Iron Fang Pikemen

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Khador Iron Fang Unit

Khador’s heavily armored Iron Fang pikemen are charged with hunting down and destroying enemy warjacks, carrying explosive-tipped blasting pikes designed to tear through the thickest armor of man or machine. The most veteran of these pikemen are welcomed into the elite Black Dragon kompany, where their experience and precision make them brutally efficient on the attack and unbreakable in defense.

Basic Info[edit]

Iron Fang Pikemen
IronFangPikemen+UA.jpg
SPD 6
MAT 7
DEF 12
ARM 14
CMD 8
HP 1
Unit Size 6/10
+2 CA
Cost 9/15 ; +4 for CA 1.5 per model

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

Everyone except Standard Bearer

Standard Bearer

  • Unarmed - This model has no melee weapons, which means a host of options are not available to it.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Leader & Grunts
    • Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
    • Shield Wall (Order) - Models in this unit get +4 ARM while B2B with another model in the unit, unless the attack originates in their rear arc. Lasts until the beginning of their next activation.
  • Officer
    • The Officer has +1 MAT and 5 hitpoints
    • Combined Melee Attack - As above
    • Shield Wall - As above. Note, although not listed specifically on his card, he can give this Order via the Officer rules.
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Defensive Formation (Minifeat) - Once per game the unit gains Reposition [5"] for one turn. (Reposition [5"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 5", then its activation ends.)
    • Tactics: Relentless Charge - The unit gains Relentless Charge. (Relentless Charge - This model gains Pathfinder while it is charging.)
  • Standard Bearer
    • Standard Bearer - While the standard bearer is within 5" of the unit commander, the commander gains +2 CMD.
    • Take Up - If this model is killed you may instead remove a Grunt within 1". Remove any effects on this model, and apply any effects that were on the old grunt.


Thoughts on Iron Fang Pikemen[edit]

Command Attachment

Comparison to Mk2[edit]

The Iron Fang Pikemen have stayed almost entirely the same in their transition to MK2, but their power is still likely to have increased due to the changes in the meta away from large infantry hordes. The Standard Bearer now has the Take Up rule which was split off from the Standard Bearer rule and Defensive Formation has been severely nerfed.

Iron Fang Pikemen in a nutshell[edit]

Tough and hard-hitting, in the post-Colossals metagame the Pikemen are the gold standard for Khador single-wound melee infantry. Seemingly average across the board, their ARM is high enough out of Shield Wall to shrug off most blasts - and in Shield Wall they shrug off Cygnaran POW 10s and most other anti-infantry tech. They also hit hard enough to really worry enemy heavies and with Combined Melee Attacks and Reach they can put in a showing against even high-DEF infantry. If you're looking for a powerful, affordable and reliable unit, then look no further than the Iron Fang Pikemen.

The Pikemen's high natural MAT and Combined Melee Attack makes them very likely to hit whatever they're aiming for and the Blasting Pike is a sufficiently strong weapon that you can use the Pikemen to engage even heavies. There are few "wrong targets" for them when it comes to surmounting DEF and ARM.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Iron Fang Pikemen are always strong, but do especially well in dedicated Iron Fang armies where they can be accompanied by Iron Fang Kovniks and Uhlan Kovnik Markov. With Markov, they can set up powerful two-punch combos where the Pikemen form the first wave and Iron Fang Uhlans the second as they (counter)charge nearby enemies.

Ideally you're protecting your Pikemen with smoke but otherwise you'll be walking them up in Shield Wall until they're close enough for a charge. They lack Set Defense so you really want to get the alpha strike. 'Casters like Vlad3 that can further improve their mobility or 'Casters that can give them Iron Flesh for greater survivability on their way to melee help them out a great deal.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

Shield Wall makes them slower than a lot of other infantry which is only slightly mitigated by Defensive Formation. Their lack of ranged weapons can make them sitting ducks for enemies wielding bigger guns and the Shield Wall makes them somewhat vulnerable to high-POW blasts.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

Defensive Formation can be used either to spread out and attack and still end up in a shield wall order or to either stay alive or jam after a charge.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Other faction models[edit]

KhadorLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2
K
H
A
D
O
R
Warcaster attachments War Dog (Khador) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary) - Reinholdt (Mercenary) - Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Malakov1 (BGC) - Man-o-War Kovnik (Marshal) - Greylord Forge Seer (Marshal)
Heavy warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Sofya - Yuri
Battle Engines Gun Carriage
 
Theme Forces
Armored Korps - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter
Merc khador.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game

K
H
A
D
O
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Brun Cragback & Lug - Rorsh & Brine
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Khador army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps
Alexia1 - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Bradigan - Eilish Garrity - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gorman - Gudran - Harlan - Hutchuk - Bailoch - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Thor
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no melee weapons it does not have a melee range. This means it cannot:
    • Engage other models
    • Charge
    • Free Strike
    • Gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).


Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as the target being behind cover) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.

Rules Clarification : Shield Wall      (Edit)

  • You don't need to have the entire unit in B2B to get the bonus. Even just two models in B2B will give it to each other. Which way they're facing doesn't matter, either.
  • You can still get Shield Wall while knocked down.
  • Shield Wall works against all damage except damage originating in your back arc. This means that if a damage roll doesn't have an origin point then by definition it can't originate in your back arc, and you'll get your bonus vs it.
  • If you start the game in Shield Wall, it will expire when you activate the unit. It doesn't let you run and be in Shield Wall on turn 1.
  • Since models move in straight lines, it impossible to keep two models B2B while advancing. Thus you cannot benefit from Shield Wall while moving through acid clouds etc.


Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Defensive Formation      (Edit)

Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    3. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    4. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • Units
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.

Rules Clarification : Relentless Charge      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Standard Bearer      (Edit)

  • If the Officer dies, the Standard Bearer can give the CMD bonus to the Leader model.

Rules Clarification : Take Up - None yet. (Edit)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here