| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Mercenary Rhulic Battle Engine
A testament to the engineering brilliance of the Rhulfolk, the Hammerfall Siege Crawler paves the way for assaults on hard targets. Firing its thunderous siegebreaker cannons to crack open fortress walls and pulverize enemy armor, the Siege Crawler is a mobile artillery battery worthy of the reputation of Hammerfall’s renowned mercenaries.
- Bash - 0.5" reach, P+S 15 melee attack.
- Quad Cannon - 10" range, ROF d3+1, POW 12 gun.
- Siegebreaker (x2) - 12" range, 4" AOE, POW 15 guns.
- Critical Stagger - On a critical hit, the model hit loses its inital attacks and cannot make power attacks or special attacks for one round.
- Siege Weapon - This weapon gains an additional die to its damage rolls against huge-based models.
- Mercenary - Will work for Cygnar and Khador
- Battle Engine - All Battle Engines share the same special rules. Most notably being huge, having two fields of fire, and being immune to knock down, stationary, etc.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Bulldoze - When this model is B2B with an enemy model during its Normal Movement, it can push that model up to 2" directly away from it. A model can be pushed by Bulldoze only once per activation. Bulldoze has no effect when this model makes a trample power attack.
- Dual Attack - This model can make both melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
- Girded - This model and friendly models B2B with it are immune to blast damage.
- Periscope - Once per activation at any time, you can choose an enemy model in the Crawler's LOS. That model loses Stealth for one round.
- Reinforcements [Rhulic] - During your Maintenance Phase, return d3 small-based friendly destroyed Rhulic Grunts to play. Models return with 1 unmarked damage box, completely within this model's CMD range, and completely within 3" of another model in their unit. They must forfeit their Combat Action this turn.
2017.04 Battle Engine CID
- Cost decreased by one point, gained 16 hitpoints.
- Swapped Roadblock for Girded.
- Gained Periscope and Reinforcements
Thoughts on Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Hammerfall Siege Crawler in a nutshell
The Siege Crawler has it all - tough frame, great combat capabilities, and excellent utility. It has the highest box count of any non-colossal in the game and more special rules than you can shake a stick at. It provides recursion, stealth removal, blast protection, bulldoze and the occasional stagger, which is a game-winning ability. It's a fine piece against both infantry and huge bases.
The Crawler creates a frustrating proposition for your opponent. By itself, it is not very threatening such that it should be a top-priority target, yet it takes a lot of effort to bring down and if your opponent chooses to ignore it, it can create a large number of new Forge Guard over the course of a game, and every turn it has the chance to stagger something if left alone.
As with all things Rhulic, the Crawler shines brightest with General Ossrum, whose feat and Fire for Effect spell make it more dangerous and more durable. It is a mainstay piece in every Hammer Strike list.
Combos & Synergies
- General Ossrum can give it Fire For Effect. Stagger is one of the nastiest effects ranged attack can have in the game, and on the Siege Breakers it can be death sentence for other Battle Engines and wounded Gargossals.
- Eilish Garrity can use Puppet Master to up the odds of a Stagger with Fire For Effect to over 70%.
- Durgen Madhammer makes it make things go boom on feat turn.
- Ashlynn D'Elyse can go crit-fishing with her feat for the Staggers
- Rhulic infantry units with Murdoch or Valachev are both faction models AND Rhulic models, eligible for friendly faction support spells and Reinforcements. Note, that the ranking officers cannot be brought back with Reinforcement, since they're not Rhulic models.
Drawbacks and Downsides
- In a Khador/Cygnar army it will not benefit from the friendly faction support spells.
- It has no in-built boosting mechanic.
- It has standard Battle Engine vulnerabilities to Blind and Shadow Bind.
- Ossrum is the only caster who makes it great. It's merely good with anyone else.
- It doesn't count towards the free points quota in Irregulars and will cost you a free solo to bring it.
Tricks and Tips
- Take one with a model capable of sprays (like a Grundback Blaster) or bursts (like Herne & Jonne or the HAC). Use it's bulldoze ability to maximize the amount of models you can put under a template.
- When taken with General Ossrum, Siege Crawlers become amazing delivery devices for Forge Guard, letting them take cover behind it (protecting them from blasts or completely blocking LOS), then charging right through the Crawler when they get close enough.
- Beside High Shields and Forge Guards, the grunts of the Artillery Corps, as well as the TAC members are eligible for revival.
- Managed to land a Stagger effect on a warjack? Have something to cause Disruption? Use it on the unfortunate target, so it can't buy extra attacks either.
- Staggered models may not make ranged attacks unless their weapon has Reload.
How can I include this model?
Mercenaries are a bit more complicated than regular faction models, they can be taken in one of three different ways.
- This model can be included in a pure Mercenary army.
- This model can be included in the following Faction armies:
- This model can be included in the following theme forces:
Other Mercenary models
Rules Clarification : Siege Weapon - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Stagger (Edit)
- Stagger prevents "free" Power Attacks, such as Smash & Grab.
- If you manage to free strike a model that is in the middle Slam move, and cause a Stagger, it will not prevent the slam that is already in progress.
- Stagger does work vs Colossals/Gargantuans.
Rules Clarification : Battle Engine (Edit)
- Do not confuse the Colossals & Gargantuans rules with the Battle Engine rules just because they're both huge based.
- Of all the things that can't happen to a Colossal/Gargantuan (such as gaining Stealth, being placed, etc), about 90% of them can happen to a Battle Engine.
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Bulldoze (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
People think Bulldoze works like a bowling ball hitting tenpins.
But this is wrong because the models haven't been moved DIRECTLY away.
Whereas if you move models DIRECTLY away, you bulldoze the first guy okay, but then the next one's path is blocked (shown in red), and you get stuck.
Bulldoze - General
- Models are pushed directly away from you at the point of contact. Some players do this incorrectly - refer to the section on moving bulldoze models, below.
- You cannot cast spells or use any other "any time" abilities when you 'stop' to resolve the Bulldoze movement. It's just a pause, not a stop.
- If you attempt to Bulldoze a model out of your charge lane, and it does not move far enough, it will block you and potentially cause a failed charge.
- The size of the Bulldozer vs the Bulldozed does not matter. A small model pushes a large model just fine. (Just don't expect to move a Colossal etc.)
- Bulldoze only works during your Normal Movement. This includes runs, charges, and slams; not just full advances.
- You can't make free strikes against models you bulldoze (because for them it is involuntary movement).
- You can use Bulldoze to get the charge bonus against models between 1 and 3" away. Simply move into B2B, bulldoze them 2" to make some more room, then you can move 2" further forward to get to the "moved at least 3 inches" requirement.
- Similarly for Slams vs models within 1-3".
- Enemy models with 2" melee range will still engage you after being bulldozed. Because they will be exactly 2" away and thus still within 2".
- An enemy model can only be pushed once by the Bulldozer, but if you have multiple Bulldozer models then you could push the same enemy multiple times.
Moving Bulldozers and Bulldozed models
A lot of people think they can bulldoze straight through the enemy lines, like shown on Image A (below). But what actually happens is more like Image B. This is due to 3 important factors you need to apply:
- Bulldoze pushes models directly away from your base. Not at an angle. Directly. Away.
- If there is a model behind the bulldozed model, the model will STOP.
- A model can be pushed only one time via Bulldoze.
| Push (Edit)
- Pushed models do not change their facing.
- Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
- Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
- You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
- Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
- If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
- However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Dual Attack (Edit)
- Dual Attack only grants either:
- Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
- Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
- A model with Dual Attack can make the attacks in any order.
If they charge, they can do either melee or ranged first. If you charge and do ranged first, it doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
- If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
- You can target a model that is not in melee with you with a ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
- This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
Rules Clarification : Girded - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Periscope - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Reinforcements (Edit)
- Return to Play - Other Units (Edit)
- If you can return multiple troopers at once, they don't all have to be the same unit. Spread the love around.
- Troopers must return to their original unit. Even if you have two units of the same type (such as two units of Convergence Eradicators) then you can't have 4 die from unit [A] and return them all to unit [B].
- If your rule is something like "return d3 models to units within CMD range" (Old Witch3) then it is d3 models total, not d3 models to each and every unit.
- If your rule is something like "spend 1 soul to return 1 Grunt" (Enigma Foundry) then it doesn't matter where the souls came from originally. Think of them like currency, in this case.
- Troopers are placed sequentially, and you can leap frog the "within 3" of another model in its unit" requirement.
- You can Return models even after a unit is reduced to just Attachments (Weapon or Command)
- If your Return ability lets you return a Leader or Officer model, then they will immediately become the unit commander and redefine the "in formation" bubble.
- If your Return ability only allows Grunts, then the Grunt will not be field promoted when he arrives.
This means that, in the unusual scenario where the Leader model has different wargear to the Grunts (such as Cygnar Stormguard), then that wargear is effectively 'lost'.