| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
First Mate Hawk
Mercenary Privateer Character Solo
- Cutlass (x2) - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapons
- Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
- Mercenary - will work for as a Cygnar mercenary, Cryx mercenary, Khador mercenary, and as a Protectorate of Menoth mercenary.
- Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
- Parry - This model cannot be targeted by free strikes.
- Acrobatics - This model can advance through other models if it has enough movement to move completely past their bases. This model ignores intervening models when declaring its charge target.
- Sucker! - If this model is hit with a ranged attack, it must redirect the shot to a nearby friendly warrior.
- Object of Desire - While in Hawk's CMD range, friendly Sea Dog models gain +d6 damage on their Hand Weapon attacks vs warrior models.
Thoughts on First Mate Hawk
First Mate Hawk in a nutshell
Hawk is a fast moving melee solo who can reach tough spots with her acrobatics - and makes sea dogs hit enemy warrior models harder when they brawl.
Combos and Synergies
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Extra damage dice are seldom needed when infantry charge infantry. Multi wound infantry are fairly rare at present.
- She's squishy enough that most anti-infantry tech kills her easily. While costing as much as three Press Gangers. She's overpriced by a point.
- She herself doesn't hit that hard.
Tricks & Tips
Originally released in Pirates of the Broken Coast (2007)
Other Mercenary models
Rules Clarification : Acrobatics (Edit)
- Charging through models (Edit)
- You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
- Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
- Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
- You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- Sacrificial Pawn & Grim Salvation are optional, but Sucker! is not
- Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, chain attacks.
- Spells are not basic attacks, because they are not "made with a weapon". (Infernal Ruling)
- CRA and CMA are basic attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a Special Attack generates an additional attack (such as Multi-Fire), the second attack will be basic and as such can have Grim Salvation used vs it. (Infernal Ruling)
- Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
- None of them work vs magic attacks (spells). All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
- The model the attack is transferred to is always hit, even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed (such as Stealth).
Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than when the attack is moved. (Infernal Ruling)
From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable
- Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model.
- The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
- Sprays and AOEs
- A model hit by a spray attack can use Sacrificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The placement of the template does not change.
- Note that this may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
- A model directly hit by a AOE may use Sacificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The AOE template is moved (because Sac Pawn is resolved at Step 6 of the Attack Sequence in Apdx A, but AOE placement occurs at Step 7).
- Depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are, the first guy might get clipped by the AOE anyway.
- A model indirectly hit by an AOE cannot use Sac Pawn.
- Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
- If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
- Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
- Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn
- If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
- This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.
Rules Clarification : Parry - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Object of Desire (Edit)
- Because this rule uses Hand Weapons as a proper noun, the buff only applies to weapons called Hand Weapon.
- It doesn't apply to the Pirate's Point Blank attacks. That weapon is called 'Pistol'.
- It does apply to River Raider's 'Poisoned Hand Weapons'. (Infernal Ruling)