Khador Character Solo
A rising star in the Khadoran Military, Kovnik Andrei Malakov pushes the warjacks under his control to crush those who dare oppose him. His desire to succeed regardless of the consequences sometimes demands a high cost from his men and machines, but to Malakov, such is the price of victory.
- Hand Cannon - 12" range, POW 12 gun.
- Mechanika Blade - 0.5" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon.
- Battlegroup Controller - This model is like a mini-warcaster. It has a FOCUS stat, can buy/boost attacks, cast spells, and control warjacks. It must have at least one warjack in its battlegroup.
- Sucker! - If this model is hit with a ranged attack, it must redirect the shot to a nearby friendly warrior.
- This spell has no special effects.
- Redline - COST 2, Range 6", Upkeep. This spell has 3 effects on the target warjack in the caster's battlegroup:
- It gains +2 STR and SPD.
- It can run, charge, slam, or trample without spending focus.
- It suffers d3 damage point at the end of each activation.
Thoughts on Kovnik Andrei Malakov
Comparison to Mk2
Kovnik Andrei Malakov in a nutshell
Combos & Synergies
Drawbacks & Downsides
Tricks & Tips
- Malakov is one of the journeyman warcasters released as part of the WARMACHINE: Tactics videogame Kickstarter (2014)
- His rules were later published in Warmachine: Vengeance expansion (2014)
Other faction models
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Battlegroup Controller (Edit)
- This model has a completely separate battlegroup to your main warcaster.
- Your main warcaster cannot allocate focus to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
- Any spells/effects that apply to your main warcaster's battlegroup (such as Energizer) do not apply to warjacks under this model's control (and vice versa).
- This model is not a warcaster
- It is affected by stuff which specifies "non-warcaster models" (such as Seduction).
- It is not affected by stuff which specifies "warcasters" (such as Black Arts).
- Warjacks this solo controls can still benefit from Power Up exactly as if it were a warcaster. (Closed thread)
- When this solo dies, any warjacks they are controlling go inert exactly as if it was a warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification: : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
| * Sacrificial Pawn & Grim Salvation are optional, but Sucker! is not
- Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, or chain attacks.
- Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
- None of them work vs magic attacks (spells). All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable
- Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model; including stuff that triggers "on hit" (such as Critical Fire) (even though the Pawn kinda wasn't "hit").
- The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
- Sprays and AOEs
- A model hit by a spray attack can use Sacrificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The placement of the template does not change.
- Note that this may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
- A model directly hit by a AOE may use Sacificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The AOE template is moved (because Sac Pawn is resolved at Step 6 of the Attack Sequence in Apdx A, but AOE placement occurs at Step 7).
- Depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are, the first guy might get clipped by the AOE anyway.
- A model indirectly hit by an AOE cannot use Sac Pawn.
- Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
- If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
- Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
- Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn
- If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
- This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.
Rules Clarification : Razor Wind (Edit)
- The text description has no in-game effect. It's just for flavour.
Rules Clarification : Redline (Edit)
- If you plan on casting this often, you'll probably want to check the rules clarifications on slams and tramples