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
| Mercenaries and Partisans
- When you take a Partisan Mercenary, it counts as your Faction. However this doesn't increase the number of total mercenaries allowed. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If the Partisan Mercenary is explicitedly listed as one of the models you can take in the theme (such as Cephalyx in Cryx's Black Industries theme), then you can take the full FA plus your "up to one Merc" allotment. (Infernal Ruling)
- Sometimes a specific Mercenary/Minion model/unit will gain a theme benefit of "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model" (such as Greygore in Kriel Company). In this case, the model/unit might or might not count against your "up to one merc" limit:
- If that Merc is in the list of models explicitly allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- Partisans will count towards any relevant free points. For instance, Nyss will count twoards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- Partisans can be eligible to be taken as free choices. For instance, Erysis1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary Warjacks, Warbeasts, & Companions
- As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
Bonus - One [X] gains [Y]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Theme Forces, free models, and Specialists/ADR in Steamroller
- You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points
- If a unit counts towards your free points, then all attachments count too; regardless of whether the attachment is the same model type. For instance:
Theme - The Bones of Orboros
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Call of the Wild
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - The Faithful Masses
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Theme - The Ghost Fleet
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Theme - Kriel Company
- Greygore/Dannon count against your "up to one Minion unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Llaelese Resistance
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Theme - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
- The Devil's Shadows Mutineers count against your "up to one Mercenary unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Clockwork Legions
- If you attach a small-based model to a medium-based unit, it is no longer a medium-based unit and won't benefit from Vengeance.
- However, it will regain Vengeance when the small base dies. Furthermore, the small base dying will trigger Vengeance.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Models in this Theme Force
Refer to Category: Legion of Steel