Cygnar Arcane Tempest Solo
The journey to becoming a gun mage is difficult and long, and few are born with the gift and the unique connection to the firearm that lets them take even the first step. Of those who survive the trials of the Arcane Tempest and have the mettle required to take up the magelock, only a very few make captain, and fewer still earn the arcane rank of adept. Gun mages of this level are rare, and the army reserves them for the most crucial battles and demanding missions.
Weapons and Attacks
- Magelock Pistol - 10" range, POW 10 gun
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
- Arcane Savant - When you make an attack with this weapon you must choose two of the following types:
- Brutal Damage - On a direct hit, gain an additional die on this weapon's damage rolls against the target directly hit.
- Flare - Models hit by this weapon/attack lose Stealth and suffer -2 DEF for one turn.
- Shadow Fire - Targets hit do not block LOS for one turn.
- Snipe - This attack gains +4 RNG
- Sword - 0.5" reach, P+S 7 melee weapon
- Swift Hunter - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a basic ranged attack, immediately after the attack it can advance up to 2".
- Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapons even while in melee, but when it does so it can only target models it's in melee with. It can even make ranged attacks after charging.
- True Sight - This model ignores clouds for LOS, and ignores Stealth always.
Thoughts on Gun Mage Captain Adept
Comparison to Mk2
The Gun Mage Captain Adept went from Zero to Hero in Mk3. Although he lost Advance Deployment, he gained nearly every single rule you see above. Arcane Precision turned into True Sight.
While he still chooses Attack Types, the ability to apply two to a single shot turns him into a hugely useful toolbox solo that can support a wide range of Cygnar's Warcasters and models in general.
Gun Mage Captain Adept in a nutshell
He's a straight-forward combat solo, good for sniping out key opposing models or the occasional bit of support.
The big question is, what do you want to achieve?
- Hunting solos? Combine Brutal damage and Snipe. True Sight means even Stealth solos need to worry.
- Your opponent has a Warjack or Warbeast with Stealth? Apply a Flare then open up with all the other guns.
- Setting up an assassination? Combine Shadow Fire and Snipe (or any other Attack Type if Snipe is unnecessary) to render intervening models irrelevant.
- Improving your chances of a successful assassination? Combine either Snipe and Flare if you have been keeping him back or Flare and Brutal Damage to force your opponent to consider spending Focus or Fury.
Combos & Synergies
- Unsurprisingly for a Cygnar model with a gun, the Captain Adept doesn't mind a unit of Rangers near his target.
- He is a good target for Captain Allister Caine's Fire For Effect. Not only does this make his chances of hitting near certain, it means even Warjacks have something to worry about when combined with Brutal Damage for 4 dice on the damage roll. It can be worth upkeeping even on Caine's feat turn if the Captain Adept can get a shot onto the enemy Warcaster - a Flare and Brutal Damage shot can doom a Warcaster before Caine even activates.
- If you really want to apply the Flare to the enemy Warcaster/Warlock but they're hiding behind another model, you can still bring another source of Shadow Fire such as a 2nd Gun Mage Captain Adept, Taryn di la Rovissi or Ace (but only with Caine).
Drawbacks & Downsides
- His DEF is good, but not outstanding; while his ARM is basically a sheet of paper. If he gets hit, there is an excellent chance he will die.
Tricks & Tips
- The Captain Adept belongs on the flank to deal with flankers or draw enemies to cover him. And where there aren't many of your models.
- Already hard to hit, putting the Captain Adept in concealment or on high ground makes taking him out hard work - too hard for it to be worth the enemy bothering to take him out.
Other faction models
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant (Edit)
- If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.
Rules Clarification : Brutal Damage (Edit)
- Brutal Damage only applies to the model directly hit, so it never affects blast damage.
Rules Clarification : Flare - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Shadow Fire (Edit)
- Shadow Fire vs Roadblock (Edit)
- If you use Shadow Fire vs a Roadblock model then the Roadblock will still grant cover to nearby models; even though you can "see right through it".
- Because the rule for getting cover from an obstacle is simply: does a line pass between the attacker and target that goes over/through the obstacle? Is the target within 1" of the obstacle on that same line?
- In other words, whether the obstacle actually blocks LOS or not isn't relevant.
Rules Clarification : Snipe (Edit)
- Although Snipe the spell and Snipe the Attack Type are two different "sources", they are multiple instances of the same effect. As such, they're not cumulative. Refer to the "Rule Priority" section of the core rulebook.
- Snipe does not affect the range of weapons that use the Spray template, or one's which have RNG = CTRL.
Rules Clarification : Swift Hunter (Edit)
- Swift Hunter must be resolved before other abilities that involve attacks (such as Quick Work). Refer Step 12 vs 14 in the Attack Sequence appendix.
- Swift Hunter does not trigger off special ranged attacks, only basic ones.
Rules Clarification: : Gunfighter (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
- You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
- A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).
- 1. Outside of melee
- If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
- 2. In melee, but didn't charge
- If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
- This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
- If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
- 3. Charged into melee
- If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
- If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
- 4. Other targeting notes
- Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
- If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
- You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
- Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
- How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
- they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
- they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
- Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).
Missing the Attack Roll
- If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
- Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
- but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).
- Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
- Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).
Gunfighter + an AOE weapon
- If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
- If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.
Gunfighter + a spray weapon
- Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
- If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.
Units of Gunfighters
- If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
- Redirected attack:
- If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
- If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
- If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.
- Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
- If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
- These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
- Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
- Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
- Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
- Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
- Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
- Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
- Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : True Sight (Edit)
- You only ignore clouds for LOS, so models can still get concealment, Prowl, etc from them.
- A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
- This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.