Forge Master Syntherion

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Info icon.png

Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.

Ambox warning orange.png

The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.

Forge Master Syntherion

Convergence Warcaster

Constantly processing and as remote as the disembodied members of the Constellation, Sytherion's mind is occupied with complex equations, energy schematics and the application of engineering principles. Sytherion brings the same single-minded efficiency to war as to his workshop. There is no room for emotions, no pity or mercy. In every engagement Sytherion seeks to quickly eliminate whatever opposes him. Those clockwork soldiers who accompany him in battle know only too well that the forge master gives no allowance for error, discarding any who fail him, for in his calculations there is no possibility of redemption.

Basic Info[edit]

Forge Master Syntherion
ForgeMasterSyntherion WEB.jpg
DEF 13
ARM 18
HP 20
WJP +27
Focus 6
See also How to Read the statblock


  • Static Bolt - 11" range, POW 11 gun
  • Workshop Array (x2) - 0.5" range, P+S 14 melee weapons


  • Warcaster - All warcasters come with a stack of standard special rules - most notably being awesome.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Auto-Repair - Remove d3 damage points from this model during your Control Phase.
  • Field Marshal [Auto-Repair] - Warbeasts/warjacks in this model's battlegroup gain Auto-Repair.
  • Resourceful - This caster can upkeep spells on battlegroup models for free.
  • Soul Vessel - This model has a soul as if it were a living model.

Feat : Technological Superiority[edit]

Models in his battlegroup that start their activation in his CTRL range can charge for free, and gain Dual Attack for one turn. (Dual Attack - This model can make both melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.)

Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
As written, Syntherion doesn't gain Dual Attack from his own feat.


When Convection destroys a living enemy model, you can give 1 focus point to a warjack in the spellcaster's balttlegroup that is in its control range.
Target model in the caster's battlegroup gains boosted ranged attack damage rolls.
Target model/unit suffers -2 SPD and DEF and cannot charge or make slam or trample power attacks. Also, friendly Faction construct models charging an affected model gain +2" movement.
When target battlegroup large-based or smaller warjack is disabled by an enemy attack (except when advancing), it is placed completely within 3" of its current location instead and each system heals 1 point, then Reconstruct expires.
  • Synergy - Cost 2, Range SELF, Upkeep
While in the caster's CTRL range, their battlegroup gain a +1 cumulative bonus on melee attack & damage rolls, up to a limit of 3, for each other battlegroup model that hit an enemy in melee this turn while in the caster's CTRL range.

Thoughts on Forge Master Syntherion[edit]

Forge Master Syntherion in a nutshell[edit]

Syntherion is the all round toolbox caster for Convergence, a combined-arms caster who had the joint highest RAT of any Convergence caster (with Iron Mother Directrix) and the joint second highest MAT - both before the introduction of Orion. Backed up by Synergy for significant melee power and a feat that encourages you to use vectors with both ranged and melee attacks, his battlegroup can deal damage from afar as well as in close combat.

Typical Army & Strategy[edit]


His main method of winning is attrtition - keeping your Vectors alive with Auto-Repair and Reconstruct while your opponent's models die around you.


Things you take in his army to help her with this strategy is

  • Prime Axiom, transforms the angry fridge into the whirlwind of death.
    • With Hot Shot, Axiom's accelspiker can make mincemeat of just about anything.
    • On feat turn, the Prime Axiom can dish out 12 attacks in one activation. With flare support, the axiom can crush half the opponent's forces with ease or conduct surprise caster-kills.
    • Prime Axiom is a good way to start off his synergy chain, yet sometimes he prefer to max out his synergy by charging lighter vectors like Cipher. With a capped synergy axiom can destroy almost anything in one turn.
    • On feat turn, the Axiom can two-handed throw a model at something to knock it down, make ranged attacks against the knocked down target, and if you dragged the target to you successfully, it can buy additional melee attacks. But good luck actually having anything to punch after that onslaught.
  • Shooting vectors, such as Assimilators or Ciphers are his favorite vectors. Syntherion has the highest RAT in CoC, making him helpful for many powerful ranged attacks. Ranged vectors get to take full advantage of his feat too, basically getting a free initial.
  • The Galvanizer is a cheap jack to run up the Synergy chain.
  • The Diffuser adds both shooting and threat ranges for his charges.
  • Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex helps him get magnetic hold onto a key unit without putting him too far forward.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • He is well-rounded, but doesn't excel at any one given task.
  • His average focus stat means hot swapping spells or boosting can deplete him quickly
  • Very upkeep dependent, making him weak vs stuff that can strip upkeeps or make upkeeps more expensive.
  • He doesn't gain Dual Attack from his own feat (because he has already started his activation).

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Beacon from a Diffuser stacks with Magnetic Hold, which will double the charge distance bonus.



Originally released in Forces of Warmachine: Convergence of Cyriss (2013)

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for any-and-all casters (Edit)

Other Convergence models[edit]

Convergence Logo.jpg


Warcasters Aurora, Numen of Aerogenesis - Axis, The Harmonic Enforcer - Father Lucant, Divinity Architect - Forge Master Syntherion - Iron Mother Directrix & Exponent Servitors - Eminent Configurator Orion
Light Corollary - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator
Heavy Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor
Colossals Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors

Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector
Battle Engines Transfinite Emergence Projector & Permutation Servitors
Theme Forces Mercenaries
Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions Eilish Garrity, the Occultist

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Feat: Technological Superiority

Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warcaster      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

  • General
    • FOCUS (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warcaster's card. Focus (lowercase) refers to focus points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FOCUS stat, not double your focus points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warcasters are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      • There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warcaster rules.
    • Work out all damage modifiers (such as Decapitation doubling the damage that exceeds ARM) before reducing it with the Power Field. (Infernal Ruling)

Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)      
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argus can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Auto-Repair - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Field Marshal      (Edit)

  • Field marshal only grants the ability to warjacks in the battlegroup, so (normally) the warcaster does not have the Field Marshal ability.
  • However if it is listed on the caster's card separately, such as on Magnus2, then they do have it. (Closed thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Resourceful      (Edit)

  • Battlegroup members (Edit)
    • Spells that target/affect "models in the battlegroup" can also target/will also affect the caster, the caster's unit (if they have one), and the caster's Companion (if they have one).
    • It won't target/affect models which are Attached, though.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Soul Vessel      (Edit)

  • A Soul Vessel is not a living model in any way, so it will not trigger anything like Bloodthirst or Poison.
  • The only thing Soul Vessel means is that it produces a soul when it is destroyed, as if it were a living model.
    • This does lead to the odd situation where an ability that would normally RFP a living model and prevent a soul token being generated (such as Snacking) will not work vs a Soul Vessel. So the Vessel can't get snacked and will produce a soul.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dual Attack      (Edit)

  • Dual Attack only grants either:
    1. Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
    2. Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
      Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
  • A model with Dual Attack can make the attacks in any order.
    If they charge, they can do either melee or ranged first. If you charge and do ranged first, it doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
    • If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
  • You can target a model they are not in melee with with a ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Convection      (Edit)

  • A warjack can benefit from Convection multiple times.
  • A warjack cannot go over its normal focus limit (which is 3 for most jacks) as a result of Convection. Refer to the Cortex rules.

Rules Clarification : Hot-Shot - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Magnetic Hold - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reconstruct and/or Respawn     (Edit)

  • Note it heals 1 box of each system/aspect. Not 1 off each damage column/spiral.
  • Colossals/Gargatuans cannot be the target of this spell as they are not "large base or smaller".
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Synergy      (Edit)

  • Synergy is not retroactive. Synergy must be either upkept or cast before anything will trigger the cumulative bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You gain +1 bonus per model that hits. Not +1 per attack that hits.
  • The Synergy bonus affects other battlegroup models. The currently active model doesn't benefit from any bonuses that it earns.
  • It is possible to earn Synergy bonuses during the opponent's turn, if they're letting you get lots of free strikes.
  • If you have lots of out-of-activation attacks (such as the aforementioned free strikes), you're going to have a bookkeeping nightmare thanks to the "only get bonuses from other model's attacks" rule. Good luck!

Back Story[edit]

Every member of the Convergence is devoted to the completion of the Great Work, but Forge Master Syntherion applies his piety to everything created in his forges, seeing the fractal perfection of the part as it will extend to the whole. In his eyes, each machine built is a communion with his goddess, a sacrament that reaffirms his connection with the Maiden of Gears.

Syntherion is perhaps closer to absolute synergy with the machine than any other Convergence leader. His life before his transformation is but the barest glimmer in his vast mind, and he has long since surrendered nearly all human emotions. Constantly processing and as a remote as the disembodied members of the Constellation, his mind is occupied with complex equations, energy schematics, and the application of engineering principles. He is so at one with his work that he can loose himself in it for days on end without any awareness whatsoever of time passing.

Rather than overseeing a single facility, Syntherion goes where he is needed, tasked by Father Lucant and Iron Mother Directrix both to improve the machinery of the temples and to lead Convergence forces deep into enemy territory. With his army, the forge master claims the key territories required to further the Great Work. He efficiently clears out any opposition he encounters before rapidly constructing the transformative machinery required to realign geomantic energies. This work completed, he moves on to the next vital task. To him, even the most difficult battle is little more than an inconvenient distraction.

Even among his fellows, Syntherion's innate comprehension of engineering borders on the sublime. He understand machines on a purely harmonic level, with a flawless and instinctual grasp of both form and function. Syntherion's technical ability is greatly admired among the Convergence and his grasp of the machine is so far advanced few outside the sect can even begin to undersand his innovations. Likewise, he can replicate - if not improve - new technology after only a glance. To his peers, his thought process is alien and unfathomable.