Mercenary, and Retribution Partisan, Mage Hunter Character Solo
Loyal only to her own convictions, the Mage Hunter character sells her sword and crossbow to any army that provides an opportunity to eliminate a Warcaster from her world.
- Crossbow - 12" range, POW 10 ranged weapon.
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
- Attack Type - Each time this weapon is used to make an attack, choose one of the following special rules:
- Deadly Shot - Instead of making a damage roll to resolve an attack with this weapon, you can choose to have a model hit by this weapon suffer 3 damage points instead. A model disabled by this attack cannot make a Tough roll.
- Disruptor Bolt - A model hit by this attack loses all their focus and fury points. Warcasters hit can't replenish focus in their next turn. Warjacks hit suffer Disruption.
- Phantom Seeker - Eiryss ignores LOS, concealment, and cover when making this attack.
- Bayonet - 0.5" reach, P+S 6 melee weapon
- Damage Type: Magical - As above
- Saber - 0.5" reach, P+S 7 melee weapon
- Damage Type: Magical - As above
- Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
- Mercenary - She will work as a Cygnar mercenary, Khador mercenary, Protectorate of Menoth mercenary, & as a Retribution of Scyrah Partisan
- Partisan [Retribution of Scyrah] - When included in a Retribution of Scyrah army, this model/unit is a Retribution of Scyrah model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.
Analysis of Eiryss, Mage Hunter of Ios
Eiryss, Mage Hunter of Ios in a nutshell
Eiryss is a common choice as a free solo selection in any theme list that allows her due to her game-winning potential, control and utility. Her Disruptor Bolt ends games, but also keeps warjacks in check. Death Bolt is a handy finishing move that also lets her kill high ARM infantry despite her POW 10 crossbow. Phantom Seeker lets her shoot those hard to reach solos who think they're safe. There is almost never a turn where she has nothing useful to do.
Combos & Synergies
Drawbacks and Downsides
- Shield Guard stops her. If the enemy keeps a single shield guard back to protect their caster she's almost neutralised.
- She costs as much as a Talon and more than a Buccaneer and has nowhere near the resilience or damage potential of a light warjack.
Tricks and Tips
- Don't let her get too far forward, unless you like seeing her die.
- By placing her opposite the enemy caster, she can dictate where that caster feels 'safe' moving to.
- While only warjacks suffer disruption, Disruptor Bolt can still be useful against hordes factions. Stripping fury from hordes beasts can be useful to force the enemy warlock to cut, or to prevent them from reaving fury.
- Keep an eye out for other models that store fury or focus such as the krielstone bearer, celestial fulcrum, forsaken, corollary, hydra, or cephalyx monstrosities.
Originally released in Warmachine: Prime (2003)
Other Faction models
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant (Edit)
- If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.
Rules Clarification : Deadly Shot - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Disruptor Bolt (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Disruption (Edit)
- If a model is disrupted, it cannot get focus for any reason. Whether the rule says 'allocate', 'gain', 'receive' or 'give' ... Disruption stops it all. (Infernal Ruling)
- Despite being unable to channel spells, a warjack can still be the target of spells just fine.
Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Stealth (Edit)
- "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
- For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
Rules Clarification : Partisan (Edit)
- This model is normally "friendly faction" to other mercenary models. However, when taken in the Partisan faction it is "friendly faction" to that faction and not to any other mercenaries that are in that force.
- For instance, if you take Gallant in a Mercenary force he is "friendly faction" to, say, Reinholdt. But if you take them both in a Cygnar force then Gallant counts as a Cygnar model and is no longer "friendly faction" to Reinholdt.
- Partisan Warcasters can be taken in faction theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.
- When taken in a Mercenary army, Partisan units may not take attachments from their "parent" army (eg Nyss Hunters can only take a Retribution Soulless Escort when they're fielded in a Retribution army). (Locked thread)