Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
Retribution Vyre Character Heavy Warjack
Hypnos, a myrmidon of the most exacting construction, is of the creation of Lord Arcanist Ossyan's own labors. The lord arcanist has forged an insoluble connection with Hypnos, allowing it to draw energy from Ossyan and become an extension of his abilities. In his presence the myrmidon’s phase gun is imbued with synchronized energy; those struck by it become nonconductive to mystical channeling, thwarting the use of arc nodes as well as the delicate synergy between warbeast and warlock. Once it closes upon an enemy warjack, Hypnos pounds it with fists armed with specially-designed force projectors. Even a glancing blow from these weapons can stagger a warjack as its cortex signals overload, causing it to seize up and become helpless.
- Phase Gun - 10" range, 4" AOE, POW 14 gun
- Heavy Arcano-Pulse Fist - 1" reach, P+S 16 melee weapon
- Damage Type: Magical - As above
- Shadow Bind - Models hit by this attack can't advance (except to spin in place) and suffer a -3 DEF penalty. Shadow Bind can be shaken.
- Light Arcano-Pulse Fist - 1" reach, P+S 15 melee weapon
- Damage Type: Magical - As above
- Shadow Bind - As above
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Arc Node - This model can channel spells cast by its controlling Warcaster.
- Bond [Ossyan] - If this model begins the game in Ossyan's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Ossyan and in their CTRL range, Hypnos gains Shadow Bind on his ranged weapon (as above).
- Sacred Ward - This model can't be targeted by enemy spells.
Thoughts on Hypnos
Hypnos in a nutshell
Hypnos is the red dot scope that your army will be seeing through as long as he is with Ossyan, and he will most likely always be with Ossyan. With the bond he gets, Hypnos's medium AOE gives shadow bind on whatever is directly hit and causes whatever is hit to most likely be dead by the end of that turn, that is if his shot isn't being used to clear infantry waves. Couple that with Ossyan's field marshal together they are a force to be reckoned with. Don't forget that his melee has shadow bind on it automatically so after one punch he is going to continue punching until all thats left is a heap of scrap metal or mangled bones.
Combos & Synergies
Drawbacks & Downsides
Tricks & Tips
Originally released in the Warmachine: Wrath expansion (2011)
When taken in Ossyan's battlegroup, this model can be taken in:
Themes for any-and-all bonded warjacks (Edit)
When taken in someone else’s battlegroup, this model can’t be taken in theme forces.
Other Retribution models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Ghost Shot (Edit)
- Ignore LOS (Edit)
- Since you ignore LOS, you can target models in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
- Although you ignore concealment/cover, you don't ignore any other bonuses models get "from" them (such as Prowl).
- You don't ignore Stealth's "auto-miss" rule.
Rules Clarification : Shadow Bind and/or Force Hold and/or Force Lock and/or Quagmire (Edit)
- Models affected by Shadow Bind/Force Hold may still advance 0" and thus abilities that trigger on "ends their movement within ..." or "after this model advances ..." will still trigger (for example Slipstream, Countercharge, etc).
- Models may still be placed, so abilities like Apparition will still work.
- The restriction applies to all advances: normal activation, bonus in-activation (like Overtake), and out-of-activation (like Energiser).
- Shadow Bind only. If you manage to free strike a charging warjack and Shadow Bind it, their charge continues (an effect which prevents charging isn't retroactive if applied after the charge has already been declared).
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bond (Edit)
- Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
- Bonds & Themes
- If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
- Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward (Edit)
- Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.
Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node (Edit)
- You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
- If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.
- You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
- If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the DEF bonus.
- Since Stealth has both a LOS component (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed); this can lead to some non-intuitive interactions between channeling and stealth when either the caster or channeler is able to ignore stealth.
We've put a bunch of examples on the Category:Channeler page.