Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.
Protectorate Exemplar Unit
Armed with blessed crossbows capable of piercing even arcane wards, Exemplar Errants act as the hand of Menoth sent forth to strike at enemies abroad. With passages from the Canon of the True Law inscribed upon their shields, these dedicated knights devote themselves fully to the Protectorate’s holy crusades. Each is more than willing to sacrifice his own life to allow one of his brothers to fight on in Menoth’s name.
| Unit Size
|See also How to Read the statblock
Everyone except Standard Bearer (who is unarmed)
- Heavy Crossbow - 10" range, POW 10 gun
- Sword - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee wepaon.
- Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
- Entire Unit
- Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
- Self-Sacrifice - When this model would be killed by an enemy, you may instead choose a nearby model in the same unit to die in its place.
- Officer only
- He has +1 MAT & RAT, and 5 hitpoints
- Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
- Purity (Minifeat) - Once per game, upkeeps/animi on the unit to expire and the unit can't be targeted by enemy spells for a round.
- Tactics: Assault - The unit gains Assault. (Assault - This model may make a ranged attack as part of its charge.)
- Standard only
- Standard Bearer - While the standard bearer is within 5" of the unit commander, the commander gains +2 CMD.
- Take Up - If this model is killed you may instead remove a Grunt within 1". Remove any effects on this model, and apply any effects that were on the old grunt.
Thoughts on Exemplar Errants
Exemplar Errants in a nutshell
Exemplar Errants are your combined-arms, single-wound, weapon-master infantry, deploying forward and thinning your enemies ranks before getting stuck in. It is not common on single wound units to have ranged magic attacks, making the Errants ideal deterrents against cheap, Incorporeal solo pieces (Gremlin Swarm, Feralgeist, Machine Wraith, etc.) who would otherwise contest zones and flags with impunity. Their defining trait is Self-Sacrifice, which interacts with a load of rules, happening upon the destruction of a model. Check Tips and Tricks for details.
Adding their CA
The only real purpose of the standard bearer in most games is to be a sacrifice.
Combos & Synergies
Drawbacks and Downsides
- Grievous Wounds and the like prevents their self-sacrifice tricks from working.
- They aren't much good for dealing with terrain (for that you want the Idrian Skirmishers)
Tricks and Tips
Self-Sacrifice is a great tool to enrage your opponent.
- Self-Sacrifice prevents anything triggering on destroy. For example Sprint, Berserk, Swift Hunter, Snap Fire, Overtake, War Path, Quick Work, etc.
- Cavalry can't move on after charge impact attack then Self-Sacrifice another Errant.
- It also can be used to stay engaged. This especially helps to keep an Arc Node engaged to prohibit that caster or locks spell through them.
- When contemplating the use of Self-Sacrifice, remember that in some cases when you remove a different model from the one being hit, it could leave the first model still within range of yet another attack, resulting in further casualties to the unit.
- Errants sacrifice themselves for each other. So sacrifice the ones that have yet to take the attack and keep the ones that have already been attacked alive.
- The unit (not including CA) was originally released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)
- The CA was released in Warmachine: Protectorate of Menoth (April 2010)
- The Errant unit was re-released as a plastic set, but the UA is still metal. The newer plastic models are noticeably shorter than their UA counterparts, which can lead to you wondering why one of the bigger guys is just holding a flag instead of beating people down.
Other Protectorate models
Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath (Edit)
- Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
- You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
- If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
- For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
- For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
- The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
- This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Self-Sacrifice and/or Roth's Mercy (Edit)
- The model that is destroyed is not destroyed by an enemy attack, instead it is destroyed by the Self-Sac ability. (Infernal Ruling)
- This allows you to nullify many enemy abilities (such as Overtake and Blood Boon).
- However, it will not nullify all abilities, some abilities don't care who destroyed what (such as Soul Taker or Body Snatcher).
- An enemy ability that prevents healing (such as Entropic Force) does not prevent you triggering Self-Sacrifice ... it just prevents the part where you heal.
- This means you could end up with 2 dead models and 0 healed models; a particularly unfriendly opponent is perfectly within his rights to let you declare self-sacrifice, remove a 2nd model via self-sacrifice, then refuse to let you heal the first one.
- If multiple models are caught in the same attack (for instance, an AOE), then they can't self-sacrifice to each other (because they're all disabled at the same time).
- However, if you have Self-Sacrifice & Tough they trigger at the same time. So you resolve tough first and if anyone in the AOE passes they become non-disabled. Since it's simultaneous, that model is now a valid target for self-sacrifice for the other guys in the AOE.
Rules Clarification : Officer (Edit)
- Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
- When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
- But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
Rules Clarification : Purity (Edit)
- This causes friendly upkeeps/animi to expire, too.
- You can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-Purity model.
Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted (Edit)
- Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
- Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
Rules Clarification: : Assault (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
Step 1: Declare the charge
- Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
- If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
- If no, continue to Step 2.
- Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
- You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).
Step 2: Move the charging model
- As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
- Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
- Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
- Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata.
- Did you fail the charge? You still get the Assault shot anyway.
- Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata and also this (Infernal Ruling)
- Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you (or your opponent) can trigger "Ends Movement" effects.
- Nothing that happens from this point onwards will retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge, or vice versa.
- If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
The Infernal Ruling dictates that Assault is not a "triggered ability" (since if it was, you wouldn't be able to cast a spell between ending movement and using your Assault shot).
Thus Assault will never occur simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot
Step 3: Make the ranged attack
- The ranged attack is optional.
- Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
- Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
- Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
- If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
- Is the target in melee with the shooter?
- If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
- If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.
Step 4: If you miss
- If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
- If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, then ...
- Randomly reassign the shot (as per the TMM rules) (nothing in Assault says it ignores this).
- Do not include the shooting model in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) but do include models the shooter is in melee with (as per the TMM rules).
- If the shot is randomly reassigned to a friendly model, then they will always get the +4 DEF bonus. The only way to ignore that bonus is if the 'point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target' and you can never be in melee with a friendly model.
Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack
- If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
- If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
- still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
- dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
- Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).
- Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
- Assault & CRA (Edit)
- You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)
- Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
- Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
- With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
- So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
- If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
- But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
- Assault & Drag ( Edit )
- You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
- If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
- It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
- You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).
Rules Clarification : Standard Bearer (Edit)
- If the Officer dies, the Standard Bearer can give the CMD bonus to the Leader model.
Rules Clarification : Take Up (Edit)
- The model taken off the table is effectively killed by Take Up, not the original attack, so it will stop abilities like Berserk and Killing Spree. (Locked thread)
Note to Editors
To edit CA's tagged abilities, Click here