Retribution Shyeel Light Warjack
The Gorgon exists to dictate the flow of battle by depriving the enemy of mobility. Its integral force cannon unleashes blasts of energy capable of forestalling an enemy’s forward momentum. Its more powerful fields require close proximity, and the Gorgon will rush forward to seize even larger and more powerful ’jacks or myrmidons to pin them in place. While its force-locked prey struggles to extract itself, the Gorgon deals punishing blows with its arm-mounted glaives.
- Glaive (x2) - 0.5" reach, P+S 12 melee weapons
- Combo Strike (★ Attack) - Make a melee attack. Instead of making a normal damage roll, the POW of the damage roll is equal to this model's STR plus twice the POW of this weapon.
- Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.
- Polarity Cannon - 10" range, POW 12 gun
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Field Dependent - If this model's Generator is crippled, it loses Force Lock and cannot attack with its Polarity Cannon
- Force Fields - this warjack has an extra damage track that takes damage first.
- Force Lock - Enemy models beginning an advance in a Gorgon's melee range can't move except to change facing.
Thoughts on Gorgon
Gorgon in a nutshell
The Gorgon is a denial model built to help deny charges and force enemies that it engages to deal with it. Its weapons are good for killing moderately armored infantry and its Combo Strike can help it deal damage to heavier foes.
Combos & Synergies
- The Gorgon has an interesting synergy with Lord Arcanist Ossyan's gun. Both reduce the target's SPD, and stacked together are enough to render a naturally slow model, like some colossals or heavies, completely immobile.
- The Gorgon works excellently with Elara1 (Journeyman Warcaster) his relatively low range and the low survivability of Retribution light jacks makes the ability to shoot and then move backwards to safety a real powerful combination.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- The Gorgon's gun though powerful has a relatively short range making it difficult to get shots while still being safe from a counter charge.
Tricks & Tips
- The Gorgon is named after a (Greek) mythological creature, like all myrmidons. The tale of the Gorgon becomes legend in 700 BC, when the poet Hesiod writes about the three Gorgon sisters: Medusa, Euryale and Stheno. The latter two were immortal, the first one wasn't. All three had venemous snakes for hair and the power to turn a living being to stone with their terrible gaze, which Kinectic Grip's effect might be in reference to. Medusa became the most famous of these three when she was killed by the hero Perseus (using a mirrored shield to defeat her, as her reflection was harmless), who later used her cut-off head as a weapon. One story recounts how either he or the goddess Athena uses Medusa's head to turn the giant Atlas into stone, thus creating the Atlas mountain range that still stands today.
- Originally released in Forces of Warmachine: Retribution of Scyrah (Novermber 2009)
Other Retribution models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Kinetic Grip - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Combo Strike - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Shadow Bind and/or Force Hold and/or Force Lock and/or Quagmire (Edit)
- Models affected by Shadow Bind/Force Hold may still advance 0" and thus abilities that trigger on "ends their movement within ..." or "after this model advances ..." will still trigger (for example Slipstream, Countercharge, etc).
- Models may still be placed, so abilities like Apparition will still work.
- The restriction applies to all advances: normal activation, bonus in-activation (like Overtake), and out-of-activation (like Energiser).
- Shadow Bind only. If you manage to free strike a charging warjack and Shadow Bind it, their charge continues (an effect which prevents charging isn't retroactive if applied after the charge has already been declared).
Rules Clarification : Force Fields (Edit)
- You cannot spend focus to heal Force Fields mid-move, such as taking damage from a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot repair force fields, but you can spend focus to remove damage. (Infernal Ruling)
- Grievous Wounds prevents removing damage from force fields. (Locked Thread)
Rules Clarification : Field Dependent - None yet. (Edit)