Holy Zealots

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

This server will go offline in September 2018. Please migrate to our new server, Warmachine University
For more info on why we're moving to a new server, check out the Brief History section on the new main page, and/or listen to episode 45 of the LOS podcast
If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot.
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.


Holy Zealots
Protectorate Unit

In years when the Protectorate pretended not to possess a standing army, no able-bodied Menite would refuse a call to arms, and the faithful continue to join the crusade even now that the need for secrecy has passed. Armed with their unshakable belief and devastating firebombs, these holy zealots are spurred to combat by a battle priest that girds them with prayers to the Lawgiver.

Monolith Bearer - Command Attachment

When the call to battle sounds, those who are most devout carry into battle a massive stone menofix as a signal to the unbeliever of the power of their deity. Only the purity of their devotion gives them the strength to lift these mighty symbols, and it is this demonstration of the power of faith that inspires their fellow devotees to more extreme expressions of their faith.

Basic Info[edit]

Holy Zealots
Holy Zealots
SPD 6
MAT 5
RAT 5
DEF 12
ARM 12
CMD 6
Unit Size 6 / 10
+1 for CA
Cost 7 / 12
+3 for CA
1.2 each (no CA)
1.4 each (with CA)
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Leader & Grunts
    • Fire Bomb - 6" range, 3" AOE, POW 12 gun.
      • Damage Type: Fire - This weapon does fire damage.
      • Critical Continuous Fire - A model critically hit by this attack is set on fire. A model on fire suffers a POW 12 fire damage roll each turn until the fire expires.
    • Mace - 0.5" reach, P+S 7 melee weapon.
  • Monolith Bearer
    • Mace - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon. It's the same mace, he's just stronger.

Abilities[edit]

  • Leader & Grunts
    • Prayers - Choose a bonus from the following options each turn. All members of the unit gain the effects:
      • Fervor - The unit gains +2 to damage rolls during their activation.
      • Path of Flames - While in formation, models gain Fire Immunity.
      • Warding - For one round, models in formation can't be targeted by enemy spells.
  • Monolith Bearer
    • He has +2 CMD and 5 hitpoints
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Greater Destiny (Minifeat) - Once per game, models in this unit that were destroyed during the enemy's previous turn get returned to play.
    • Holy Monolith - If a Zealot in the unit is destroyed by an enemy attack, afterwards the whole unit gains +4 ARM for one turn. Doesn't affect Zealots that're out of formation.
    • Sacrificial Pawn [Holy Zealots] - When this model is directly hit by an enemy ranged attack, you can have one friendly, non-incorporeal Holy Zealots model within 3" of it hit instead. That model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects.

Recent Changes[edit]

2017.11 Xmas CID

The Zealots gained a point of RAT and the cost was reduced from 13/8 to 12/7


Thoughts on the Holy Zealots[edit]

Command Attachment

Holy Zealots in a Nutshell[edit]

Zealots are cheap bomb throwing cannon fodder for jamming the enemy and setting them on fire. Cheap, and with the Monolith Bearer they return from the dead.

Thoughts on adding the CA[edit]

The Monolith Bearer costs slightly more than two zealots - if you can return two from Greater Destiny it's definitely worth it for that and the Holy Monolith ability. And on average you should be able to. Just keep it safe.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Testament of Menoth & Sanctifier - Greater Destiny? Harvest souls twice!
  • Vice Scrutator Vindictus - Death Toll & Call to Sacrifice: An excellent infantry brick caster. Can tank wounds for him and any kills Vindictus makes replenishes their numbers. Penitence, True Path and his feat are excellent for them as well.
  • Malekus, The Burning Truth - Malekus likes anything that does fire damage for his feat turn, path of flames means you can jam with zealots and then lob fiery death into the scrum without bothering them at all. Fire bombs rolling 3d6 damage, and crit fires that can't go out, both make this unit potentially really strong with Malekus.
  • Flameguard Cleansers - Path of flames, run zealots into position, aim sprays at zealots to get optimal template coverage.
  • Hand of Judgement - An additional +2 to Fire damage rolls within 5" of the big guy means that they can hit above their weight class and any crit fire that doesn't go out is going to hurt. They can also crit fire to give the big guy free charges. As a plus, the latter two of the three Feora's help these guys or they help her in some way.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

Low DEF, vulnerable to blast damage (especially before the Monolith has triggered), not terribly hard hitting, and not that accurate. Zealots are cheap models with a ranged attack and you get what you pay for.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Don't worry about missing with the fire bombs - the bombs are going to land somewhere


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Protectorate models[edit]

MenothLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Amon - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Harbinger - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Durant2 - Thyra - Vindictus
P
R
O
T
E
C
T
O
R
A
T
E
Warcaster attachments Hierophant (Protectorate) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Bastion Seneschal (Marshal) - Durant1 (BGC) - Reclaimer Gatekeeper (Marshal)
Light warjacks Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant


Blessing of Vengeance

Heavy warjacks Castigator - Crusader - Guardian - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Templar - Vanquisher

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Hand of Judgment - Scourge of Heresy

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard

Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer: Attendant Priest

Solos Allegiant - Champion of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hierophant (Attached) - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Gravus - Vilmon - Durant1 - Nicia - Pyrrhus - Covenant

Battle Engines Vessel of Judgment
 
Theme Forces
The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple
Merc menoth.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Ossrum - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game

P
R
O
C
T
O
R
A
T
E
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Rutger Shaw
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Protectorate army depends entirely on which mercenary 'caster is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Horgenhold Artillery - Horgenhold Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Thorn Gun Mages
Captain Sam & the Devildogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Blythe & Bull - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt
Solos Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Grogspar - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Bailoch - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn
Battle Engines None
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau


Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Fire      (Edit)

  • Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
    • You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
  • A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helios's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Prayers      (Edit)

  • All members in the unit gain the bonus, not just the model that uses the Prayer. (Infernal Confirmation)
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)      
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Fervor - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Path of Flames - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warding      (Edit)

  • Models can still be affected by spells that target someone else, such as AOEs and sprays.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Greater Destiny      (Edit)

Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)      
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Holy Monolith - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • Sacrificial Pawn & Grim Salvation are optional, but Sucker! is not
  • Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, chain attacks.
    • Spells are not basic attacks, because they are not "made with a weapon". (Infernal Ruling)
    • CRA and CMA are basic attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If a Special Attack generates an additional attack (such as Multi-Fire), the second attack will be basic and as such can have Grim Salvation used vs it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
  • None of them work vs magic attacks (spells). All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
  • The model the attack is transferred to is always hit, even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed (such as Stealth).
    Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than when the attack is moved. (Infernal Ruling)

From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable

  • Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model.
  • The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
  • Sprays and AOEs
    • A model hit by a spray attack can use Sacrificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The placement of the template does not change.
      • Note that this may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
    • A model directly hit by a AOE may use Sacificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The AOE template is moved (because Sac Pawn is resolved at Step 6 of the Attack Sequence in Apdx A, but AOE placement occurs at Step 7).
      • Depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are, the first guy might get clipped by the AOE anyway.
      • A model indirectly hit by an AOE cannot use Sac Pawn.
  • Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
    • If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
    • Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
  • Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn
    • If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
    • This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here