Greylord Outriders

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Info icon.png

Information
Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.

Ambox warning orange.png

Important
The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.


Greylord Outriders

Khador Greylord Cavalry Unit

Some Greylord neophytes with the proper aptitude are chosen to serve as outriders and act as messengers and scouts for the order. When called to action, these young mounted Greylords race across the battlefield to unleash devastating spells on Khador’s foes. They wield the icy winds of the north to protect the Motherland’s forces and cripple any who oppose her. Wherever they ride, winter follows.

Basic Info[edit]

Greylord Outriders
Greylord Outriders.gif
SPD 9
MAT 5
M.A. 6
DEF 13
ARM 15
CMD 9
HP 5
Unit Size 3 / 5
Cost 12 / 20
4 points each
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Rune Axe - 1" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon.
  • Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 10 mount attack.

Abilities[edit]

  • Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
  • Immunity: Cold - This model does not suffer cold damage.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Magic Ability [ 6 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
  • Snow-Wreathed - This model has concealment.
  • Reposition [5"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 5", then its activation ends.


Thoughts on Greylord Outriders[edit]

Greylord Outriders in a nutshell[edit]

Outriders are your fast, spell-slinging light cavalries. With near-unparalleled mobility in the faction they can provide crucial magic support for the rest of your army, and flank the unwary enemy.

Magic Attack 6 would be low on standard spells, but since Frostbite uses spray to attack, it can ignore a whole lot of defensive measures (Stealth, Concealment, Cover, Target in Melee, and intervening models).

Winters's Wind is your less often used trick. Since you have few models with Cold Immunity, who can keep up with you, this spell will mostly target your unit members. It is mainly used for causing order-of-activation issues to the enemy - especially for ranged units.

Since they permanently gain cover, they can stride through the battlefield with less care to the terrain patches, compared to other factions' light cavalries. Make no mistake though; they are still as fragile as other lights. Boosted blast damages can hurt, while boosted POW10 attacks will likely bring them down. They cost as much as heavy cavalry, so they are everything but cannon fodders.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Outriders can work well on their own - and considering their mobility, plus the lack of arc nodes in the faction, they will quite often need to do so.

  • Zerkova2 - If you want eZerkova, you want a group of Outriders for sure. Swift, mobile arc nodes? Got you covered. Boosted Spray attacks? Occult Whispers is the key. Cutting a swathe through the ranks of light/medium infantries? Use her feat to get 2 sprays in a turn, combined with Reposition.
  • Vlad3 - Beside his feat and Hand of Fate, Dash worth consideration too. With it, you can cast Frostbite up to 18" away, or simply gallop 10" forward, cast Winter's Wind upon you, then Reposition into the back of the enemy, with no free strikes to worry about.
  • The Wolves of Winter theme gives Apparition to one of your units. If you don't want to put it on your Doom Reavers, Outriders can get an insane threat distance right from the first turn. The free upkeeps can also ease activation issues, and allows more aggressive deployment.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Vulnerable to anti-magic tricks
  • Expensive, costs as much as the Uhlans, with way less resilience and close-combat potential.
  • Winter's Wind can be negated by Sprint or Reposition, and won't trigger on out-of-activation movements, like Admonition or Countercharge.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • They have magic axes. Don't forget that when incorporeal models try to pass your lines.
  • You can target your own unit members with Frostbite, if you can't target the enemy, and don't have to worry about the damage.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in the Warmachine: Vengeance expansion (2014)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other faction models[edit]

KhadorLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Sorscha3 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2
K
H
A
D
O
R
Warcaster attachments War Dog (Khador) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary) - Reinholdt (Mercenary) - Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Malakov1 (BGC) - Man-o-War Kovnik (Marshal) - Greylord Forge Seer (Marshal)
Heavy warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood - MOW Atanas & Standard
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - MOW Strike Tanker - MOW Suppresion Tanker - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Sofya - Yuri
Battle Engines Gun Carriage - Man-o-War Siege Chariot - Man-o-War Assault Chariot
 
Theme Forces
Armored Korps - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter
Merc khador.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game

K
H
A
D
O
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Brun Cragback & Lug - Rorsh & Brine
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Khador army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps
Alexia1 - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Bradigan - Eilish Garrity - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gorman - Gudran - Harlan - Hutchuk - Bailoch - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Thor
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr


Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.

Rules Clarification : Cold - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Frostbite - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Winter's Wind      (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Freezer      (Edit)

  • Despite the odd wording, stuff that happens "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint and Reposition) still occurs during the activation. This means it happens before Freezer triggers.
    • So someone can advance towards you, attack you, then Sprint away and not be affected by Freezer.
  • Freezer won't affect models that move out-of-activation (such as Countercharge and Vengeance).
  • Remember, stationary only prevents what it says it does. Refer the recap on stationary for what models can/can't do.

Rules Clarification : Snow-Wreathed - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)