| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Horthol, Long Rider Hero
Trollblood Trollkin Character Dragoon Solo
- Long Hammer - 2" reach, P+S 15 melee weapon.
- Critical Smite - On a critical hit, the model hit can be slammed d6" directly away from this model. If the model hit has a larger base than the attacking model, it is moved only half the distance rolled. The POW of collateral damage is equal to the STR of this model.
- Mount - 0.5" reach, 14 POW mount.
- Dragoon - Dragoons begin the game as a Cavalry model but can become dismounted during play. When they do so, their stats go down slightly and they lose some of their special rules & equipment.
- Elite Cadre [Trollkin Long Riders] - Friendly Trollkin Long Riders models gain Line Breaker (as below).
- Mounted only
- Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
- Bull Rush - Horthol can make slam power attacks. When resolving the slam, use the Mount's POW instead of the rider's STR for the slam damage roll. After resolving the slam and the Follow Up, you can make a basic melee attack.
- Line Breaker - This model gets an extra die on impact attack rolls.
- Follow Up - When this model slams an enemy model, immediately after the slam is resolved this model can advance directly toward the slammed model, up to the distance the slammed model was moved.
- Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
- Dismounted only
- Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
2017.07 Northkin CID
- Gained +1" reach on his hammer.
Thoughts on Horthol, Long Rider Hero
Horthol, Long Rider Hero in a nutshell
Horthol is a fairly tough cavalry solo. Critical Smite on his hammer makes him better than the average long rider at knocking stuff down. He can charge through small-based infantry with ease with line breaker and elite MAT, and get a boosted attack roll for a fairly reliable critical smite on his charge target. He doesn't give as much to his fellow Long Riders as most other Cavalry solos with Elite Cadre, and costs as much as 2 long riders. He has more boxes and higher armor than 2 long riders, however, so he likes armor buffs, such as Horgle 2's buff, and the ever-present stone aura. Cavalry can be hard to keep in the aura when they charge, and keep in mind that stone strength will only affect his hammer, not the mount.
Combos & Synergies
- Trollkin Long Riders - naturally. He gives them Line Breaker, enabling them to smash through swarms.
- Krielstone - he's incredibly tough, being a dragoon. The tougher the model the more the Krielstone helps.
- Anyone that can draw him back out so he can charge again.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Line Breaker isn't that great and he costs as much as two Long Riders.
Tricks & Tips
- Slam away. He does great slams.
Released in Hordes: Metamorphosis (2009)
Other Trollblood models
Rules Clarification : Smite (Edit)
- This rule changed in Mk3 to no longer say it "adds the weapon's POW". It still does add the POW, however, because the whole section on calculating Slam damage was reworded in the main rulebook.
- Smite is not a Power Attack Slam, it is just an attack which causes a model to be slammed. As such, you can smite friendly models.
- You can trigger Critical Smite on a free strike.
- If you Smite on a charge, then the slam damage will be boosted.
- See also the clarifications on being slammed
Rules Clarification : Knockdown (Edit)
- Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
Rules Clarification : Dragoon (Edit)
- Dragoons become dismounted instead of becoming disabled, so you can't trigger anything that works on disabled (such as Tough) when you kill their horse.
Rules Clarification: : Cavalry (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| Mount Weapon
- Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
- Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
- Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
- Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
- If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
- Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
- Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
- You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Movement
- You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
- The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
- Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
- If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
- As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
- On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.
Impact Attacks - The attack(s)
- You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
- If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
- If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Other
- You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.
- If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
- Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
- Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
- Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
- Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
- Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
- Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
- Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
- Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
- Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bull Rush (Edit)
- You cannot slam your own models.
- You cannot make impact attacks if you declare a slam.
- If you have a unit with some models charging/running and some slamming, then what you do is:
- Choose a model. Declare whether it's charging, running, or slamming.
- If slamming, make the slam movement, slam attack, Follow Up movement, and your free melee attack before choosing the next model.
You have to do everything before starting the next model because a slam combines your movement and action for that model.
- If charging, make the charge movement and impact attacks normally.
- Then do the rest of the models, then do charge attacks normally.
- See also the general clarifications on slams.
Rules Clarification : Line Breaker - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Elite Cadre (Edit)
- Elite Cadre bonuses persist even after the model dies.
- Elite Cadre bonuses can apply to teammates in multiplayer games.
Rules Clarification : Follow Up (Edit)
- If the target is killed by the slam damage, Follow Up cannot trigger because there is no model to move toward left on the table. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you slam your target through smaller-based models, then you can only advance as far as those models - you can't walk through them.
- Refer also to the clarifications about Slamming.
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)