Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
Retribution Shyeel Heavy Warjack
House Shyeel has brought the power of its formidable myrmidons to the Retribution, fighting machines enhanced by sophisticated arcanika systems. The Hydra stores energy in its arcane batteries to unleash a torrent of crushing blows or a singularly powerful blast.
- Force Cannon - 12" range, POW 12 gun
- Force Fist (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 15 melee weapons
- Chain Attack:Grab & Smash - If this model hits the same model with both its initial attacks with this weapon,after resolving the attacks it can immediately make a head-butt or throw power attack against that target.
- Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Force Fields - this warjack has an extra damage track that takes damage first.
- Field Dependent - If this model's Generator is crippled, it loses Kinetic Capacitor and can't attack with its Force Cannon.
- Focus Battery - This model doesn't lose its unspent focus at the start of the turn.
- Kinetic Capacitor - When a Hydra is hit by an enemy melee or ranged attack, after the attack the Hydra gains 1 focus point.
Thoughts on Hydra
Hydra in a nutshell
It's a heavy warjack with a decent gun (the longest in Retribution before adding Snipe). The focus investment to get the gun working at full-tilt can be off-putting, but Focus Battery offsets that if you're smart with your playstyle.
The Hydra's okay in melee, a little weak on the P+S and will sometimes struggle vs other heavies, but Chain Attack Grab & Smash has great tactical applications such as knocking down enemies or throwing them out of scenario zones.
Combos & Synergies
- Snipe is a great tool to give this guy some annoying range.
- Have him activate first. If the Hydra gets its two first punches in then whatever he knocked down becomes open season.
- Lord Ossyan has a great set of spells to help out our one-headed Hydra. Fortune for re-rolls on super long shots against hard to hit solos, and Shatter Storm for taking out piled up groups of troops (heh I made a rhyme).
- Scything Touch with Elara2 is exactly what you need to make his melee not only decent but useful.
- Due to not losing focus each round, it's a good jack to marshal - load it up with focus in the first turn then hold on to it unless you need to boost. The extra attack and +2 damage in melee doesn't hurt either.
Drawbacks & Downsides
Well the sad truth of it is that there are better options. He can get long-range shots off and is focus efficient, but he only gets one shot. In melee his P+S is lackluster, the only pro is Grab and Smash.
So, by himself, he is good at is sniping out solos. That's a lot of points to waste on a solo-hunter.
Tricks & Tips
- Because of its Focus Battery ability:
- Figure out what you need to cast on turn 1, and anything leftover allocate to the Hydra - there's (almost never) no point camping focus on turn 1.
- If you have an Arcanist Mechanik with nothing better to do, use Empower on the Hydra (even if the Hydra has already activated).
- With the Kinetic Capacitor, you don't gain the focus until after the attack. So if the damage cripples either your Cortex or your Generator, you can't benefit.
- The Hydra is a reference (like most ret jacks) to a mythological monster. In this case the "Hydra" is referring to the three headed dragon beast that Hercules fought in his quests given to him by his father Zeus. The Hydra was a special monster as if it were to have one of its heads cut off two more would replace it making it one of the most famous Monsters in history.
- Originally released in Forces of Warmachine: Retribution of Scyrah (Novermber 2009)
Other Retribution models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Focus-Powered - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Chain Attack Grab & Smash (Edit)
- Grab & Smash allows you to make a Power Attack during the same activation that you charged. (Locked thread)
- You may want to refresh yourself on the Rules Clarifications on Throws and Head-Butts.
Rules Clarification : Chain Attack (Edit)
- Some Chain Attacks generate a Power Attack (such as Chain Attack: Throw. These Chains can be used after charging, even though Power Attacks normally can't be used after a charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- Buying extra attacks with fury or focus cannot trigger a Chain Attack - only initial attacks can trigger it.
- If you have 3 weapons but only 2 of them are associated with the Chain Attack, then you can make that 3rd initial attack at any point without it preventing the Chain Attack from triggering.
Also, interrupting your initials to resolve the Chain Attack will not prevent you taking the 3rd initial.
For example, the Cryx Nightmare has two Claws with a Chain Attack, plus some Tusks. When he makes his initial attacks he can go:
- [Claw] - [Tusks] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack] ... even though the two Claw attacks weren't sequential.
- [Claw] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack] - [Tusks] ... even though he did the Chain Attack before getting to his initial Tusk.
- [Tusks] - [Claw] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack]
- He cannot go ... [Claw] - [Claw] - [Tusks] - [Chain Attack] ... because you must resolve the Chain Attack as soon as it's triggered, or not at all.
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Force Fields (Edit)
- You cannot spend focus to heal Force Fields mid-move, such as taking damage from a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot repair force fields, but you can spend focus to remove damage. (Infernal Ruling)
- Grievous Wounds prevents removing damage from force fields. (Locked Thread)
Rules Clarification : Focus Battery - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Kinetic Capacitor (Edit)
- Because you don't gain the focus until after the attack, if the damage cripples your Cortex or your Generator, you can't benefit.
Rules Clarification : Field Dependent - None yet. (Edit)