Koldun Kapitan Valachev

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Khador Greylord Character Command Attachment

Koldun Kapitan Valachev brings the iron strength of the Motherland to mercenary units fortunate enough to serve under his command. Skilled in the dark sorcery of the Greylords, he can chill enemies with icy blasts, propel his unit upfield on freezing winds, or remove debilitating magic afflicting his men. Those serving under him are truly part of Khadoran military machine.

Basic Info[edit]

Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Valachev.png
SPD 6
MAT 6
M.A. 7
DEF 13
ARM 13
CMD 9
HP 5
Cost 4
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Attachment: [Mercenary] - This model can be attached to a Mercenary unit.
  • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
  • Ranking Officer - While this model is in play, models in its unit are Khador models instead of Mercenary models.
  • Immunity: Cold - This model does not suffer cold damage.
  • Battle Wizard - Once per turn during its activation, when this model destroys one or more living enemy models with a melee attack, it can use one of its Magic Abilities for free afterwards.
  • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).


Thoughts on Koldun Kapitan Valachev[edit]

Notable changed from Mk2[edit]

Valachev has gained Battle Wizard, and Zephyr no longer confers immunity to free strikes.

Koldun Kapitan Valachev in a nutshell[edit]

Khador has, perhaps, the most faction-specific spells and abilities in the game. The ability to cast these spells/abilities on to mercenary units is a huge benefit. Valachev requires a bit of finesse to use well, though. On paper, Valachev shines with shooting mercs like Steelhead Riflemen or Nyss Hunters. Move in, shoot enemy and back away with Zephyr.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Don't forget the smaller mercenary units:

Larger merc units:

  • Hammerfall High Shield Gun Corps will lose their Shield Wall capability, but can benefit from Zephyr giving them a decent movement boost as well as access to additional Khador buffs.

In-house synergies:

  • Zerkova2's feat and Occult Whispers are both immensely useful with a unit attached to Valachev. A Mercenary unit with Magic Ability can use an extra spell, and two castings of Zephyr can make a melee unit charge significantly further or allow a ranged unit to avoid retaliation easily.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Valachev has no built-in defenses and quite low defensive stats. Use him cautiously or he will be picked off early.
  • You can't use his Magic Abilities on the same turn you issue a Press Forward order.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Remember that Zephyr can only be triggered during Valachev's action, that he can't use his action until everyone has moved, and you can't use an action on the same turn you charge/run.
    • Despite this, you still have quite a few options about when you trigger it - before any other models have attacked, after some have, or after all have.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in the Warmachine: Wrath expansion (2011)

Theme Forces[edit]

For Valachev to be allowed in a Khador theme force, there first needs to be a theme force that allows Mercenary units. At this stage, there are none such.

Other Khador models[edit]

KhadorLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2
K
H
A
D
O
R
Warcaster attachments War Dog (Khador) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary) - Reinholdt (Mercenary) - Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Malakov1 (BGC) - Man-o-War Kovnik (Marshal) - Greylord Forge Seer (Marshal)
Heavy warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Yuri
Battle Engines Gun Carriage
 
Theme Forces
Winter Guard Kommand - Legion of Steel - Jaws of the Wolf
Merc khador.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game

K
H
A
D
O
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Brun Cragback & Lug - Rorsh & Brine
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Khador army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps
Alexia1 - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Bradigan - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gorman - Gudran - Harlan - Hutchuk - Bailoch - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Thor
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon such as arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer latest errata).
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. They're not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack.
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be intrepreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Cold - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Ranking Officer      (Edit)

  • Models added to the unit after the game starts are also friendly faction (ie Alexia1 adding Risen).
  • You cannot attach more than one CA to a unit.
  • The Ranking Officer benefits from any Granted or Tactics that the 'normal' officer hands out (such as Nyss Hunters giving Hunter).
  • Unlike a normal Officer, a Ranking Officer cannot issue special orders that the unit has but he does not (such as the High Shield's "Shield Wall" order). This means you can't use that order at all until the Ranking Officer dies, but once he's dead it's fine to use.
  • When the Ranking Officer dies, the unit will immediately lose any friendly faction "auras" (such as Stryker's +5 ARM feat).
    • However, they will keep any spells that were cast on them specifically, until that spell naturally expires. This means you can pay to keep an upkeep on them, for example.
  • If a Ranking Officer with its own subtype joins a unit then that unit doesn't become the same subtype. For example, if Murdoch, who is a Trencher model, joins a mercenary unit that does not make the unit a "Trencher unit". Refer the final paragraph of 'Game Terms, Model Names & Rules References'.
  • A Ranking Officer can join a Weapon Crew unit, even though one model is on a large base, due to them having the Man-Sized rule. (Infernal Ruling)
  • 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
    • If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)

Rules Clarification : Disbinding - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Frostbite - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Zephyr      (Edit)

  • You cannot use Zephyr until everyone in the unit has moved (as no model in a unit can perform an Action until all models have completed their Move). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot use an Action on the same turn you Run or Charge.(Infernal Ruling)