Hammerfall High Shield Gun Corps

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary Rhulic Unit

A crack gun corps from the Rhulic fortress of Hammerfall, this armored phalanx steadily marches forward unleashing volleys of lethal shot. Working in unison, the Hammerfall High Shields form an impenetrable shell that brushes aside enemy fire as they bring their double-barreled war rifles to bear. The deadly rifles jut out along the notched wall of shielded dwarves to blast away at their unfortunate targets.

Officer & Standard - Command Attachment

fluff blurb

Basic Info[edit]

Hammerfall High Shield Gun Corps
Hammerfall High Shield Gun Corps.jpeg
SPD 4
MAT 6
RAT 6
DEF 11
ARM 15
CMD 8
Unit Size 6/10
+2 CA
Cost 10/16
+5 CA
1.8 each
See also How to Read the statblock


Weapons[edit]

  • Everyone except the Standard Bearer
    • Carbine - 10" range, POW 10 gun
    • Axe - 0.5" range, P+S 9 melee weapon
  • Standard Bearer
    • Unarmed - This model has no melee weapons, which means a host of options are not available to it.

Abilities[edit]

  • Entire unit
    • Mercenary - will work as a Cygnar mercenary or Khador mercenary.
    • Combined Ranged Attack - This unit can combine their ranged attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
    • Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
    • Practiced Maneuvers - Each model in this unit can ignore other models in this unit when determining LOS and can advance through them if it has enough movement to move completely past them.
    • Shield Wall (Order) - Models in this unit get +4 ARM while B2B with another model in the unit, unless the attack originates in their rear arc. Lasts until the beginning of their next activation.
  • Officer only
    • The Officer has +1 MAT, RAT and 5 hitpoints
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Double Time (Order) - High Shields receiving this order must make a full advance during their Normal Movement. After all models have finished their Combat Actions, each can make another full advance.
    • Guns Blazing (Minifeat) - Once per game the High Shields gains an extra shot in their Combat Action.
  • Standard only
    • Standard Bearer - While the standard bearer is within 5" of the unit commander, the commander gains +2 CMD.
    • Take Up - If this model is killed you may instead remove a Grunt within 1". Remove any effects on this model, and apply any effects that were on the old grunt.


Thoughts on Hammerfall High Shield Gun Corps[edit]

Hammerfall High Shield Gun Corps in a nutshell[edit]

The Hammerfall High Shield Gun Corps are the dwarven ranged unit. Despite high ARM, they are considered one of the worst units in the game by almost everyone due to their high price, short range and low power.

Thoughts on the CA[edit]

Well you wouldn't take High Shields without the CA since he makes them moderately dangerous for one turn but that doesn't mean you're not throwing good points after bad.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • General Ossrum buffs all dwarves. Snipe and his feat will make them out-range any other infantry choice for a turn, and make them extremely high armour.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • They are slow
  • Like most shield walls, setting them on fire is a great way to get around their high ARM.
  • Fundamentally most of their roles are done better by other mercenaries that cost the same or less.
    • If you want a run and gun unit even in double time Croe's Cutthroats cost the same and move faster and are harder to kill by anything other than blast damage.
    • If you want cheap shooters Steelhead Riflemen are significantly cheaper, threat further, and hit harder.
    • If you want to survive incoming blast damage Idrian Skirmishers with the UA threaten to hit harder and can go to ground. And are cheaper.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Double time allows you to shoot then move behind cover or back out of charge range. It can be combined with aiming.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Mercenary
Khador (Edit) Cygnar (Edit)

Other Mercenary models[edit]

MercenariesLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Gastone2 - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs
Mercenary Warjacks (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rover
Gallant - Rocinante
Colossal Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
Marshals
Cannot take Colossals
Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
  M  
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Units Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Ogrun Assault Corps - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator
Character Units Alexia1 - Sam & The Devil Dogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea - Commodore Cannon - Devil's Shadow Mutineers
Solos Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber River Raider
Character Solos Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Brun & Lug - Colbie - Dahlia & Skarath - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eilish Garrity - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone1 - Gorman - Gudrun - Harlan Versh - Hutchuk - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Savio - Saxon - Sergeant Nick - Stannis - Taryn - Thor - Viktor - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
 
Theme Forces (Edit)
Hammer Strike - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater - The Talion Charter - Llaelese Resistance

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no melee weapons it does not have a melee range. This means it cannot:
    • Engage other models
    • Charge
    • Free Strike
    • Gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).

Rules Clarification : Combined Ranged Attack      (Edit)

  • CRA cannot target models in melee, except for huge-based models.
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as the target being behind cover) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.

Rules Clarification : Practiced Maneuvers - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Shield Wall      (Edit)

  • You don't need to have the entire unit in B2B to get the bonus. Even just two models in B2B will give it to each other. Which way they're facing doesn't matter, either.
  • You can still get Shield Wall while knocked down.
  • Shield Wall works against all damage except damage originating in your back arc. This means that if a damage roll doesn't have an origin point then by definition it can't originate in your back arc, and you'll get your bonus vs it.
  • If you start the game in Shield Wall, it will expire when you activate the unit. It doesn't let you run and be in Shield Wall on turn 1.
  • Since models move in straight lines, it impossible to keep two models B2B while advancing. Thus you cannot benefit from Shield Wall while moving through acid clouds etc.
  • Orders affect unit attachments, even if that attachment doesn't have the order on their card (such as a Soulless Escort benefiting from the Shield Wall order). (Infernal Ruling)


Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Double Time      (Edit)

  • Orders affect unit attachments, even if that attachment doesn't have the order on their card (such as a Soulless Escort benefiting from the Shield Wall order). (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Guns Blazing      (Edit)

Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    3. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    4. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • Units
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Standard Bearer      (Edit)

  • If the Officer dies, the Standard Bearer can give the CMD bonus to the Leader model.

Rules Clarification : Take Up - None yet. (Edit)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit BBB tagged abilities, Click here