Minion Gatorman Solo
Each witch doctor is a powerful mystic who lives and breathes the foul necromantic arts that are his birthright. Life and death are two edges of the same bloody knife to the witch doctor, who often sees his allies as nothing more than tools of battle to be moved between those two states as required. Amid the morass of combat he gathers the vile totems required to power his spells, tearing the fleshy trophies from the carcasses of vanquished foes. Raising his sacral blade aloft, the witch doctor utters sibilant incantations that impel the huge beasts he control in a wave of scaled death.
This model's rules are currently under development
This model is part of the current CID cycle (What is CID?) and the information shown below does not necessarily represent its final ruleset.
This is a existing model, and the information here is the rules it had before the CID cycle. If you wish to document the CID changes before they're finalised, please do so under the Recent Changes heading.
- Bite - 0.5" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon
- Sacral Blade - 0.5" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon
- Minion - Will work as a Circle Orboros minion, Legion of Everblight Minion, Skorne minion, or Trollblood minion
- Amphibious - This model treats shallow water as open terrain while advancing. While completely in shallow water, this model gains concealment and does not block line of sight.
- Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
- Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
- Death Ride (★ Action) - Friendly Faction Undead models that activate in this model's CMD range gain +1 movement when advancing as part of their normal movement. Death Ride lasts for one turn.
- Sacrificial Strike (★ Action) - Target model within CMD range suffers a magic damage roll equal to a nearby friendly faction model's ARM. The friendly model is RFP'd.
- Zombify (★ Action) - Target a friendly Faction non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model in CMD range. It gains undead and Last Word for one round. (Last Word - When Aelyth is disabled by an enemy attack, except while advancing (free strikes), then he can immediately advance up to 3" ignoring free strikes then make a basic melee attack.)
2017.09 Blindwater CID
- Zombify now grants Last Word, too. Lost Dominate Undead but gained Death Ride
Thoughts on Gatorman Witch Doctor
This model/theme's rules have recently changed dramtically, and the "Thoughts On" section has not (yet) been updated to reflect its new capabilities.
Please feel free to update the article and remove this warning.
Gatorman Witch Doctor in a nutshell
The CrocDoc is a buff and utility solo, able to make the few minions that aren't already tough into tough models - and able to take out squishy solos no matter how high they think their DEF is through sacrificial strikes.
Combos & Synergies
- Gatorman Bokor & Bog Trog Swamp Shamblers The shamblers benefit by a source of tough, making them about a third more annoying to remove. While the Bokor on other turns gets cheap models to sac strike to take down valuable solos.
- Croak Raiders Fairly cheap and not tough - they like the resilience.
- Swamp Gobber Chef - the cheapest thing to sacrifice that's not a shambler.
- Greygore Boomhowler & Co. Top end of what you can sacrifice for single wound models.
- Maelok the Dreadbound Getting grunts back up for unlimited sac-strikes is pretty good. Especially in theme where you can use possemen.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Most minions are already tough and the Croctor only really works with minions now.
- You've got Skornergy with the Bog Trog Swamp Shamblers as they are already undead.
Tricks & Tips
- Sacrificial Strike is awesome at getting rid of solos - or even catching casters by surprise when they think they are safe.
Other Minion models
Placeholder. I will update this after CID is finished juckto (talk) 02:00, 28 September 2017 (EDT)
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Magic Ability (Edit)
- Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
- Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
- Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
- You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
- You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
- You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
- (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
- A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Dominate Undead (Edit)
| Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit) |
- Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
- This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
- If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
- Buffs and effects:
- The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
- If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
- If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
- You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
- The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
- If you enter into an area, the controlled model can suffer the effect of entering into the area only once per advance. It means you cannot yo-yo a Devastator in and out of a Razor Wall 36 times to deplete all its damage boxes.
Melee Attacks (Influence, Seduction, Bone Shaker, etc)
- Normally the controlled model can't make Gunfighter attacks (because that would be a ranged attack, and most "take control" abilities only allow melee attacks).
- Nor does it allow Point Blank attacks (Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation').
- Controlled models can't get backstrike bonusses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
- With reference to the attack sequence (apdx A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
- As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
- It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
- Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
- Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
- You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
- It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
- Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
- Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
- A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
- Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
- If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!
Rules Clarification : Sacrificial Strike (Edit)
- You cannot purchase additional attacks after using Sacrificial Strike, because it is a Special Action.
- You use the base ARM of the model. Any buffs/debuffs on the sacrifice have no effect on the attack.
- You need LOS to the target, as per normal, but you don't need LOS to the trooper that you RFP.
- Stealth doesn't defend vs Sacrificial Strike. There is no attack roll, so it can never miss.