| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Fane Knight Skeryth Issyen
Retribution Dragoon Character Fane Knight Solo
Fane Knights are soldiers who have answered a divine calling and feel chosen to pledge their lives to the defense of Scyrah. They have vowed to protect both the fane and the goddess to their last heartbeat. Despite the warnings of his priests and superiors, he has turned to the Retribution for answers. Skeryth longs for battle and increasingly rests his hopes on the Retribution’s claim that fighting humanity will provide relief to the goddess.
- Needle of Lacyr - 2" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon.
- Blessed - Attacks with this weapon ignore spells & animi that add to the target's DEF or ARM.
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
- Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
- Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 12 Mount attack.
- Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
- Dragoon - Dragoons begin the game as a Cavalry model but can become dismounted during play. When they do so, their stats go down slightly and they lose some of their special rules & equipment.
- Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
- Righteous Fury - When one or more friendly Faction models are destroyed by an enemy attack while within this model's CMD range, this model gains +2 STR & ARM for one round.
- Shield Guard - Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack during your opponent's turn while within 3" of this model, you can choose to have this model directly hit instead. This model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. This model cannot use Shield Guard while it is incorporeal, knocked down, or stationary.
- Righteous Fury - As above
- Shield Guard - As above
Analysis of Fane Knight Skeryth Issyen
Fane Knight Skeryth Issyen in a Nutshell
Skeryth is a dual purpose solo: he can be a tough bodyguard for an important model of yours, or he can turn into a cruise missile, and deliver a powerful and accurate melee punch up to 13", unaided. He doesn't offer much utility to the rest of the army, like Laddermore or Gravus; instead, he nurtures on their demise, which pumps up both his offensive, and defensive capabilities.
Combos & Synergies
Regardless of the role you intended to use Skeryth in, he can act pretty well on his own. The only trick about him is to have him close enough to his army, so he can reap the benefits from Righteous Vengeance. Direct support can be warranted on such an expensive solo, so consider mainly boosts for his hitting power, and sources of Pathfinder, if you want to use him offensively.
- Thyron's Storm Rager spell to make him terrifyingly strong and durable.
- Vyros2 - He brings a package of army-wide ARM buff and Pathfinder, while his feat makes Skeryth's delivery easier.
- Elara - another caster, who fixes terrain issues, and boosts threat ranges nicely
- Ravyn - Veil of Mists is a situational, but great terrain fixer, and occasionally allows you to charge through your own models. Try attacks against enemies in her Vortex of Destruction zone, and your opponent smile won't be sincere.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Large base = hard to screen.
- No native Pathfinder or Tactician to help him with maneuvering and terrain.
- If you just want a shield guard, the Fane Knight Guardian is cheaper, the Aspis has more HP (though not as well armored, as him)
Tricks & Tips
- When being dismounted it can be possible to dodge some attacks due to the difference in size between the mounted and dismounted forms by placing him at the back of the valid placement range. This won't necessarily work against models with extended melee ranges but against 0.5" models it can save his (second) life.
- Watch out for attack sequencing, and when Righteous Vengeance is being triggered. Simultaneous attacks, like Krueger1's Forked Lightning, Flak Field from the Minuteman or Rain of Death from the Devastator happen simultaneously, so you won't get the extra ARM against the damage, even if another model is killed by the same attack.
Originally released in Forces of Warmachine: Retribution of Scyrah (November 2009)
Defenders of Ios (Article) (Category)
Other Retribution models
Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath (Edit)
- Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
- You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
- If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
- For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
- For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
- The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
- This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Cavalry (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| Mount Weapon
- Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
- Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
- Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
- Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
- If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
- Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
- Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
- You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Movement
- You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
- The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
- Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
- If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
- As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
- On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.
Impact Attacks - The attack(s)
- You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
- If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
- If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Other
- You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.
- If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
- Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
- Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
- Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
- Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
- Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
- Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
- Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
- Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
- Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Dragoon (Edit)
- Dragoons become dismounted instead of becoming disabled, so you can't trigger anything that works on disabled (such as Tough) when you kill their horse.
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Righteous Fury - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Shield Guard (Edit)
- Shield Guard doesn't work vs spells.
- Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
- The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
- The Shield Guarder is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)
- You shift all effects onto the shield guard, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
- When you use Shield Guard vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
- Shield Guard doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
- On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.