Jaga-Jaga, the Death Charmer

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Minion Gatorman Warlock

Jaga-Jaga has risen to prominence as a high priestess of the Blindwater Congregation. In her talons writhe the spirits of death drawn from the swamps, each eager to comply with her designs. She is an enigmatic creature, whispering into the darkness to converse with ravening things of shadow. Around her the unseen spirits bubble close to the surface, drawn to her as leeches are drawn to disturbances in the water.

CID icon.jpg

This model's rules are currently under development
This model is part of the current CID cycle (What is CID?) and the information shown below does not necessarily represent its final ruleset.

This is a existing model, and the information here is the rules it had before the CID cycle. If you wish to document the CID changes before they're finalised, please do so under the Recent Changes heading.

Basic Info[edit]

Jaga-Jaga, the Death Charmer
Base Size Medium
DEF 14
ARM 16
HP 16
WBP +27
See also How to Read the statblock


  • Serpent Strike - 1" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon.
    • Chain Weapon - This weapon ignores Buckler, Shield and Shield Wall.
    • Poison - This weapon gains an additional die on damage rolls against living models.


  • Minion - In a +2 warlock game, he can work as a Circle Orboros minion, Legion of Everblight Minion, Skorne minion, or Trollblood minion
  • Warlock - All warlocks come with a stack of standard special rules - most notably being awesome.
  • Gatorman Warlock - This model's battlegroup must contain only minion Gatorman warbeasts.
  • Amphibious - This model treats shallow water as open terrain while advancing. While completely in shallow water, this model gains concealment and does not block line of sight.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Field Marshal [Death Rage] - Warbeasts/warjacks in this model's battlegroup gain Death Rage. (Death Rage - When this model dies it can move a short distance and make one basic melee attack before being removed from play. The attack ignores crippled aspects and the move ignores free strikes.)


Battle Host - Cost 2, Upkeep

Battlegroup warbeasts activating in the caster's control range gain +2" movement. Also, the caster gains +2 ARM while a battlegroup warbeast is within 3".

Deadweight - Cost 2, 8" range, POW 12

When Deadweight destroys an enemy living or undead model, choose an enemy model within 2" of it. The chosen model must forfeit either its Normal Movement or its Combat Action during its next activation as its controller chooses.

Ghost Walk - Cost 2, 6" range

Target model/unit gains Ghostly for one turn. (Ghostly - This model ignores terrain and free strikes.)

Grave Wind - Cost 2, 6" range, Upkeep

Target friendly Faction model gains +2 DEF and Poltergeist. (Poltergeist - When an attack misses this model, after their attack you may push them d3" directly away from this model.)

Signs & Portents - Cost 4

While in Vladimir's CTRL area all friendly Faciton models roll an extra die on all attack and damage rolls, then discard the lowest.

Feat: Vengeful Spirits[edit]

Choose up to d3 + 5 enemy models currently in Jaga-Jaga’s control range. RFP one friendly Faction warrior model within 5˝of each chosen enemy model. Each chosen enemy model suffers an unboostable magical damage roll with POW equal to the base ARM of the removed model. Models destroyed by Vengeful Spirits are RFP'd.

Recent Changes[edit]

2017.09 Blindwater CID

Lost Spellpiercer but replaced it with Signs & Portents
Feat changed completely. It used to create Dark Shroud solos whenever you killed an enemy.
Lost 2 WBP.

Thoughts on Jaga-Jaga, the Death Charmer[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Change
This model/theme's rules have recently changed dramtically, and the "Thoughts On" section has not (yet) been updated to reflect its new capabilities.

Please feel free to update the article and remove this warning.

Jaga-Jaga, the Death Charmer in a nutshell[edit]

Jaga-Jaga is the nearest equivalent of a battlegroup warlock for the Gatormen, and one that sports excellent counters for certain builds. If the enemy are trying for infantry spam her feat is great. If they are trying for incorporeal or buff spam she has Spellpiercer, and Ghost Walk is another useful counter (as well as ignoring free strikes). Her Field Marshal ability steers you toward playing aggressively, but seriously, you didn't choose this faction for shooting galore, did you?

Maximising her Feat & Spells[edit]

You'll place slain models into critical positions to reap the benefit of Dark Shroud. Obviously, you'll want to use it on models with 2" melee range, and since your movement is limited to 3", they better be close to important targets (a well placed Slam or Throw can help with range issues). This trick is also very useful against shield-walled units. Placing the enemy models will eat up time from your deathclock, but you are not bound to move all the slain targets. You can also pop it just to RFP enemy warriors to deny soul and/or corpse tokens (see Tips and Tricks).

Typical Strategy[edit]

Jaga Jaga's games tend end in assassination, delivering a crippling blow to the enemy after placing possessed model in their vicinity. Her feat also excels in attrition, using the killed warriors to further weaken the enemy, while getting protective spells off with Spellpiercer and limiting their mobility with Deadweight.'

Typical Army[edit]

She's more of a battlegroup caster than most, but her buffs are versatile enough to work with almost anything.

  • Ironback Spitter - Something should hang back with her for the Battle Host ARM-buff.
  • Swamp Horror - Or maybe you should just make a virtue of not going any faster.
  • Bull Snapper - Death Rage might be just what it needs to make back its points.
  • Blackhide Wrastler - Because nothing else she brings will crack armor.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Negligible combat abilities and average defensive capabilities - and she's on a medium base.
  • She has no way to boost her battlegroup's offensive and defensive power (outside of her feat).
  • Against certain builds, she's excellent - but enemies will rarely drop such lists that she can hard-counter.
  • One of the few warlocks in the game without a magical weapon.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Some notes on her feat:
    • The possessed model comes under your control, becoming an enemy model to your opponent with the possibility to trigger abilities like Aadmonition and Counter-charge. Plan accordingly.
    • Legion of Death may enable you to take over the model. It is not an automatic ability, so if you just want to RFP the killed model with an otherwise non-RFP attack, inform your opponent. Otherwise they might call on you, if you thought you RFP'd a key model that they wanted to bring back with Revieve, for example.
  • She's not a great fighter by any means, but Serpent Strikes under her feat can hurt a lot against living models.
  • Her feat does not stack with the Sacred Vault's Deathly Domination; you either choose hers, or the battle engine's ability, but not both.



  • This entry first appeared in the Hordes: Exigence expansion book (2014).
  • Still the only gator without a bite attack. They're not very progressive in the Blindwater Congregation, apparently.

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Minion models[edit]



Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh
Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks Wrong Eye
Gatorman Warbeasts (Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries
Gatorman Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Farrow Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor
Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Unaligned Efaarit Scout - Feralgeist -Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Ogrun Bokur - Gobber Chef - Gobber Raiders - Thrullg - Totem Hunter
Alten Ashley - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Gudrun the Wanderer - Hutchuck - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Orin - Raluk - Saxon Orrik - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
Minion - Theme Forces (Edit)
The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Placeholder. I need to update this section after CID is finalised. juckto (talk) 01:52, 28 September 2017 (EDT)

Rules Clarification : Chain Weapon - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Poison - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification:  : Warlock      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

  • General
    • FURY (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warlock's card. Fury (lowercase) refers to fury points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FURY stat, not double your fury points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warlocks are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warlock rules.
    • If your warbeast is Removed From Play, you can still reave fury off it. (Locked thread)
    • If your warbeast is destroyed or RFP'd while under your opponent's control then:
      1. You cannot reave fury off it. Because it is still enemy at the time it was destroyed/RFP'd, and you can't reave from enemy warbeasts.
      2. After it is taken off the table, it returns to your control and is eligible for Spirit Bond and (possibly) Return to Play stuff (like Thagrosh1's feat).
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    3. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    4. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • Units
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.

Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argii can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.

Rules Clarification : Gatorman Warlock - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Field Marshal      (Edit)

  • Field marshal only grants the ability to warjacks in the battlegroup, so (normally) the warcaster does not have the Field Marshal ability.
  • However if it is listed on the caster's card separately, such as on Magnus2, then they do have it. (Closed thread)

Rules Clarification : Death Rage      (Edit)

  • Placeholder

Rules Clarification : Escort and/or Battle Host - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Deadweight - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Ghost Walk      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Ghostly      (Edit)

  • Ghostly doesn't let you move through other models, just terrain.
  • Ghostly doesn't let you ignore damage from hazardous terrain. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Grave Wind      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Poltergeist      (Edit)

  • If the attack is out of range, Poltergeist is still triggered. This is because an out of range attack misses automatically, and an auto-miss is still a miss.
  • If a single attack misses multiple Poltergeists (for instance a Thresher), then you get to resolve the pushes in any order you choose (after the last thresher attack is resolved).

Rules Clarification : Spellpiercer      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).

Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Dark Shroud      (Edit)

  • Dark Shroud only applies to your melee range, and this doesn't includes behind you. Refer to the latest errata. This is a reversal of an earlier ruling.
  • The ARM debuff still applies during a free strike.