Gallant

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary, & Cygnar Partisan, Morrowan Character Heavy Warjack

Based on the Ironclad chassis and heavily modified by Sancteum armorers, Gallant is a walking instrument of righteous battle and the favored warjack of the warcaster Constance Blaize. In combat Gallant wields the mighty blade Lasting Light to strike down the enemies of Morrow as dictated by the Prayers for Battle, the holy catechism mounted onto its hull.

Basic Info[edit]

Gallant
Gallant.jpg
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 7
DEF 13
ARM 18 / 19
(★)
HP 30
Cost 17
(★) 19 when you include the buckler
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Lasting Light - 2" reach, P+S 18 melee weapon.
  • Open Fist - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon.
    • Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.
    • Buckler - This 'weapon' has an integral buckler that gives the model a cumulative +1 ARM bonus. The bonus doesn't apply if the weapon is crippled or if the damage originates in your back arc.

Abilities[edit]

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Animosity [Thamarite or Undead] - This model can't be included in the same army as a Thamarite or Undead model.
  • Mercenary - This model will work as a Cygnar Partisan . Because he actually has this rule (unlike other Mercenary warjacks), Gallant cannot be taken in non-Mercenary non-Cygnar factions.
  • Partisan [Cygnar] - When included in a Cygnar army, this model/unit is a Cygnar model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.
  • Bond: (Constance) - If this model begins the game in Constance's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Constance and in their CTRL range, it gains Shield Guard. (Shield Guard - When a friendly model within 3" is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack, this model can be directly hit instead.)
  • Accumulator [Morrowan] - This model gains a focus when it activates near a friendly Morrowan.
  • Sacred Ward - This model can't be targeted by enemy spells.


Thoughts on Gallant[edit]

Gallant in a nutshell[edit]

Gallant is Constance Blaize's personal warjack and usually only seen in theme with her due to character warjack restrictions. There is currently no compelling reason to take Gallant without Blaize. With Blaize, Gallant is extremely effective.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Constance Blaize, Knight of the Prophet makes him charge farther, gives him Shield Guard and lets him use her focus to boost attack and damage rolls.
  • Note: Gallant would have to be taken out of theme to be run by anyone other than Constance Blaize.

Mercenary/Morrowon models

Out-of-Theme Combos[edit]

Cygnar

  • Captain Allister Caine, Captain Jeremiah Kraye and Jakes2 can get Gallant to DEF 15 thanks to Bullet Dodger. Dodge is a handy benefit, too.
  • Major Prime Victoria Haley can achieve the same thanks to Temporal Distortion.
  • Putting him in Jakes1's battlegroup and putting Sidekick on it pushes his DEF to an impressive 15.
    • This can also be combined with Temporal Distortion under Haley3 for a ninja-like DEF 17.
    • With Harlan Versh present to activate Accumulator, she can upkeep Sidekick, allocate Gallant one focus and still have enough to push Gallant forward with Energizer while ensuring that it is sitting on 3 focus when it activates.
      • Just make sure you place Harlan within 3" of where Gallant will end his move from Energizer.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Expensive for a heavy warjack with no gun.
  • Only realistically good with Constance Blaize.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Gallant is able to use his focus to buy attacks while Blaize boosts for him using her own focus thanks to Radiance of Morrow.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

How can I include this warjack in my army?[edit]

Unlike all other mercenary warjacks, Gallant can't be taken by a in non-Mercenary forces by any 'Jack Marshal.

  1. He can be taken in a Cygnar force
    • in which case he is a Cygnar jack and must be controlled by a Cygnar controller.
  2. He can be taken in a Mercenary force
    • in which case he is a Mercenary jack and must be be controlled by one of the Mercenary controllers listed below.
  3. He cannot be taken in any other Faction
    • not even under a Mercenary Jack Marshal/Journeyman that will work for that other faction.
    • Note: There is a bug in Warroom that does allow you to put Gallant in other factions.

To include this mercenary warjack in your army, it must be controlled by one of the following warcasters or marshals. Thus, to include this jack you first need to find a controller that works for your army.

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Gastone2 - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs

Theme Forces[edit]

If Gallant is taken in Blaize's battlegroup then he can be taken in:

Cygnar Themes for any-and-all bonded warjacks (Edit)

Mercenary

If he is taken in anyone else's battlegroup, he can't be taken in a theme force.

Other Faction models[edit]

CygnarLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Jakes2 - Darius - Kraye - Sloan - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Sturgis1 - Constance - Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Maddox - Siege1 - Siege2
C
Y
G
N
A
R
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Journeyman - Jakes1 - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Marshals Runewood - Strangeways - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA
Light warjacks Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy warjacks Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Gun Mages - Mechaniks - Long Gunners - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - T. Cannon Crew - T. Chain Gun Crew - T. Commandos - T. Express Team - T. Long Gunners - T. Infantry - T. Mechaniks
Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team

Ranking Officer CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch

Solos Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Captain Adept - Journeyman Warcaster - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - T. Buster - T. Master Gunner - T. Patrol Dog - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Runewood - Strangeways - Maxwell Finn - Anson Hitch - Harlan Versh - Jakes1 - Bastian Falk - Gwen Keller - Laddermore - Harrison Gibbs - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
 
Theme Forces
Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Merc cygnar.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten
Requires a 2+ caster game
C
Y
G
N
A
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine - Brun Cragback & Lug
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cygnar army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Horgenhold Artillery - Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Alexia1 - Sam & the Devil Dogs - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Eilish Garrity - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Dougal - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Savio - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn - Thor
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler


MercenariesLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Gastone2 - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs
Mercenary Warjacks (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rover
Gallant - Rocinante
Colossal Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
Marshals
Cannot take Colossals
Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
  M  
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Units Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Ogrun Assault Corps - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator
Character Units Alexia1 - Sam & The Devil Dogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea - Commodore Cannon - Devil's Shadow Mutineers
Solos Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber River Raider
Character Solos Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Brun & Lug - Colbie - Dahlia & Skarath - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eilish Garrity - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone1 - Gorman - Gudrun - Harlan Versh - Hutchuk - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Savio - Saxon - Sergeant Nick - Stannis - Taryn - Thor - Viktor - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
 
Theme Forces (Edit)
Hammer Strike - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater - The Talion Charter - Llaelese Resistance

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Gallant

  • Unlike other mercenary warjacks, Gallant can only be taken in either a Mercenary army or a Cygnar army. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, you could have him controlled by Raluk in a mercenary force, but you can't have him controlled by Raluk in a Cryx force.
  • When taken in Cygnar, he must be controlled by a Cygnar warcaster or marshal.


Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Purgation      (Edit)

  • Purgation does not ignore any buffs the upkeep spell is giving your target (you'll want something like Blessed to do that).
  • Purgation applies if you're attacking friendly models with an enemy upkeep on them.

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
  • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
  • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
  • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • Please refer to the Warjack page for a recap of the warjack rules, and the very few associated Infernal Rulings.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Animosity      (Edit)

  • When using the Specialist or ADR rules in a Steamroller format, your entire list and the specialists must be a single legally fieldable force (even though you're not fielding it all at once).

Rules Clarification : Partisan      (Edit)

  • This model is normally "friendly faction" to other mercenary models. However, when taken in the Partisan faction it is "friendly faction" to that faction and not to any other mercenaries that are in that force.
    • For instance, if you take Gallant in a Mercenary force he is "friendly faction" to, say, Reinholdt. But if you take them both in a Cygnar force then Gallant counts as a Cygnar model and is no longer "friendly faction" to Reinholdt.
  • Partisan Warcasters can be taken in faction theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Shield Guard      (Edit)

  • Shield Guard doesn't work vs spells.
  • Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
  • The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
  • You shift all effects onto the shield guard, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
  • When you use Shield Guard vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
  • Shield Guard doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
    • On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.

Rules Clarification : Accumulator      (Edit)

  • Accumulator does not allow you to go over the normal focus limit (3 for most warjacks). Refer to the Cortex rules.
  • Warjacks which are Jack Marshaled can gain focus via Accumulator, whether or not the marshal is still alive.

Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward     (Edit)

  • Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.