Hemera

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Info icon.png

Information
Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.

Ambox warning orange.png

Important
The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.


Hemera

Retribution Shyeel Character Heavy Warjack

Designed for Issyria’s exclusive use and fitted with experimental technology that includes a cutting-edge arc node, Hemera magnifies the warcaster’s arcane abilities. The myrmidon wades into the thick of combat to take Issyria’s place, allowing her to guide the flow of combat more effectively without putting herself in harm’s way.

Basic Info[edit]

Hemera
Hemera.jpg
SPD 6
STR 10
MAT 6
RAT 6
DEF 12
ARM 18
HP 22 + 10
Cost 16
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Celestial Gate - 12" range, 4" AOE, POW 14 gun
  • Blade First - 1" reach, P+S 15 melee weapon.

Abilities[edit]

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
  • Arc Node - This model can channel spells cast by its controlling Warcaster.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Force Fields - this warjack has an extra damage track that takes damage first.
  • Bond [Issyria] - If this model begins the game in Issyria's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Issyria and in their CTRL range, Issyria can upkeep one spell without spending focus
  • Empowered Arc Node - Once per turn, when its controller channel through Hemera, reduce the COST of the spell by 1.
  • Field Dependent - If this model's Generator is crippled, it loses Mark Target ability & Celestial Gate weapon.
  • Mark Target - While this model is in formation, other friendly Faction models gain +2 to ranged attack rolls if they target an enemy within 5" of this model and in its LOS.
  • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.


Thoughts on Hemera[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Release
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.

Thoughts on Hemera[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Release
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.

Hemera in a nutshell[edit]

Hemera is a ranged support warjack, who buffs ranged attacks for the rest of the army, and can increase the FOCUS efficiency of Issyria. With its Empowered nifty arc node, and bond, Issyria gets a net of 2 FOCUS per turn, which can be spent elsewhere. Its gun's critical effect is nice when it triggers, but due to its average RAT it isn't something to base a strategy on. In close combat it is a little pillow fisted but like all Retribution jacks can be buffed up to S+P 17 by an Arcanist.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Since it is a character jack, and Forges of War doesn't allow character jacks without being bonded, this jacks should be considered with Issyria. Empowered Arc node is always useful to apply Blinding Light from a distance, while upkeeping Admonition or Inviolable Resolve on a key target for free. Since under her feat Hemera gets True Sight too, you can channel spells upon stealthy targets beyond the usual 5" threshold.
  • Mark Target is a general RAT fixer - allowing you to catch elusive targets, and shore up your chances with Critical Effects - read, the Critical Consume on the Hyperion's Starburst Cannon.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Low combat stats overall

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • For new players Mark Target and Arc Node tend to have a bit of skornergyc relationship. You must get close to get the +2 bonus to hit, but also must remain unengaged to be able to channel. Be careful with the positioning.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • Originally released 2017.04

Theme Forces[edit]

When taken in Issyria's battlegroup, it can be in the following Themes. If taken in anyone else's battlegroup, it can't be taken in a Theme Force.

Other Retribution models[edit]

RetLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Rahn1 - Vyros1 - Vyros2 - Elara2 - Garryth1 - Goreshade4 - Issyria1 - Kaelyssa1 - Ossyan1 - Ravyn1 - Thyron1 - Helynna1
R
E
T
R
I
B
U
T
I
O
N
Warcaster attachments Fane Knight Guardian (Retribution) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Retribution) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Elara1 (BGC) - Sentinel Scyir - Artificer
Light warjacks Aspis - Chimera - Gorgon - Griffon - Harpy - Siren
Moros
Heavy warjacks Banshee - Daemon - Hydra - Manticore - Phoenix - Sphinx
Discordia - Hypnos - Hemera - Imperatus
Colossal Hyperion - Helios
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Destors - Invictors - Sentinels - Heavy Rifle Team - Swordsmen - Arcanists - Battle Mages - Electromancers - Halberdiers - Riflemen - Infiltrators - Strike Force - Ryssovass Defenders - Stormfall Archers
Nyss Hunters - Spears of Scyrah
Special: Eiryss3 (CA) - Soulless Escort (WA)
Solos Arcanist Mechanik - Destor Thane - Sentinel Scyir - Ghost Sniper - Artificer - Magister - Houseguard Thane - Lys Healer - Assassin - Priest of Nyssor - Soulless Voidtracer

Aelyth Vyr - Eirrys1 - Eiryss2 - Elara1 - Issyen - Narn - Nayl - Lanyssa

Battle Engines Arcantrik Force Generator
 
Theme Forces
Defenders of Ios - Forges of War - Legions of Dawn - Shadows of the Retribution
RetMercLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Retribution Mercenary Models/Units
Units Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus Wesselbaum & Edrea Lloryrr
Solos Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan


Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
  • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
  • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
  • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dispel      (Edit)

  • Because Dispel causes spells to expire on a hit, it will prevent spells that trigger on a hit from triggering at all.
    • For instance, the defensive animus Spiny Growth causes any model that hits the target to suffer d3 damage. This damage will not occur if it's hit by a Dispel weapon.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node     (Edit)

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.
  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the DEF bonus.
  • Since Stealth has both a LOS component (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed); this can lead to some non-intuitive interactions between channeling and stealth when either the caster or channeler is able to ignore stealth.
    We've put a bunch of examples on the Category:Channeler page.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Force Fields      (Edit)

  • You cannot spend focus to heal Force Fields mid-move, such as taking damage from a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot repair force fields, but you can spend focus to remove damage. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Grievous Wounds prevents removing damage from force fields. (Locked Thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Empowered Arc Node      (Edit)

  • When combined with other abilities that change COST (such as Lamentation) use normal maths: double/halve first, then add/subtract. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Field Dependent - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Mark Target      (Edit)

  • The model with the Mark Target rule needs to have the target in LOS for anyone to benefit. And within 5", of course. (Infernal Ruling)
  • And the model actually making the attack also has to have the target in LOS in order to, you know, target it.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)