Mercenary Privateer Colossal Warjack
The raw might of a naval ironhull now walks the lands as the Galleon. The colossal fires a rolling broadside before reaching out with its enormous cargo claw to toss warjacks like rag dolls. It can also use its massive trident to reel in foes and finish them off at close range with a series of punishing blows. The Galleon commands a high price, but for those mercenaries who have the fortune to spend, it fights as a symbol of unquestionable affluence and might.
- Trident Strike - 2" reach, P+S 22 melee weapon
- Cargo Claw - 2" reach, P+S 20 melee weapon
- Gun port (x2) - 14" range, ROF d3, 3" AOE, POW 13 guns
- Harpoon Cannon - 10" range, POW 15 gun
- Drag - When this weapon damages an enemy model with an equal or smaller base, immediately after the attack is resolved the damaged model can be pushed directly toward this model until it contacts a model, an obstacle, or an obstruction. After the damaged model is moved, this model can make one basic melee attack against the damaged model. After resolving this melee attack, this model can make additional melee attacks during its combat action.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Colossal - Colossals are giant warjacks, even bigger and stompier. They all share a stack of standard special rules.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
Thoughts on Galleon
Galleon in a nutshell
The Galleon is among the better colossals in the game, and probably the best overall when run by Bart. It's dangerous to everything and has the ranged output it needs to justify its price tag. On most turns, its combat action should consist of firing the Gun Ports, then using the Harpoon Gun to drag in a heavy and stabbing it with the Harpoon melee weapon.
Combos & Synergies
- Captain Bartolo Montador turns the Galleon into the single most powerful model in the game. Batten Down the Hatches and his feat make the Galleon a very tough out for a lot of armies. Hot Shot boosts every single ranged attack damage roll it makes, while Broadside gives a free ranged attack, which can catch opponents off guard if you run the Galleon and cast this spell.
- Drake MacBain can use Fail Safe to make it hard to kill and Jackhammer for smashing things after a Drag. There is no better target for these spells than the Galleon. Fortune is always fun for making sure attacks hit as well, though usually you'll have Fail Safe on the Galleon.
- Magnus the Traitor can make it tough to disable systems with Death Ward, while Iron Aggression makes it even more of a beast in Melee. Or he can just add Snipe to give it that much more reach with its ranged attacks.
- Captain Phinneus Shae can use Phantasm to make enemies have to draw close to shoot it, then Coup De Main to give it that extra charge range to get into melee.
- Ashlynn D'Elyse's feat makes the Galleon accurate, which if paired with Crosse's Fire Group spell, Dougal's Double Powder Ration and Quicken gives her an assassination threat that could catch somebody off guard.
- Possibly the only mercenary jack you will look for with Caine3. Calamity is an universal damage booster, but sadly, most of the time you'll have to rely on Caine and his unit members to get the +3 bonus from Reap the Whirlwind. Caine3 runs a Galleon due to a lack of better options rather than because it is good with him.
Rangers give it a valuable hit fixer in the Kingmaker theme.
Choir of Menoth make it a bigger ranged threat in Llaelese Resistance
Drawbacks & Downsides
- It's 1 or 2 points too expensive, but that's not a huge deal.
- It has low MAT and RAT, which means it gets less done under Macbain or Magnus1 than you'd like since you'll be boosting to hit.
Tricks & Tips
- Galleon throws models 8.5". If your opponent has left a model within 8.5" of their caster that Galleon can reach with a directly-away throw (review your throw rules), you should look for the knockdown assassination, especially if you can have Bart cast Broadsides to drag the caster in after the throw.
- Many players make the mistake of running the Galleon with a caster that does not give it a powerful effect. A Galleon with only 3 focus and nothing else to zazz it up is not a strong use of 39 points.
- In MKII Warmachine, the Galleon (and other colossals) were frequently the first (and only) player choice over the equivalent point value of warjacks. Now, the increased warjack points and Power Up rule in MKIII make non-colossal warjacks arguably more useful.
- Originally released in the Warmachine: Colossals expansion (2012).
Who can take this warjack
To include this mercenary warjack in your army, it must be controlled by one of the following warcasters or marshals. Thus, to include this jack you first need to find a controller that works for your army.
Note: The Vanguard and Toro could also be controlled by a Crucible Guard battlegroup controller.
Within mercenaries, this colossal can be used in:
Outside of mercenaries, this colossal can only be taken by a Merc warcaster or Battlegroup Controller (never Jack Marshals) that works in that theme. At the time of writing (2017.10), the only model that fills this criteria is Crosse1.
Other Mercenary models
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification: : Drag , Pull, and/or Catch (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| Ranged Attack Damage (Drag and Catch only)
- If a model is destroyed by the ranged attack, Drag/Catch does not trigger.
- Corpse tokens, soul tokens, and etc will be generated from the model’s original position.
- You won't get the free melee attack from Drag, even if there's something different already in your melee range. No drag = no melee.
- Enemy effects that occur after the attack (such as "Enliven" and "Whelp") are triggered before Drag but after Pull. Refer Apdx A:
- Pull occurs at Step 12 of the attack sequence . (Infernal Ruling)
- Enemy effects occur at Step 13. (Infernal Ruling)
- Drag occurs at Step 14.
- As such, Enliven & Whelp etc can be used to 'block' the Drag movement, for instance, using Enliven to move behind an obstruction or another model.
- You cannot Drag/Pull/Catch models with a larger base size than you.
- The movement is a Push effect, which is involuntary movement.
- It is not an advance and will not trigger stuff like Countercharge.
- They won't take free strikes because it is involuntary movement.
- They will take damage from any hazards they're pushed through/into (such as Scathers).
- You can drag your target through Incorporeal models, if there's enough space on the other side, because the rules for Incorporeal specifically allow this. (If there's not enough space, the push will stop on the far side of the Incorporeal model.)
- You cannot drag models through Curse-of-Shadows-ed or similar models, because those rules refer to "models can advance through this model" and a push is not an advance.
- You may drag models that you are already in melee with. However most models can't shoot while in melee, so this is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon (see the corner-case scenarios, below).
- If you get to trigger Drag/Pull/Catch on a free strike (mostly just Pull), the moving model will never get out of your melee range. They have to keep advancing out and being pushed back until either they run out of movement, or you fail a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
| Push (Edit)
- Pushed models do not change their facing.
- Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
- Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
- You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
- Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
- If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
- However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
The Free Melee Attack(s) (Drag and Catch only)
- If the target model doesn't end up in melee range (whether because the ranged attack killed it outright, or something blocked the drag movement) then you don't get a free melee attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks.
- If the dragged model can't be targeted by melee attacks, you may not make your free drag attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- For both of the above two cases, you may still complete your initial ranged attacks and buy additional ranged attacks as per normal (if you have more guns and/or Reload).
- You may make the free melee attack against models that "cannot be pushed" (assuming you're in melee range already). The "After the model is moved" is a timing clause, not a conditional clause.
- To pull this off, you need an ability that allows you to make ranged attack while you're already in melee, so is pretty much limited to just Colossals and/or models attacking objectives.
- After using Drag/Catch, the attacking model may make a single melee attack without spending focus. (So Black Ogrun can make a single melee attack.)
- After doing the free attack, you may buy additional attacks if you have a method of purchasing them. Models with Drag but no focus/fury (such as Black Ogrun) can't buy additional attacks (despite what is implied by the rule on their card) - it's just a standarised wording for Drag.
More corner-case Rules Clarifications
- Models that can make Ranged Attacks while in melee
- This section is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon who, thanks to being Colossals, can continue to shoot after dragging something into melee with themselves. It can also apply to any model shooting at a "can never be in melee" model (eg Scenario objectives).
- When you start your activation, you still need to choose either 'initial ranged attacks' or 'initial melee attacks'. If you choose melee attacks, then you will never get to shoot your Drag weapons.
- If you shoot a Drag weapon you need to resolve the drag move and the free melee attack, but afterwards you're still in "shooting" mode. The best way to think of it is it's "interrupting" your normal ranged attacks and after resolving it, you go back to completing your initials. So it might go:
- Shoot the Drag weapon.
- Drag the enemy closer.
- Resolve the free melee attack.
- Drag resolved. Now you finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
- Once you've completed all your initial ranged attacks (and any free drag melee attacks) then you have the option of buying additional attacks (ranged if you have Reload, melee otherwise.
- However, if you get overexcited and start buying melee attacks after the free drag one then you don't get to finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
- This is because shooting the rest of your guns is completing your "Initial Ranged Attacks" but by buying melee attacks you have jumped ahead to "After Initial Attacks" (refer first sentence of "Additional Attacks" pg 36 of Prime).
- Black Spot + Drag or Catch
- If you trigger Drag/Catch, then any attacks you get from Black Spot can be either ranged or melee, your choice. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
- This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
- Assault & Drag ( Edit )
- You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
- If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
- It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
- You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)