Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.
Retribution Shyeel Character Heavy Warjack
As regal as its name suggests, the Imperatus was engineered to be without peer. The myrmidon wields a pair of blazing thermal blades to deadly effect, annihilating foes in a flurry of fiery impacts. At a distance it musters energy from its field to empower the Halation cannon, a weapon that can direct a concentrated burst of superheated energy with pinpoint accuracy. Its most astonishing feature is the Phoenix Protocol, a failsafe system that can rapidly restore the Imperatus to full fighting force.
- Halation Cannon - 10" range, POW 14 gun
- Thermal Blade (x2) - 2" reach, P+S 17 melee weapons
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
- Continuous Fire - A model hit by this attack is set on fire. A model on fire suffers a POW 12 fire damage roll in Maintenance phase of owner's turn until the fire expires.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Bond [Vyros] - If this model begins the game in Vyros's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Vyros and in their CTRL range, Imperatus can run or charge without spending focus.
- Field Dependent - If this model's Generator is crippled, it loses Phoenix Field and can't attack with the Halation Cannon.
- Phoenix Field - Remove d6 damage points from this model's force field after resolving continuous effects during your Maintenance Phase.
- Phoenix Protocol - Imperatus can use this ability once per game during your Maintenance Phase, or when disabled. Removed up to 1 damage point from each system and all damage from its force field.
- Side Step - When this model hits an enemy model with an initial melee attack or a melee special attack, it can advance up to 2" after the attack is resolved.
Thoughts on Imperatus
Imperatus in a nutshell
Imperatus brings one of the most durable warjacks in the game with some melee power to boot. Side step gives Imperatus ways to get deep into enemy lines and strike at the heart of the enemy force. Phoenix Protocol keeps Imperatus alive well beyond what most heavies can take.
Combos & Synergies
Other than the Arcanist to make Imperatus hit harder, Imperatus is such a good all round jack that he doesn't need much in the way of synergies (not that taking him with Vyros is a bad plan in any way).
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Grievous Wounds will prevent him using Phoenix Field and Phoenix Protocol. He's not coming back!
- Your most expensive myrmidon, high on the target list.
Tricks & Tips
- His two initial side steps can frequently lead to him delivering a scary assassination threat.
Originally released in the Warmachine: Vengeance expansion (2014)
When taken in Vyros' battlegroup, this model can be taken in:
When taken in someone else’s battlegroup, this model can’t be taken in theme forces.
Other Retribution models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Flame Burst (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Fire (Edit)
- Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
- You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
- A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bond (Edit)
- Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
- Bonds & Themes
- If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
- Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Field Dependent - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Force Fields (Edit)
- You cannot spend focus to heal Force Fields mid-move, such as taking damage from a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot repair force fields, but you can spend focus to remove damage. (Infernal Ruling)
- Grievous Wounds prevents removing damage from force fields. (Locked Thread)
Rules Clarification : Phoenix Field - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Side Step (Edit)
- You can't trigger Side Step by hitting friendly models.
- You can't trigger Side Step from additional attacks that you buy, or out-of-activation attacks (such as free strikes).
- If you have multiple initial attacks, you have to step after each one. You can't "save up" all your side steps then get a single big 4" or 6" move.