Khador Winter Guard Character Solo
Jozef Grigorovich is a career soldier in the Winter Guard Infantry and veteran of many campaigns. Repeatedly given offers of promotion to higher, more strategic ranks, Kovnik Grigorovich has steadfastly refused, preferring to lead his fellows from the front lines. He's in charge of "The Unbreakable" 111th Infantry Battalion, whose motto so strongly endured by Jozef is "Fighting to the Last Man".
Weapons and Attacks
- Hand Cannon - 12" range, POW 12 gun.
- Saber - 0.5" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon.
- Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
- Battle Plan - Once per activation, at any time, this model can issue one of the battle plans listed below:
- Sacrificial Pawn [Winter Guard] - If this model is hit with a ranged attack, it can redirect the shot to a Winter Guard within 3".
Thoughts on Kovnik Jozef Grigorovich
Comparison to Mk2
"Bear's strength" is a little bit stronger and "Courage of our Forefathers" affects shooting and melee attacks.
He is also naturally tough now.
His command is shorter, so you need to be closer to use his battle plans.
Kovnik Jozef Grigorovich in a nutshell
Jozef Grigorovich, or Kovnik Joe supports your Winter Guards - be it Rifle Corps, Mortar or Field Gun crew, or mere Infantry unit. With his point cost, it is almost auto-incude if you take Winter Guard too.
Combos & Synergies
Whenever you take Winter Guard, you usually take him too.
- "For the Motherland" makes both CRA and Grapeshot more accurate. Consider the target numbers to make the most out of a unit's attack potential. High powered, low accuracy rockets from the Winter Guard Infantry weapon attachment especially like this battle plan.
- Bear's Strength can be further capitalized by spells, like Fury (from Butcher 1, Butcher 2, or Kozlov), Battle Lust (Irusk 1), Signs & Portents (Vlad 1), or Hand of Fate (Vlad2, Vlad 3). Butcher 1-2, and Vlad 2's Feat can make murder machines out of the ordinary soldiers - a bog-standard WG infantryman under Battle Plan, Fury, and Butcher 1's feat rolls 15+4D6 on the charge.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Average defensive stats for an important solo
- Sacrificial Pawn won't guard him against spells, blasts, continuous effects, or electro leaps.
Tricks & Tips
- Battle plans are not actions, so you can use them at the beginning of your activation, then run.
Theme Forces this is a member of
Other faction models
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Battle Plan (Edit)
- A model can issue a Battle Plan to itself (assuming it meets the 'model type' criteria).
| Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
- "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
- The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
- Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
- Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
- You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
- You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
- Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
- In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
- Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
- Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
- So, for example:
- You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification: : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
| * Sacrificial Pawn & Grim Salvation are optional, but Sucker! is not
- Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, or chain attacks.
- Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
- None of them work vs magic attacks (spells). All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable
- Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model; including stuff that triggers "on hit" (such as Critical Fire) (even though the Pawn kinda wasn't "hit").
- The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
- Sprays and AOEs
- A model hit by a spray attack can use Sacrificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The placement of the template does not change.
- Note that this may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
- A model directly hit by a AOE may use Sacificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The AOE template is moved (because Sac Pawn is resolved at Step 6 of the Attack Sequence in Apdx A, but AOE placement occurs at Step 7).
- Depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are, the first guy might get clipped by the AOE anyway.
- A model indirectly hit by an AOE cannot use Sac Pawn.
- Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
- If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
- Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
- Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn
- If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
- This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.