General Adept Nemo

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Cygnar Warcaster

Sebastian Nemo has defended Cygnar for nearly fifty years. Promoted to general, he has learned from recent battles and created new strategies and weapons to throw back his nation's enemies. Nemo takes to battle with surprising aggression and power. His experience thwarts his foe's plans as surely and easily as his augmented strength shatters armor and bone.

Basic Info[edit]

Nemo2
Nemo2.jpg
SPD 5
MAT 5
RAT 5
DEF 14
ARM 16
CMD 9
FOCUS 7
HP 14
WJP +26
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

  • Galvanic Bolt - 10" range, POW 13 gun
  • Fulger - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon. If you're using this something has gone badly wrong for someone.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Warcaster - This model comes with a bunch of special rules, most notably being really awesome at everything.
  • Immunity: Electricity - This model is not damaged by electric weapons, and is ignored when determining lightning arcs.
  • Focus Matrix - Nemo can allocate focus during his activation. He can also take focus from his jacks and give it to himself.
  • Veteran Leader [Stormsmith] - While in this model's CMD range, other friendly Stormsmith models gain +1 to attack rolls.

Feat: High Voltage[edit]

Each warjack in Nemo's battlegroup currently in his control range is allocated up to 3 focus points.

Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
This cannot take a warjack over its normal allocation limit of 3. Refer the Cortex rules.

Spells[edit]

Each model in the caster's battlegroup that is currently in its CTRL range can immediately advance up to 2". Energizer can be cast only once per activation.
Target friendly Faction warjack gains +2 ARM and does not suffer the effects of crippled systems.
Target friendly Faction model/unit gains Polarity Field. Doesn't affect models out of formation. (Polarity Field - This model cannot be charged or slammed from its front arc.)

Thoughts on General Adept Nemo[edit]

Nemo2 in a nutshell[edit]

Nemo2 is all about buffing warjacks up and letting them beat face. His abilities and spells are all about the warjacks, making them harder, faster, stronger, and just better. Nemo2 is a warcaster you take because you like the idea of a few monsters charging down the field to kill your foe, and with the overall boost to warjacks in mk3, he's very viable.

Thoughts on best using his feat & spells[edit]

Feat
It's all about the jacks, the more, the merrier. Note that this does not allow his jacks to go over 3 focus, which means anyone with power-up on them will only receive 2. Additionally, this is bound by the normal allocation rules, which means jacks with a crippled cortex or that are disrupted won't receive any focus.

Spells

  • Electrical Blast- A crappy nuke. Generally, Nemo doesn't want to be that far forward, though an Arc Node can fix that.
  • Energizer- Possibly his most powerful spell, thanks to the amount of jacks he runs. You should cast this every turn. Remember, Nemo gets to move as well.
  • Fail-safe- Good for keeping a key jack alive. Thanks to focus matrix, Nemo can cast this on a jack with a crippled cortex, then allocate it focus (or use the feat).
  • Lightning Shroud- Good on any melee jack. Can help jacks with long melee range clear out infantry. Hammersmiths love this spell, since their hitting power is considered on the low side.
  • Polarity Shield- Thanks to premeasuring, jacks with this can stand just outside walk range, but inside charge range and be safe. Combined with Centurion's polarity shield, Nemo can have an entire wall of unchargeable jacks. Note, this is his only spell that can be cast on infantry, though it's better off on his jacks anyway.

Typical Strategy & Army[edit]

He's mostly an attrition caster with the ability to improve threat ranges via Energizer - and works well with a small swarm of light warjacks able to give them one good turn and to sometimes buff them through cycling Lightning Shroud.

He likes all jacks, but there are some he makes shine:

  • Centurion - loves anyone that can speed him up, and energizer is just the ticket. Nemo can also double down on the Polarity Shield as well
  • Dynamo - Nemo's character jack is still great with him. His is a great target for any of the upkeeps. Lightning shroud increases his already formidable melee power, Fail-safe pushes his arm into Khador range, and polarity shield means he won't die to another charging heavy. Energizer also increases his gun range.
  • Hammersmith - An excellent target for lightning shroud and energizer increases their threat range.
  • Minuteman - fast and hard hitting
  • Thunderhead - Great at clearing infantry, which Nemo2 can struggle at. He loves a threat extender with Energizer, and lightning shroud ensures that when he hits things, they die.

Non-warjack stuff:

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • He is squishy and dies easily
  • It's difficult to find a good case for using him rather than Captain Allison Jakes unless you want to run a swarm of lights.
  • Nearly all of his spells only effect warjacks, which means infantry are left out in the cold.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • On feat turn, activate Nemo first, burn through his entire stack shooting or casting spells, then use focus matrix to fill him back up with all of your jack's power-up focus, then pop feat to fully fuel all of them.
  • Focus Matrix is a very flexible tool and is the main reason to take the General Adept over the other two Nemo's. This ability should ensure that you always have focus exactly where you want exactly when you want especially on feat turn. For example, if you have a jack with a crippled cortex just apply fail safe to ignore the downed system and them use focus matrix to allocate during Nemo's activation.
  • Tractor Field on his gun effects your jacks as well. Plan ahead if you intend on shooting your opponent's jacks.
  • His elite cadre is now only in his command range. This vastly decreases the utility of that ability.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for any-and-all casters (Edit)

Other Cygnar models[edit]

CygnarLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Jakes2 - Darius - Kraye - Sloan - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Sturgis1 - Constance - Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Maddox - Siege1 - Siege2
C
Y
G
N
A
R
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Journeyman - Jakes1 - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Marshals Runewood - Strangeways - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA
Light warjacks Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy warjacks Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Gun Mages - Mechaniks - Long Gunners - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - T. Cannon Crew - T. Chain Gun Crew - T. Commandos - T. Express Team - T. Long Gunners - T. Infantry - T. Mechaniks
Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team

Ranking Officer CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch

Solos Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Captain Adept - Journeyman Warcaster - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - T. Buster - T. Master Gunner - T. Patrol Dog - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Runewood - Strangeways - Maxwell Finn - Anson Hitch - Harlan Versh - Jakes1 - Bastian Falk - Gwen Keller - Laddermore - Harrison Gibbs - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
 
Theme Forces
Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Merc cygnar.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten
Requires a 2+ caster game
C
Y
G
N
A
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine - Brun Cragback & Lug
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cygnar army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Horgenhold Artillery - Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Alexia1 - Sam & the Devil Dogs - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Eilish Garrity - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Dougal - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Savio - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn - Thor
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Tractor Field - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Disruption      (Edit)

  • If a model is disrupted, it cannot get focus for any reason. Whether the rule says 'allocate', 'gain', 'receive' or 'give' ... Disruption stops it all. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Despite being unable to channel spells, a warjack can still be the target of spells just fine.

Rules Clarification : Focus Matrix - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification:  : Warcaster      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

 
  • General
    • FOCUS (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warcaster's card. Focus (lowercase) refers to focus points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FOCUS stat, not double your focus points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warcasters are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      • There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warcaster rules.
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    3. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    4. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • Units
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.


Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argii can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.

Rules Clarification : Veteran Leader      (Edit)

  • The bonus doesn't normally apply to the model giving out the buff, because it (normally) specifies "other models within ...".
  • Although if you have two models giving out the buff, then they can give it to each other. (Locked thread)


Rules Clarification : Electrical Blast      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Energizer      (Edit)

  • The models affected are determined when you cast the spell. If you then use the Energizer move to move the caster forward and try and get more models into their control range, it makes no difference.

Rules Clarification : Fail-Safe - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Lightning Shroud      (Edit)
Since Lightning Shroud only applies to melee weapons, it doesn't affect Power Attacks.

Rules Clarification : Electro Leap      (Edit)

  • Electro Leap is a weapon property. As such, it doesn't apply to Power Attacks at all.
  • A Steamroller flag can be hit by Electro Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Not considered an attack (Edit)
    • The original attack and damage is definitely an attack, and triggers stuff normally. But the "secondary" damage works quite differently.
    • The secondary damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • The secondary damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • The secondary damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
    1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
      • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
      • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
    2. It is a damage roll from a model so:

Rules Clarification : Polarity Shield      (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Polarity Field - None yet. (Edit)