| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Gatorman Soul Slave
Minion Gatorman Solo
- Bite - 0.5" reach, P+S 12 melee attack
- Minion - In a 2+ warlock game, this model can accompany a minion warlock as a Circle Orboros minion, Legion of Everblight Minion, Skorne minion, or Trollblood minion.
- Attached - Before the start of the game, attach this model to a friendly Faction warcaster for the rest of the game. Each Faction warcaster can only have one model/unit attached to it.
- Amphibious - This model treats shallow water as open terrain while advancing. While completely in shallow water, this model gains concealment and does not block line of sight.
- Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.
- Arcane Assist - If its warcaster/warlock is in this model's CMD range during your Control Phase, the warcaster/warlock can upkeep one spell for free.
- Magic Ability [ 4 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
- Bone Shaker (★ Attack) - 8" range, POW 12 magic attack. When this spell boxes a living or undead non-warcaster, non-warlock enemy warrior model, you can immediately take control of the model and make a full advance with it followed by a based melee attack, then the boxed model is removed from play.The boxed model cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement.
- Spell Slave (★ Action) or (★ Attack) - While in its controlling warcaster/warlock's control area, this model may cast a single spell from their boss's spell card. There are several limits on what type of spells can be cast.
- Mental Force - This model can use Mental Force at the beginning of each attack. If it does, all attack and damage rolls resulting from the attack are boosted. After the attack is resolved, this model suffers d3 damage points.
Thoughts on Gatorman Soul Slave
Gatorman Soul Slave in a nutshell
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.
Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.
- A support piece who is fragile but bring a lot, between boosted blasts, free upkeep, and other non-upkeep spells. It isn't an auto-include for every warlock, but those who like it really like it.
Combos & Synergies
- Barnabas, Lord of Blood has two useful offensive spells - and wants to continually upkeep Onslaught. An decent combination.
- Calaban the Grave Walker looks superficially excellent with his upkeeps - but the only spell the Soul Slave gains is the useful utility spell Hex Blast.
- Jaga-Jaga, the Death Charmer gets a lot of benefit out of it - she has upkeeps, and the Soul Slave really likes spells he can cast safely without boosting such as Ghost Walk. Deadweight under Signs and Portents can be an excellent zappy spell.
- Maelok the Dreadbound has Soul Harvester to upkeep and both Mortality and Venom work really well from the Soul Slave.
- Rask has three upkeeps, and Boundless Charge which the Soul Slave normally wants to cast and can cast safely even with his magic ability. If the Soul Slave needs to zap things then that's what Bone Shaker is for. Rask is probably first in line for the Soul Slave, followed by Jaga-Jaga thanks to the buff spells.
- Sturm & Drang - a free friendly Telekinesis is really useful as is support with upkeeps. And when it's time to Drang there's the boosted Boneshaker.
- Midas can let him cast a fully boosted Hex Blast, or support an unit with Battle Lust, and upkeep either of his other spell. Beware that he need to be out of theme or in WWtF to take him.
- Lord Carver, BMMD, Esq. III - upkeeping quagmire isn't nothing - and neither is a fully boosted 4" AoE via Rift.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- relatively slow, and his rock bottom def mean he is an AoE magnet.
- rock bottom magic ability. To hit you will have to use Mental Force.
Tricks & Tips
- Remember he is not limited to gator warlock, so casters like Sturm and Midas can use him.
Released in the Blindwater CID (2017.09)
Note: Unlike other Minion models, the Soul Slave cannot be taken by non-Minion factions as their "Up to one Minion solo", because of the limitation of his Attached rule.
Other Minion models
Rules Clarification : Attached (Edit)
- Attached models are not (normally) part of the warcaster's/warlock's battlegroup. (Infernal Ruling)
- (You need the Companion rule to become part of the battlegroup).
- Thus, attachments are not affected by battlegroup-only effects such as Energizer (unless they're a Companion).
Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Arcane Assist and/or Arcane Support (Edit)
- Arcane Assist: The caster needs to be in the support model's CMD range.
- Arcane Support: The support model needs to be in the caster's CTRL range.
Rules Clarification : Magic Ability (Edit)
- Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
- Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
- Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
- You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
- You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
- You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
- (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
- A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Bone Shaker (Edit)
| Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)
- Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
- This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
- If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
- The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
- Buffs and effects:
- The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
- If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
- If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
- Theme abilities:
- If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, whether it keeps that ability is ... being checked
- You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
- The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
- If you enter into an area, the controlled model can suffer the effect of entering into the area only once per advance. It means you cannot yo-yo a Devastator in and out of a Razor Wall 36 times to deplete all its damage boxes.
- Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
- Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
- Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
- With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
- As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
- It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
- Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
- Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
- You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
- It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
- Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
- Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
- A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
- Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
- If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!
Rules Clarification: : Spell Slave (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| Explanatory Note
This Rules Clarification is very similar to the ones for Necromancy and Geomancy (since all 3 are very similar abilities). Where Spell Slave is unique, the text has been coloured blue.
Who does the casting
- It is the model with Spell Slave that does the casting, not the warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)
- It's not anything simple like "the warcaster gets an extra spell" during the warcaster's activation.
- Nor is it the "Spell Slave acts like an arc node". (On that note, Spell Slaves can't use arc nodes).
- Any buffs/debuffs currently on your warcaster/warlock are completely irrelevant to the Spell Slave's casting.
- For stuff that interacts with spellcasters (such as Witch Hunter) it is the location of the Spell Slave that matters, not the location of the warcaster.
- If the Spell Slave is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, it cannot cast spells. Regardless of where your warcaster is.
- If the warcaster is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, that has no effect on what the Spell Slave can do.
When/how does a Spell Slave cast
- Spell Slaves use their Magic Ability to perform either a (★ Attack) or (★ Action).
- Because you use your Combat Action to do (★ Attack) or (★ Action) you must complete your movement before casting a spell (unlike warcasters).
- Typically, you cannot cast a spell after charging, because instead you must use your Combat Action to make a melee attack.
- If you forfeit your action, or are affected by a enemy abilities that prevents you using your action, you will be unable to cast spells.
- After casting a spell, a Spell Slave's activation ends (unlike what happens when your warcaster casts spells) because it has now completed both its move and its action.
- Spell Slaves do not pay the full cost of a spell, so are unaffected by stuff which changes the COST of a spell; such as Lamentation. (Infernal Ruling) or Scaverous's feat (Infernal Ruling)
What spells can they choose to cast
- A Spell Slave cannot cast spells with a range of SELF or CTRL or with a COST more than 3, or that are an UPKEEP.
- In addition to this, a Spell Slave is heavily limited by the definition of 'Spellcaster'. Specifically:
- Spell Slaves can't cast spells that use the phrase "Spellcaster's battlegroup" because (most) spell slaves aren't in the battlegroup.
- Spell Slaves cannot benefit from anything that occurs in the 'Spellcaster's CTRL area' because they don't have one. (Infernal Ruling)
For instance, a Spell Slave that casts Excarnate will not be able to summon a new grunt.
- Spell Slaves cannot benefit from spells that give the caster Focus. Such benefits are limited to models with the 'Focus Manipulation' rule, which only warcasters have.
For instance, a Spell Slave that casts Siphon Bolt would still take focus from the enemy, but won't gain any focus itself.
- Sometimes a Spell Slave can cast a cast a spell, but they will miss out on some of the benefits of the spell (as described above)
- A Hordes Spell Slave cannot cast animi, because they're not "spells on the warlock's spell card".
How can they boost the spell
- You can not use focus that is on the warcaster to boost spells that the Spell Slave casts. (refer rulebook section on using focus to boost: only the model with focus on it can spend it, and only during its own activation)
- Spell Slaves can only boost if they have a special rule allowing them do so - for instance, the Skarlock Thrall can spend soul tokens on spells via its 'Strength of Death' ability.
- The Spell Slave doesn't gain any buffs/abilities that are on your warlock/warcaster (such as True Sight).
- The Spell Slave cannot channel spells through arc nodes. You can only channel through nodes in your CTRL area, and none of the three models have a CTRL area.
- The Spell Slave can use spells like Annihilation to gain enemy souls. But generally they will be unable to use the soul tokens so they will stay on the Spell Slave for the rest of the game (doing nothing). (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Mental Force (Edit)
- The damage from Mental Force occurs at Step 12 of the attack sequence (Appendix A).
- The heal from your Bleed spell occurs at Step 10a of the attack sequence. That's before damage from Mental Force, so you can't use the heal from Bleed to offset the damage from Mental Force.