Issyria, Sibyl of Dawn

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Retribution Warcaster

Possessing immense arcane ability and a talent for the divinatory arts, Issyria has become one of the greatest military assets of House Nyarr. That she has done so while declining to wield a weapon is all the more remarkable. In combat, Issyria uses her powers to perceive the flow of battle, gaining a peerless understanding of each movement and action around her and directing her myrmidons to serve as perfect fulcrums of force. When she enters her meditative trance the world seems to freeze and the best tactical course becomes clear.

Basic Info[edit]

Issyria, Sibyl of Dawn
Issyria1
SPD 6
DEF 16
ARM 13
FOC 8
HP 15
WJP +29
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Unarmed - This model has no melee weapons, which means a host of options are not available to it.

Abilities[edit]

  • Warcaster - This model comes with a bunch of special rules, most notably being really awesome at everything.
  • Flight - This model ignores (almost) all terrain when moving. This model can move over other models, and ignores intervening models when declaring charges.
  • Ancillary Attack (★ Action) - Target nearby warjack or warbeast can make a basic melee or ranged attack.
  • Arcane Vortex - Can negate spells targeting nearby models by spending a focus token. The negated spell's COST is still paid.
  • True Sight - This model ignores clouds for LOS, and ignores Stealth always.

Spells[edit]

Admonition - Cost 2, 6" range, Upkeep

Target a model in the caster's battlegroup. If an enemy model advances & ends its movement within 6" of that model, it can immediately advance up to 3" ignoring free strikes, but then Admonition expires.

Blinding Light - Cost 3, 10" range, Offensive spell with zero POW

For one round, target enemy model/unit suffers -2 DEF and cannot make ranged or magic attacks.

Crusader's Call - Cost 3

Friendly Faction models beginning a charge in the caster's CTRL range gain +2" for that charge. Lasts for one turn.

Inviolable Resolve - Cost 2, 6" range, Upkeep

Friendly Faction model/unit gains +2 ARM and they cannot be moved by a push or slam. Doesn't work while out of formation.

Velocity - Cost (★)

THe caster can spend up to 3 focus on this spell. For each focus spent, the caster can move up to 2". Can only be cast once per activation.

Feat : Dawn's Light[edit]

While in her CTRL range, friendly Faction models gain True Sight (as above) and roll an additional die on attack and damage rolls. For each of those rolls, discard one die of your choice for each of those rolls. Dawn's Light lasts for one turn.


Analysis of Issyria, Sibyl of Dawn[edit]

Issyria, Sibyl of Dawn in a nutshell[edit]

One of the few models in the game with no weapon, and one of only two warcasters/warlocks without one. In case you don't know what that means, it means she is a pure support caster (although she is the opposite of her unarmed Skorne counterpart). Issyria is all about the buffs and this can maker her a little on the harder side to use, unlike her Skorne counterpart who is all about the debuffs. If you want to give the floaty chick a chance my advice would be to practice, practice, practice, and who knows she might be exactly what your looking for.

Maximising her feat and spells[edit]

Placeholder.

Typical Army & Strategy[edit]

Strategy[edit]

Her main method of winning is ...Placeholder.
For example: "using her feat turn to get a melee/ranged/spell assassination" "attrition then win on scenario" "board control then win on scenario" "sending a jack in, to beat the enemy warcaster's face into pulp" "etc"

Army[edit]

  • Dawnguard - Any dawnguard are good under her for the armor buff and she can even make use of your destors with the destor solo, making them a terrifying armor 21 plus adding feat turn . . . ewwwww.
  • Hyperion - She likes um big and rough . . . and starbursty? yeah I'm sticking to it. With the strongest ranged weapon in the game combined with Issyria's ablility to have him shoot again? yeah starbursty.
  • Phoenix/Chimera - Simply put arc nodes. And no I'm not stopping there. The Chimera in particular is useful because of its apparition to help it get that extra step around the battle field. The phoenix is a gem that isn't afraid to get dirty, So abuse him until he has done his job of arcing and slashing till its time to bring that gem back to the jeweller to get cleaned.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Arcane Vortex: Be careful, its short range may/can put her in danger.
  • No offensive weapons, and no offensive spells either. Ancillary Attack is the closest she gets to being aggro.
  • Without a melee weapon, she can't cast spells then declare a "fail charge", making her less mobile than other casters (although really, how close do you want to get to the enemy lines).

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Feat is a great way to help trigger critical hits. *cough* Hyperion *cough*.
  • Also her ancillary attack; under her feat is a great way to clear huge amounts of single wound units with Hyperion's starburst cannon.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in the Warmachine: Vengeance expansion (2014)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Retribution models[edit]

RetLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Rahn1 - Vyros1 - Vyros2 - Elara2 - Garryth1 - Goreshade4 - Issyria1 - Kaelyssa1 - Ossyan1 - Ravyn1 - Thyron1 - Helynna1
R
E
T
R
I
B
U
T
I
O
N
Warcaster attachments Fane Knight Guardian (Retribution) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Retribution) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Elara1 (BGC) - Sentinel Scyir - Artificer
Light warjacks Aspis - Chimera - Gorgon - Griffon
Moros
Heavy warjacks Banshee - Daemon - Hydra - Manticore - Phoenix - Sphinx
Discordia - Hypnos - Hemera - Imperatus
Colossal Hyperion - Helios
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Destors - Invictors - Sentinels - Heavy Rifle Team - Swordsmen - Arcanists - Battle Mages - Electromancers - Halberdiers - Riflemen - Infiltrators - Strike Force - Ryssovass Defenders - Stormfall Archers
Nyss Hunters - Spears of Scyrah
Special: Eiryss3 (CA) - Soulless Escort (WA)
Solos Arcanist Mechanik - Destor Thane - Sentinel Scyir - Ghost Sniper - Artificer - Magister - Houseguard Thane - Lys Healer - Assassin - Priest of Nyssor - Soulless Voidtracer

Aelyth Vyr - Eirrys1 - Eiryss2 - Elara1 - Issyen - Narn - Nayl

Battle Engines Arcantrik Force Generator
 
Theme Forces
Forges of War - Defenders of Ios - Shadows of the Retribution
RetMercLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Retribution Mercenary Models/Units
Units Lady Aiyana & Master Holt
Solos Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no melee weapons it does not have a melee range. This means it cannot:
    • Engage other models
    • Charge
    • Free Strike
    • Gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).


Rules Clarification:  : Warcaster      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

 
  • General
    • FOCUS (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warcaster's card. Focus (lowercase) refers to focus points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FOCUS stat, not double your focus points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warcasters are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      • There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warcaster rules.
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    3. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    4. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • Units
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.


Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argii can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.

Rules Clarification : Flight      (Edit)

  • Flight doesn't ignore:
    • Impassable terrain and hazardous terrain
    • Templates that stay in play and do damage to models moving through them (such as a Scather).
    • Free strikes.
  • Trampling with a flying model (Edit)
    • Flight allows you to trample "over" medium- and larger-bases.
    • Although you trample "over" them, you don't get to make a trample attack vs them and you don't ignore their free strikes. Refer the core rulebook.
      • Unless, of course, you have an exception like Blade Rush.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata. This is a reversal of an earlier ruling.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.

Rules Clarification : Ancillary Attack - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Arcane Vortex      (Edit)

  • Arcane vortex can be used to counter spells with "Range: Self". (Infernal Ruling)
  • Some spells do not have a target, mostly CTRL area spells (such as Siege's Foxhole) but also some (★ Action) (such as Ragman's Death Field). These cannot be cancelled by Arcane Vortex.
  • The "Cost" for non-warcaster models includes stuff like "using your special action" or "killing a Mind Bender Drudge."
  • Arcane Vortex vs Primal Shock (Edit)
    • The warbeast that is chosen as the point of origin can not be negated by Arcane Vortex.
    • The "target a model within 8 inches" is the part that can be negated by arcane vortex.
    • There are some other parts that the Infernals are currently checking.
    • (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : True Sight      (Edit)

  • You only ignore clouds for LOS, so models can still get concealment, Prowl, etc from them.
  • A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
    • This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.


Rules Clarification : Admonition      (Edit)

  • Admonition triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff. You could even trigger your Admonition off an enemy's Admonition!
  • If a model stands still but changes its facing, that is an advance, so it will yrigger Admonition.
  • You don't have to trigger Admonition the first time an enemy moves nearby - you can save it until it best suits you.
  • Admonition won't trigger from "Place" abilities (such as Teleport) or involuntary movements (such as Pushes).
  • If your opponent doesn't move or change the facing of their model or declare they're forfeiting their Normal Movement, but just goes straight into their Combat Action, then they are considered to have not advanced so won't trigger Admonition. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Countercharge vs. Admonition (etc) ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation - if a model with Admonition (or similar) uses it to (try to) move away.
      • You move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge off their admonition-move.
    • In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
    • Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge).
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Battlegroup members (Edit)
    • Spells that target/affect "models in the battlegroup" can also target/will also affect the caster, the caster's unit (if they have one), and the caster's Companion (if they have one).
    • It won't target/affect models which are Attached, though.

Rules Clarification : Blinding Light - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Crusader's Call - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Inviolable Resolve - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Velocity      (Edit)

  • You can not cast this spell with 0 focus and advance 0" (change facing).
  • The advance will trigger free strikes, counter charges, etc.