Kovnik Andrei Malakov

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Khador Character Solo

A rising star in the Khadoran Military, Kovnik Andrei Malakov pushes the warjacks under his control to crush those who dare oppose him. His desire to succeed regardless of the consequences sometimes demands a high cost from his men and machines, but to Malakov, such is the price of victory.

Basic Info[edit]

Kovnik Andrei Malakov
Kovnik Andrei
SPD 6
MAT 6
RAT 4
DEF 14
ARM 13
FOC 4
HP 5
Cost 4
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Hand Cannon - 12" range, POW 12 gun.
  • Mechanika Blade - 0.5" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Battlegroup Controller - This model is a solo but functions like a mini-warcaster. It has a FOCUS stat, can buy/boost attacks, cast spells, and control warjacks. It must have at least one warjack in its battlegroup.
  • Sucker! - If this model is hit with a ranged attack, it must redirect the shot to a nearby friendly warrior.

Spells[edit]

This spell has no special effects.
  • Redline - Cost 2, 6" range, Upkeep
Target warjack in the caster's battlegroup 1) gains +2 STR and SPD, 2) can run, charge, slam, or trample without spending focus, 3) but suffers d3 damage point at the end of each activation.


Thoughts on Kovnik Andrei Malakov[edit]

Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
If you're looking for inspiration for content to add to this page, you can always copy-paste (& update as necessary) info from the old mk2 entry:
Mk2 Battle College: Kovnik Andrei Malakov .

Comparison to Mk2[edit]

Placeholder.

Kovnik Andrei Malakov in a nutshell[edit]

Placeholder.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Placeholder.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

Placeholder.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

Placeholder.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • Malakov is one of the journeyman warcasters released as part of the WARMACHINE: Tactics videogame Kickstarter (2014)
  • His rules were later published in Warmachine: Vengeance expansion (2014)

Theme Forces[edit]

  • None yet

Other faction models[edit]

KhadorLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2
K
H
A
D
O
R
Warcaster attachments War Dog (Khador) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary) - Reinholdt (Mercenary) - Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Malakov1 (BGC) - Man-o-War Kovnik (Marshal) - Greylord Forge Seer (Marshal)
Heavy warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Sofya - Yuri
Battle Engines Gun Carriage
 
Theme Forces
Armored Korps - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter
Merc khador.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game

K
H
A
D
O
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Brun Cragback & Lug - Rorsh & Brine
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Khador army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps
Alexia1 - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Bradigan - Eilish Garrity - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gorman - Gudran - Harlan - Hutchuk - Bailoch - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Thor
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Battlegroup Controller      (Edit)

  • This model has a completely separate battlegroup to your main warcaster.
    • Your main warcaster cannot allocate focus to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
    • Any spells/effects that apply to your main warcaster's battlegroup (such as Energizer) do not apply to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
  • This model is not a warcaster
  • Warjacks this solo controls can still benefit from Power Up exactly as if it were a warcaster. (Closed thread)
  • When this solo dies, any warjacks they are controlling go inert exactly as if it was a warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification:  : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation     (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

 
  • Sacrificial Pawn & Grim Salvation are optional, but Sucker! is not
  • Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, or chain attacks.
  • Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
  • None of them work vs magic attacks (spells). All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
  • The model is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)

From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable

  • Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model; including stuff that triggers "on hit" (such as Critical Fire) (even though the Pawn kinda wasn't "hit").
  • The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
  • Sprays and AOEs
    • A model hit by a spray attack can use Sacrificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The placement of the template does not change.
      • Note that this may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
    • A model directly hit by a AOE may use Sacificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The AOE template is moved (because Sac Pawn is resolved at Step 6 of the Attack Sequence in Apdx A, but AOE placement occurs at Step 7).
      • Depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are, the first guy might get clipped by the AOE anyway.
      • A model indirectly hit by an AOE cannot use Sac Pawn.
  • Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
    • If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
    • Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
  • Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn
    • If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
    • This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.

Rules Clarification : Razor Wind      (Edit)

  • The text description has no in-game effect. It's just for flavour.

Rules Clarification : Redline      (Edit)

  • If you plan on casting this often, you'll probably want to check the rules clarifications on slams and tramples