Kommander Harkevich, the Iron Wolf

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Khador Warcaster

Khador’s Iron Wolf has earned a reputation as a peerless master of heavy armor on the battlefield, a war hero beloved by his men and respected even by the enemies of the Motherland. He is famous for his ability to move large numbers of warjacks at an unprecedented pace to arrive where the enemy least expects him. Where Harkevich and his iron army stride, the enemy finds itself hounded, outmaneuvered, cornered, and eventually obliterated by overwhelming firepower.

Basic Info[edit]

Harkevich1
Harkevich.gif
SPD 5
MAT 7
RAT 6
DEF 14
ARM 16
HP 18
Focus 6
WJP +28
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

  • Hand Cannon - 12" range, POW 12 gun. The classic Immoran weapon.
  • Minister - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon.
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
    • Stagger - Models hit by this weapon lose their initial attacks and cannot make power or special attacks for a single round.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Warcaster - This model comes with a bunch of special rules, most notably being really awesome at everything.
  • Field Marshal [Reposition 3"] - Warbeasts/warjacks in this model's battlegroup gain Reposition 3". (Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.)
  • Iron Sentinel - While B2B with a friendly Faction warjack, this model gains +2 DEF and ARM and cannot become knocked down.

Feat : Hour of the Wolf[edit]

This feat has three effects:

  1. While in Harkevich's control range, models in his battlegroup gain +3 ARM.
  2. Models in his battlegroup beginning their activation in his control range can charge or make slam power attacks without spending focus.
  3. A model in Harkevich's battlegroup that declares a charge or slam against an enemy model while in his control range can make a basic ranged attack before advancing.

Hour of the Wolf lasts for one round.

Spells[edit]

  • Bombshell - COST 3, RNG 10, AOE 3", POW 13
    On a critical hit, models hit are thrown d6" directly away from Harkevich. Roll distance once for all models affected. Models thrown do not deviate. Move models farthest from Harkevich first. Instead of suffering blast damage, models hit but not directly hit suffer a POW 10 damage roll. (Blast damage on non-critical hits is done normally.) The POW of collateral damage is 10.
  • Broadside - Cost 3, range SELF spell. Models in the spellcaster's battlegroup currently in its control range can immediately make one basic ranged attack. Broadside can only be cast once per activation.
  • Jumpstart - Cost 1
The caster's warjacks currently in CTRL range stop being stationary, stand up, and face in any direction. But not if they were knocked down this same turn.
Battlegroup models gain +2 SPD and Pathfinder for one turn.


Thoughts on Kommander Harkevich, the Iron Wolf[edit]

Comparison to Mk2[edit]

  • Harkevich's former escort spell has been traded in for the passive Iron Sentinel and Field Marshal:Reposition abilities. This can be seen as a net improvement since neither ability requires focus and can't be stripped by anti-upkeep spells and abilities
  • He has lost the spell Fortune
  • Harkevich no longer has Field Marshal : Pathfinder but has a medium costed spell that gives pathfinder and a small speed boost. The new spell is not an upkeep so it must be cast each turn to gain the benefits
  • Harkevich is probably one of the casters who best benefits from the increase in Warjack Points. Broadsides works best with multiple ranged jacks and being able to field more jacks helps his playstyle.
  • Harkevich's weapons and feat have received very little change and he has kept his signature spell Broadsides. This has allowed him to keep a similar tactical playstyle to his MK II incarnation.
  • The swap of escort for mobility on paper looks the same but he must now invest focus each turn into gaining his speed, this will make him feel focus hungry.

Kommander Harkevich, the Iron Wolf in a Nutshell[edit]

Harkevich is a close-to-the-line support warcaster that excels in attrition. Ideally he has a cheap screening unit that can keep the enemy off his warjacks long enough for volume of fire to wear the enemy down. His feat lets his deliver a good punch while surviving the inevitable counterattack. He lacks in infantry support and must be careful to commit to melee at the right moment.

Thoughts on when & how to best use his feat and spells[edit]

Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
If you're looking for inspiration for content to add to this page, you can always copy-paste (& update as necessary) info from the old mk2 entry:
Mk2 Battle College: Kommander Harkevich, the Iron Wolf .

Placeholder.

Typical Army & Strategy[edit]

Strategy[edit]

His main win condition is Placeholder. For example: "using her feat turn to get a melee/ranged/spell assassination" "attrition then win on scenario" "board control then win on scenario" "sending a jack in, to beat the enemy warcaster's face into pulp" "etc"

Army[edit]

  • Adding a War Dog and keeping in Iron Sentinel range can take Harkevich in undreamed of levels of defense in melee. He also becomes immune to knockdown and back strikes in this situation, forcing the opponent to risk a lot on their assassination run.
  • Harkevich and one or more Demolisher can be a potent combination. Broadsides can allow each demolisher to fire before it activates, which reduces the armor, but brings it back up when the Demolisher's activation starts. This can allow the warcaster's player to take advantage of the Demolisher's cannon without exposing the jack's armor.
    • Demolishers also have Gunfighter, allowing them to take advantage of Broadside even when engaged.
  • A Winter Guard Field Gun Crew can easily knock enemy models down, allowing your low RAT warjacks to hit reliably under Broadside.

Drawbacks, Downsides, & Bad Match-Ups[edit]

  • Harkevich doesn't have any spells to support non-battlegroup models directly. This means his infantry often has to be completely self-sufficient.
  • Broadsides generally needs around 3 warjacks to justify the focus cost of the spell and the shots from the spell cannot be boosted - a hard pill to swallow on low RAT Khador Warjacks.
  • Harkevich wants to be very close to his warjacks for the full effect of his support spells and Iron Sentinel. This can expose him to danger from assassination models.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Harkevich is a model in his own battlegroup, so he benefits from Broadsides and Mobility.
    • However, he is not a warjack so doesn't benefit from his Field Marshal ability.
  • There is a skill in knowing when to cast Broadsides or not. If you cast it, you double your amount of fire and can drift more AOEs, do more damage to low def models, etc. If you don't you can instead allocate the focus to boost the shots the Warjacks make during their activation.
  • Bombshell is a great charge lane opener. Cast it into the middle of the enemy line and stick a Decimator or Demolisher in the new hole to disrupt the enemy line with a high ARM threat.
  • Remember Jumpstart. It's a situational spell, but using a single focus to remove knockdown and stationary from your models is very powerful and often unexpected by your opponent.
  • On your feat turn, you don't need to shoot the same model you're charging/slamming.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • A common fan-joke after Harkevich's spell list was revealed was that one must grow a prodigious beard in order to cast Broadside (as, at the time, the only characters with the spell were Harkevich and Captain Montador, both possessed of truly magnificent facial hair).
  • Originally released in the Warmachine: Wrath expansion (2011)

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for generic casters (Edit)

Other faction models[edit]

KhadorLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2
K
H
A
D
O
R
Warcaster attachments War Dog (Khador) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary) - Reinholdt (Mercenary) - Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Malakov1 (BGC) - Man-o-War Kovnik (Marshal) - Greylord Forge Seer (Marshal)
Heavy warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Yuri
Battle Engines Gun Carriage
 
Theme Forces
Winter Guard Kommand - Legion of Steel - Jaws of the Wolf
Merc khador.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game

K
H
A
D
O
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Brun Cragback & Lug - Rorsh & Brine
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Khador army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps
Alexia1 - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Bradigan - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gorman - Gudran - Harlan - Hutchuk - Bailoch - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Thor
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Stagger      (Edit)

  • Stagger prevents "free" Power Attacks, such as Smash & Grab.
  • If you manage to free strike a model that is in the middle Slam move, and cause a Stagger, it will not prevent the slam that is already in progress.
  • Stagger does work vs Colossals/Gargantuans.

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon such as arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer latest errata).
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. They're not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack.
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be intrepreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")


Rules Clarification:  : Warcaster      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

 
  • General
    • Your CTRL area is double your current focus statistic, not however many focus points you currently have.
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warcasters are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      • There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warcaster rules.
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    3. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    4. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • Units
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.


Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argii can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.

Rules Clarification : Field Marshal      (Edit)

  • Field marshal only grants the ability to warjacks in the battlegroup, so (normally) the warcaster does not have the Field Marshal ability.
  • However if it is listed on the caster's card separately, such as on Magnus2, then they do have it. (Closed thread)

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. Click here for a detailed explanation
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended.
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Iron Sentinel - None yet. (Edit)


Rules Clarification : Bombshell      (Edit)

  • The sentence "instead of suffering blast damage" only relates to what happens on a critical hit. If it's not a critical, you apply blast damage as normal. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Refer to the throw rules recap.
  • If models in the AOE are B2B before the throw, then the second model moved is going to contact the first model and thus you'll get an extra damage die vs the second model, or collateral damage (depending on who is larger than whom).
  • If the first model can't move the full throw distance (because it contacts an obstacle, or an equal/larger based model) then the other model(s) in the AOE are going to smack into him when they get moved. Thus you'll get extra damage die/collateral damage.
  • Incorporeal models won't be thrown, because "can't be thrown" trumps "is thrown". (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Broadside      (Edit)

  • A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as a Broadside attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warbeasts/warjacks cannot spend focus/fury to boost Broadside shots (because the shots occur out-of-activation), but the caster can boost it (since it happens during the caster's activation).
  • Secondary effects of the warjack's gun can still trigger (as long as they're not limited to activation only or combat action only). For instance, the Galleon can drag stuff in with its harpoon and get its free melee attack.

Rules Clarification : Jumpstart      (Edit)

  • A warjack that stands up via Jump Start can still forfeit movement to aim and etc during their normal activation. Basically, it's as if you were never knocked down at all.
  • Jump Start does not allow you to shake Blind or Shadow Bind.
  • A warjack knocked down earlier on the same turn, cannot stand up via Jump Start. This is not a typo. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Mobility      (Edit)