Gallant

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary, & Cygnar Partisan, Morrowan Character Heavy Warjack

Based on the Ironclad chassis and heavily modified by Sancteum armorers, Gallant is a walking instrument of righteous battle and the favored warjack of the warcaster Constance Blaize. In combat Gallant wields the mighty blade Lasting Light to strike down the enemies of Morrow as dictated by the Prayers for Battle, the holy catechism mounted onto its hull.

Basic Info[edit]

Gallant
Gallant.jpg
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 7
DEF 13
ARM 18 / 19
(★)
HP 30
Cost 17
(★) 19 when you include the buckler
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

  • Lasting Light - 2" reach, P+S 18 melee weapon.
  • Open Fist - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon.
    • Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.
    • Buckler - This 'weapon' has an integral buckler that gives the model a cumulative +1 ARM bonus. The bonus doesn't apply if the weapon is crippled or if the damage originates in your back arc.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Animosity (Thamarite or Undead) - This model can't be included in the same army as Thamarite or Undead.
  • Mercenary - This model will work for Cygnar.
  • Partisan (Cygnar) - When included in a Cygnar army, this model/unit is a Cygnar model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.
  • Bond: (Constance) - If this model begins the game in Constance's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Constance and in their CTRL range, it gains Shield Guard. (Shield Guard - When a friendly model within 3" is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack, this model can be directly hit instead.)
  • Accumulator [Morrowan] - This model gains a focus when it activates near a friendly Morrowan.
  • Sacred Ward - This model can't be targeted by enemy spells.


Thoughts on Gallant[edit]

Gallant in a nutshell[edit]

Gallant is an elite Nomad with his battle blade upgraded to magic. A perfectly decent weapon for heavy on heavy combat. Costing half as much again as a Nomad, Gallant has an accumulator, sacred ward, and a sword that will cut through magical defences. Possibly not the first warjack people pick, Gallant is an interesting and competitive tech piece who is a hard to hit Nomad if you don't get work out of Purgation, and terrifyingly dangerous when you do.

For Cygnar players, he's an Ironclad with an extra point of DEF, longer reach and a buckler (plus the special rules).

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Mercenary/Partisan models:

Cygnar models:

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Expensive for a heavy warjack.
  • If you don't see upkeeps on jacks or beasts you have an overpriced Nomad.
  • For Cygnar players, he's in the same price bracket as the Stormclad and Ol' Rowdy. One of the main reasons to opt for Gallant is that it is slightly cheaper, as is Harlan Versh, meaning the cheapest Gallant package is 2pts cheaper than the cheapest Stormclad package (the Stormclad and the Stormblade Captain).

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Gallant has above average def for a heavy jack. Getting any def buff for him bumps him into "very hard to hit" territory, especially considering they then need to contend with his high arm value.

Notable Changes from Mk2[edit]

  • Purgation is now one of Gallant's abilities by default instead of being his bond benefit from Constance Blaize. The Shield Guard was swapped to being his bond benefit instead.
  • Slightly Cheaper
  • Lasting Light gained a point of POW
  • Gained Partisan (Cygnar)


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

How can I include this model in my army?[edit]

Unlike all other mercenary warjacks, Gallant can't be taken in faction forces willy-nilly.

  1. He can be taken in a Cygnar force, in which case he is a Cygnar jack and must be controlled by a Cygnar controller.
  2. He can be taken in a pure Mercenary force, in which case he is a Mercenary jack and must be be controlled by one of the Mercenary controllers listed below.
  3. He cannot be taken under a Mercenary controller in a non-mercenary force, even if the controller will work for that other faction.

To include this mercenary warjack in your army, it must be controlled by one of the following warcasters or marshals. Thus, to include this jack you first need to find a controller that works for your army.

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Gastone2 - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs

Theme Forces[edit]

For a Mercenary warjack to be taken in a Theme Force, not only does the 'jack have to meet the theme criteria but it's controller does too. With that in mind, Gallant can be taken in:

  • Storm Division - (Article) (Category) (Cygnar Theme), but only if taken in Blaize's battlegroup.
  • Heavy Metal (Article) (Category), but only if taken in Blaize's battlegroup.
  • Sons of the Tempest - (Article) (Category), but only if taken in Blaize's battlegroup.

Other Faction models[edit]

Since this model is a partisan, we have omitted displaying the indices (because it'd take up half the page to display everything that is in two full factions). Refer the links instead:

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Gallant

  • Unlike other mercenary warjacks, Gallant can only be taken in either a Mercenary army or a Cygnar army. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, you could have him controlled by Raluk in a mercenary force, but you can't have him controlled by Raluk in a Cryx force.
  • When taken in Cygnar, he must be controlled by a Cygnar warcaster or marshal.


Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Purgation      (Edit)

  • Purgation does not ignore any buffs the upkeep spell is giving your target (you'll want something like Blessed to do that).
  • Purgation applies if you're attacking friendly models with an enemy upkeep on them.

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
  • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
  • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
  • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • Please refer to the Warjack page for a recap of the warjack rules, and the very few associated Infernal Rulings.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Animosity      (Edit)

  • When using the Specialist or ADR rules in a Steamroller format, your entire list and the specialists must be a single legally fieldable force (even though you're not fielding it all at once).

Rules Clarification : Partisan      (Edit)

  • This model is normally "friendly faction" to other mercenary models. However, when taken in the Partisan faction it is "friendly faction" to that faction and not to any other mercenaries that are in that force.
    • For instance, if you take Gallant in a Mercenary force he is "friendly faction" to, say, Reinholdt. But if you take them both in a Cygnar force then Gallant counts as a Cygnar model and is no longer "friendly faction" to Reinholdt.
  • Partisan Warcasters can be taken in faction theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Shield Guard      (Edit)

  • Shield Guard doesn't work vs spells.
  • Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
  • The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
  • You shift all effects onto the shield guard, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
  • When you use Shield Guard vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
  • Shield Guard doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
    • On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.

Rules Clarification : Accumulator      (Edit)

  • Accumulator does not allow you to go over the normal focus limit (3 for most warjacks). Refer to the Cortex rules.
  • Warjacks which are Jack Marshaled can gain focus via Accumulator, whether or not the marshal is still alive.

Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward     (Edit)

  • Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.