Exemplar Vengers

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search
























This server will go offline in September 2018. Please migrate to our new server, Warmachine University




















.

For more info on why we're moving to a new server, check out the Brief History section on the new main page, and/or listen to episode 45 of the LOS podcast
If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot.
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.


Exemplar Vengers
Protectorate Exemplar Cavalry Unit

The powerful and relentless Exemplar vengers stand among the deadliest warriors of the Protectorate. They ride into battle on war-bred Idrian stallions to disintegrate enemy lines with their lances before drawing blades to finish any left standing. Vengers are fueled by their faith, and their Oath of Brotherhood conveys the pains of their brothers. Each drop of spilled venger blood inspires the survivors to fight harder.

Basic Info[edit]

Exemplar Vengers
Exemplar Vengers
Base size Large
SPD 8
MAT 7
DEF 12
ARM 17
CMD 9
HP 5 each
Unit Size 3/5
Cost 12/20
4 each
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Blessed Lance - 2" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon (for charges only).
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
    • Blessed - Attacks with this weapon ignore spells & animi that add to the target's DEF or ARM.
    • Lance - This weapon can only be used to make charge attacks.
  • Sword - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee attack (for non-charges only).
    • Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
    • Close Combat - If you charge at least 3", you can't make an initial attack with this weapon.
  • Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 12 mount attack.

Abilities[edit]

  • Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
  • Battle-Driven - If a model in this unit is damaged by an enemy attack the unit gains a +2 bonus to STR and ARM, and Pathfinder for a round.
  • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.


Thoughts on Exemplar Vengers[edit]

Exemplar Vengers in a Nutshell[edit]

Fast moving and hard hitting, especially when hurt, the Exemplar Vengers are just about everything you would expect from heavy cavalry.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Intercessor Kreoss - the leader of the Exemplar Vengers has Elite Cadre Divine Inspiration for them.
  • Anyone with a DEF/ARM buff. They are already pretty tough and can usefully be made even tougher. Casters with Defender's Ward, Inviolable Resolve or Ashen Veil are your best friends. Special mention for Kreoss2, his Tactician bonus can be crucial for setting up charge lanes.
  • Thyra loves fast, hard hitting models, and she often needs some extra punch for heavier targets. Her feat can give crucial extra inches to your charges.
  • The Harbinger of Menoth - If you lost your last hit box on a model, you can negate it with Martyrdom, and still trigger Battle Driven. Crusaders' Call, and Guided Hand ensures a solid alpha strike.
  • Rhupert - don't bank on Battle Driven to get the Pathfinder for your charge. Better to have a plan B, and he can also give your Vengers Tough against strong gunlines.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • All the inherited drawbacks of the heavy cavalry class: they are big and expensive targets.
  • Anything, that will deny charges, will take away the edge of their attack, and once bogged down in melee, they hit as hard as a regular infantry.
  • Without the bonus from Battle Driven, terrain can mean serious problem, if you did not bring another source of Pathfinder.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Watch for simultaneous attacks, like sweeps or Chain Lightning. You won't get Battle Driven's ARM bonus, until all damage rolls are being resolved.
  • Battle Driven can force your opponents to make tough choices. Leave them unscratched to deny bonus for their charges, or go all-in on destroying them, before they can reach your lines, and hit like a ton of bricks?


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Protectorate models[edit]

MenothLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Durst - Feora1 - Feora2 - Feora3 - Severius1 - Severius2 - Amon - Reznik1 - Reznik2 - Kreoss1 - Kreoss2 - Kreoss3 - Malekus - Harbinger - Reclaimer1 - Reclaimer2 - Durant2 - Thyra - Vindictus
P
R
O
T
E
C
T
O
R
A
T
E
Warcaster attachments Hierophant (Protectorate) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Bastion Seneschal (Marshal) - Durant1 (BGC) - Reclaimer Gatekeeper (Marshal)
Light warjacks Dervish - Devout - Purifier - Redeemer - Repenter - Revenger - Vigilant


Blessing of Vengeance

Heavy warjacks Castigator - Crusader - Guardian - Indictor - Reckoner - Sanctifier - Templar - Vanquisher

Avatar of Menoth - Blood of Martyrs - Eye of Truth - Fire of Salvation - Hand of Judgment - Scourge of Heresy

Colossal Judicator - Revelator
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Choir of Menoth - Daughters of the Flame - Deliverer Sunburst Crew - Deliverer Skyhammers - Exemplar Bastions - Exemplar Cinerators - Exemplar Errants - Exemplar Vengers - Flame Bringers - Flameguard Cleansers - Holy Zealots - Idrian Skirmishers - Knights Exemplar - Temple Flameguard

Visgoth Juviah Rhoven & Honor Guard
Ranking Officer: Attendant Priest

Solos Allegiant - Champion of the Wall - Deliverer Arms Master - Exemplar Bastion Seneschal - Exemplar Errant Seneschal - Hierophant (Attached) - Knights Exemplar Seneschal - Paladin of the Order of the Wall - Reclaimer Gatekeeper - Vassal Mechanik - Vassal of Menoth - Wrack

Gravus - Vilmon - Durant1 - Nicia - Pyrrhus - Covenant

Battle Engines Vessel of Judgment
 
Theme Forces
The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple
Merc menoth.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Ossrum - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game

P
R
O
C
T
O
R
A
T
E
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Rutger Shaw
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Protectorate army depends entirely on which mercenary 'caster is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Horgenhold Artillery - Horgenhold Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Thorn Gun Mages
Captain Sam & the Devildogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Blythe & Bull - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt
Solos Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Grogspar - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Bailoch - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn
Battle Engines None
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau


Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath     (Edit)

  • Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
  • You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
    In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
  • If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
    • For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
    • For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
  • The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
  • This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Lance      (Edit)

  • If you declare a charge but move less than 3", then it doesn't count as a charge attack and you can't use your Lance.
  • If you kill your charge target with an Impact Attack, then you "lose" your Lance attack. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Close Combat      (Edit)

  • If you declare a charge but move less than 3", then it doesn't count as a charge attack and you can use this weapon.
  • You can purchase additional attacks, make free strikes, etc with this weapon regardless of whether you charged or not.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.

Rules Clarification : Battle-Driven - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)