Iron Fang Uhlans
Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
Khador Iron Fang Cavalry Unit
Serving as the forward fighting arm of an Iron Fang contingent, Iron Fang Uhlans are often the first to ride into the enemy. These mounted Iron Fangs fluidly ride together and meld classical horselord cavalry tactics with the shoulder-to-shoulder fighting formations customary of Iron Fang assaults. The armored horses are so powerful they have been known to knock warjacks to the ground, and they can easily crush an enemy’s skull under their spike-shod hooves.
|Iron Fang Uhlans
| Unit Size
|| 4 points per model
|See also How to Read the statblock
Weapons and Attacks
- Blasting Lance - 2" reach, P+S 16 melee weapon (charge only)
- Pommel Spike - 1" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon (non-charge only)
- Close Combat - If you charge at least 3", you can't make an initial attack with this weapon.
- Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 12 mount attack.
- Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
- Relentless Charge - While advancing as part of a charge, this model gains Pathfinder.
- Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
- Steady - This model can't be knocked down.
- Wall of Steel - This model gains +2 ARM bonus while it is B2B with another model in its unit.
Thoughts on Iron Fang Uhlans
Iron Fang Uhlans in a nutshell
Iron Fang Uhlans are Khador's big, stompy cavalry. Devastating on the charge and extremely middling outside of them these knights hit as hard as a buffed light jack, or an average heavy. Their job is to run the enemy's key models to the ground, and change the tide of battle by getting you ahead of the attrition. They excel in taking down big threats with a lot of health, helped along by their Crit Knockdown effect - from which they have two on the charge. They are also big and expensive targets, so you must position themselves carefully to avoid being shot to pieces, before reaching their target.
Combos & Synergies
- The Legion of Steel theme is purpose made for Iron Fang units. One full unit of IFU can unlock a small-based support solo, either the Iron Fang Kovnik, who grants them Precision Strike to carve out cortices, arc nodes and spirit aspects, or Sofia to give them Veteran Leader.
- Uhlan Kovnik Markov - Though cannot get for free in the theme, his Tactician bonus is crucial to get the most of your charges. You can also stride through your IFP wall, if needed. Just like the support solos above, he has an excellent CMD range, and with his increased SPD he has no problem keeping the riders in his buff bubble.
- Zerkova1 - It is hard to find a good army for her, but she can screen the Uhlans with Freezing Mist, and Ghost Walk goes a long way of helping them through terrain even when outside charges. Her feat also shuts down the enemy's attempt to counter-charge or jam them. A preliminary Hex Blast can also help to remove pesky upkeeps which provide ARM and/or DEF buff for your target.
- Vlad3 - Hand of Fate helps mitigate their post-charge weakness and they are great candidates for Vlad's feat (threat range of 16", P+S 19).
- Strakhov1 - You can't shoot what you can't see (save for a few exceptions). His feat also adds considerable charge distance boost for the Uhlans.
- Strakhov2 - If you need to survive, cast Inviolable Resolve which stacks nicely with Wall of Steel. If you need to hit first and hard, cast Quicken, and run them up ASAP. In the latter case you can try to protect them with your feat, giving them the sweet Tough+Steady combo, and a decent ARM swing.
- Butcher1 - A support caster in his heart, a charging Uhlan unit under his feat and Fury is perfectly capable of evaporating an ARM 20 colossal.
- Irusk1 and Irusk2 - Both version prefer sturdy, hard hitting units, and there are few better recipients for Battle Lust than an Uhlan unit.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Usual cavalry flaws - big, expensive and high-priority targets
- Their damage dealing capacity and Pathfinder is all tied to charges, thus badly hurt by jamming units, and tricks that deny charges and/or orders
Tricks & Tips
- Run them in pairs to benefit from Wall of Steel and keep them out of harm's way until you're ready to charge.
- Also be careful, Reposition movement does trigger free strikes!
- If you didn't kill your target, you might want to use your Reposition move to get closer to the enemy, and keep it engaged.
Originally released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)
Other faction models
Rules Clarification : Lance (Edit)
- If you declare a charge but move less than 3", then it doesn't count as a charge attack and you can't use your Lance.
- If you kill your charge target with an Impact Attack, then you "lose" your Lance attack. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Knockdown (Edit)
- Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
Rules Clarification : Close Combat (Edit)
- If you declare a charge but move less than 3", then it doesn't count as a charge attack and you can use this weapon.
- You can purchase additional attacks, make free strikes, etc with this weapon regardless of whether you charged or not.
Rules Clarification: : Cavalry (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| Mount Weapon
- Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
- Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
- Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
- Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
- If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
- Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
- Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
- You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Movement
- You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
- The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
- Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
- If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
- As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
- On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.
Impact Attacks - The attack(s)
- You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
- If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
- If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Other
- You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.
- If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
- Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
- Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
- Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
- Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
- Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
- Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
- Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
- Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
- Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Steady (Edit)
- Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
- For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
- A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.
Rules Clarification : Wall of Steel (Edit)
- If you're slammed or thrown into a model with Wall of Steel, you'll immediately benefit. So you'll get the ARM bonus vs the slam/throw damage, too!
- It's not possible to be B2B with someone at the same time you move, so you can't gain Wall of Steel at the same time you enter a damaging template (such as Covering Fire).
- No, you cannot move an infinitely small distance and thus travel in an arc. This is Warmachine, not calculus.
- However, if you can move througha model, ignore the above.