Mercenary, & Cygnar Partisan, Morrowan Character Solo
Trained to hunt witches and worse, the wizards of the Order of Illumination, known simply as the Illuminated, serve to protect western Immoren from the threat of witchcraft. As one might expect of any group with such an aggressive mission, the Order of Illumination counts numerous powers among its enemies - chiefly the insidious Infernals. Their consummate foe, Illuminated One Harlan Phineas Versh prepares to banish their darkness with a blast of his blessed quad-iron.
- Malleus - 10" range, ROF d3+1, POW 10 gun
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
- Blessed - Attacks with this weapon ignore spells & animi that add to the target's DEF or ARM.
- Purgation - Add an additional die to attack and damage rolls if the target has an enemy upkeep spell or animus on them.
- Sword - 1" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon.
- Damage Type: Magical - As above
- Blessed - As above
- Purgation - As above
- Animosity [Thamarite or Undead] - This model can't be included in the same army as a Thamarite or Undead model.
- Mercenary - will work as a Cygnar Partisan and Khador mercenary
- Partisan [Cygnar] - When included in a Cygnar army, this model/unit is a Cygnar model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.
- Sacred Ward - This model can't be targeted by enemy spells.
- Witch Hunter - When an enemy model declares it is casting a spell while within 10" of this model, this model may immediately make a basic attack vs that caster. If caster is killed, spell does not take effect.
Thoughts on Harlan Versh, Illuminated One
Harlan Versh, Illuminated One in a nutshell
Harlan punishes units and low ARM models with upkeeps on them thanks to his Purgation gun. His Stealth ability keeps him alive to get close enough to unload. Most people only take him with Constance Blaize because he's the only ranged model that can use her Radiance of Morrow spell, and he gives Gallant a free focus when nearby.
Combos and Synergies
Drawbacks & Downsides
- His ideal target is low-to-mid ARM targets that have an upkeep spell on them. He's not that good if your opponent doesn't provide you with that target.
- ROF d3+1 can let you down.
- Range 10 exposes him to counterattacks after he shoots
Tricks & Tips
- Barring pot shots at warcaster/warlocks and magic solos, he should be spending most of his time multi-firing his way through buffed front-line units and assisting in the occasional assassination run (should your opponent be foolish enough to put an upkeep on their 'caster and leave Versh alive).
- Staying un-engaged and firing Malleus is typically a better choice than charging, unless you really, really want to roll four damage dice on the charge.
- He works best when holding back and wreaking havoc on incoming infantry while remaining well-protected from counterattacks.
- Most Trollblood buffs (notably the Krielstone's Protective Aura) are not spells, so Harlan gets no bonuses against them.
- He doesn't ignore Stealth, even if the target received Stealth from a spell or ability granted by a spell (Occultation and Prowl, for example).
- Blessed doesn't ignore effects of a spell that indirectly grant a DEF/ARM bonus. For instance, a spell that grants concealment - Harlan wouldn't ignore the +2DEF because they're getting it from the concealment, not the spell.
- Gatorman Posse, Choir of Menoth, and Fell Caller Heros using their various prayers and songs are not casting spells, so they will not trigger Witch Hunter.
Released in Forces of Warmachine: Mercenaries (2010)
Other Faction models
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath (Edit)
- Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
- You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
- If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
- For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
- For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
- The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
- This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
Rules Clarification : Purgation (Edit)
- Purgation does not ignore any buffs the upkeep spell is giving your target (you'll want something like Blessed to do that).
- Purgation applies if you're attacking friendly models with an enemy upkeep on them.
- If the upkeep expires after the model is hit (for instance being hit by Eiryss2's Spell Breaker), then Purgation won't be applied to the damage roll. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Animosity (Edit)
- When using the Specialist or ADR rules in a Steamroller format, your entire list and the specialists must be a single legally fieldable force (even though you're not fielding it all at once).
Rules Clarification : Partisan (Edit)
- This model is normally "friendly faction" to other mercenary models. However, when taken in the Partisan faction it is "friendly faction" to that faction and not to any other mercenaries that are in that force.
- For instance, if you take Gallant in a Mercenary force he is "friendly faction" to, say, Reinholdt. But if you take them both in a Cygnar force then Gallant counts as a Cygnar model and is no longer "friendly faction" to Reinholdt.
- Partisan Warcasters can be taken in faction theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.
- When taken in a Mercenary army, Partisan units may not take attachments from their "parent" army (eg Nyss Hunters can only take a Retribution Soulless Escort when they're fielded in a Retribution army). (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward (Edit)
- Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.
Rules Clarification : Witch Hunter (Edit)
- Magic Abilities and Animi count as spells too.
- There is no limit to how many attacks a Witch Hunter can trigger. If your opponent keeps casting spells, you can keep attacking them.
- Witch Hunter triggers on step 1 of the spellcasting sequence. After the cost has been paid, or combat action, or whatever else triggers the model to cast a spell such as battle wizard or etc. (Infernal Ruling)