| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Khador Heavy Warjack
The mighty Grolar shares the Kodiak’s boiler and chassis but uses that strength and speed to deliver crushing blows with its piston hammer before finishing with a withering hail of auto cannon shells.
Weapons and Attacks
- Auto Cannon - 8" range, ROF d3+2, POW 12 gun
- Open Fist - 1" reach, P+S 15 melee weapon.
- Piston Hammer - 1" reach, P+S 18 melee weapon.
- Ram - On hit, the target is knocked down and may be pushed 1" away. If it is pushed, this model may move the same direction 1".
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Dual Attack - This model can make both melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
Thoughts on Grolar
Grolar in a nutshell
A combined-arms piece, the Grolar is your only jack beside the Kodiak (and Torch on the charge) with Pathfinder. It can shoot, even while in melee, thanks to the awesome Dual Attack rule. It can brawl, and set up targets for follow-up attacks, as well as assassinations with its hammer. It has an open fist to throw away targets, that cannot be knocked down. It is truly a jack of all trades, and quite often this versatility can be its downfall, as people tend to take a more specialized jack instead - which are almost always cheaper.
Combos & Synergies
- Butcher1 and Sorscha2 - Their feat buffs both melee and ranged attacks.
- Harkevich - Broadside doubles its ranged threat, while his feat essentially grants Assault.
- Irusk1 - He needs a few quality jacks into his arsenal, mainly for Superiority targets. The Grolar can be an ideal choice. Could be great with Strakhov1 too due to Superiority and his feat, but it competes for the same spot as Torch, and for the very same point cost.
- Karchev - He helps get the best angles for its hammer and throws with Road to War. The auto-cannon can also set up multiple moves for other jacks in the battlegroup if you're lucky or you aim. Besides that Karchev loves jacks with pathfinder for Battle Charged, and with multiple melee attacks for his feat, both of which this guy brings to the table.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- It's expensive like all combined-arms warjacks. On the other hand, most combined arms warjacks don't get a Knockdown melee weapon, Pathfinder and Dual Attack. The only real downside to the cost is that the auto-cannon isn't a super powerful weapon.
- It can become very focus inefficient if you overly rely on the auto-cannon.
- Can be difficult for beginners to use to its full efficiency, but its also nearly impossible to end up in a situation where you have excess focus left at the end of the turn.
Tricks & Tips
- Charge with Hammer. Knockdown, then autohit (anything but double-1s) with the Autocannon at point-blank range.
- Remember you have a variable rate of fire, so don't plan around having the max of 5 shots, plan around having the minimum 3.
- Unlike Gunfighters, this model is free to shoot targets outside its melee range. Especially helpful if you already killed all targets in melee range with your initial melee attacks.
- You can use your charge to extend your effective shooting range by over a foot depending on how many hammer swings and speed buffs you give your Grolar.
- The rules were released in the Warmachine: Vengeance expansion book (2014)
- Name comes from the polar bear - grizzly bear hibrid.
Themes for generic warjacks (Edit)
Other faction models
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification : Ram (Edit)
| Push (Edit)
- Pushed models do not change their facing.
- Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
- Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
- You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
- Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
- If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
- However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
- Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Dual Attack (Edit)
- Dual Attack only grants either:
- Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
- Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
- A model with Dual Attack can make the attacks in any order.
If they charge, they can do either melee or ranged first. If you charge and do ranged first, it doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
- If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
- You can target a model that is not in melee with you with a ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
- This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.