Eiryss, Angel of Retribution
Mercenary, and Retribution Partisan, Mage Hunter Character Solo
Eiryss has spent years cutting down humans who would profane Caen and her goddess with foul sorceries, but she has seen first-hand that the wars and magics of mankind threaten to destroy her people and her gods. Eiryss has returned to her lonely fight with renewed conviction and new tools to hunt and slay human spell-casters and their perverse machines.
- Crossbow - 12" range, POW 10 ranged weapon.
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
- Blessed - Attacks with this weapon ignore spells & animi that add to the target's DEF or ARM.
- Disruption - A warjack hit will lose all focus points. It also can't gain focus or channel spells for one round.
- Purgation - Add an additional die to attack and damage rolls if the target has an enemy upkeep spell or animus on them.
- Bayonet - 0.5" reach, P+S 6 melee weapon.
- Damage Type: Magical - As above
- Blessed - As above
- Disruption - As above
- Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
- Saber - 0.5" reach, P+S 7 melee weapon.
- Damage Type: Magical - As above
- Blessed - As above
- Disruption - As above
- Weapon Master - As above
- Mercenary - She will work as a Cygnar mercenary, Khador mercenary, Protectorate of Menoth mercenary, & as a Retribution of Scyrah Partisan
- Partisan [Retribution of Scyrah] - When included in a Retribution of Scyrah army, this model/unit is a Retribution of Scyrah model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.
- Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
- Spell Breaker - When Eiryss hits another model with an attack, enemy upkeep spells on the model hit expire. A spellcaster can keep that upkeep spell in play by suffering d3 damage points.
- Witch Hunter - When an enemy model declares it is casting a spell while within 10" of this model, this model may immediately make a basic attack vs that caster. If caster is killed, spell does not take effect.
- Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
- Assault - This model may make a ranged attack as part of its charge.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
Thoughts on Eiryss, Angel of Retribution
Eiryss, Angel of Retribution in a nutshell
This incarnation of Eiryss is more focused around killing spellcasting units and solos or breaking up buffed infantry than her threat to casters or warbeasts. Disruption still lets her annoy jacks, but with the volume of attacks she can put out on the charge she can quite easily knock out spell buffed basic troopers and soak resources from the caster in doing so. Witch Hunter ensures that nothing short of a warcaster will cast while close to her, forcing order of activation issues to keep her tied up.
Combos & Synergies
Eiryss will help your army out in 4 ways:
- Disrupting Warjacks, perferably ones with Arc Nodes.
- Removing buff upkeeps spells from units or causing their casters damage.
- Killing or threatening enemy magic users.
- Providing retaliation and/or protection from enemy spells.
Some things that can help Eiryss be extra annoying in doing the above:
- Use Garryth to cast Sentry on her, for a second disruption bolt every turn.
- Casting Ghost Walk on her is also a fantastic way to get her up to those magic users hiding in the back.
Drawbacks and Downsides
- Low armour ensures that if you can land a charge on her she will die, and is potentially vulnerable to blast damage.
- Spell Breaker and Purgation on the Crossbow have some Skornergy with each other - as the former strips off the upkeep on a hit, the latter won't get the extra die on damage. Of course, your enemy can choose to keep the spell in play for D3 damage, AND the target to suffer +1D6 damage, but that will rarely happen.
- For most casters the only damage box that matters is the last one. They will simply take the Spell Breaker damage and shrug. However, casters with few HP, like Cygnar's Journeymen, will think twice before upkeeping the spells.
- She costs as much as a Buccaneer and is nowhere near as resilient as a warjack.
Tricks and Tips
- Assault is awesome on her - with a potential threat range of 22", once you get LOS on the target, send a bolt into it from afar.
- Spell Breaker works on your own units too; in dire need you can shoot your own model to remove a pesky enemy upkeep.
- Spell Breaker only removes enemy upkeeps on a target model, so feel free to cast yours (like Rebuke), it will remain on them.
- For merely killing enhanced troops at range, Harlan Versh is a cheaper solution, but for hunting and de-buffing high priority targets, Eiryss is better.
- Originally released in Warmachine: Legends (2008)
- Global warming across Immoren has led to Eiryss2 wearing less clothes and showing off her midriff and chest.
Other Faction models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath (Edit)
- Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
- You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
- If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
- For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
- For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
- The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
- This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
Rules Clarification : Disruption (Edit)
- If a model is disrupted, it cannot get focus for any reason. Whether the rule says 'allocate', 'gain', 'receive' or 'give' ... Disruption stops it all. (Infernal Ruling)
- Despite being unable to channel spells, a warjack can still be the target of spells just fine.
Rules Clarification : Purgation (Edit)
- Purgation does not ignore any buffs the upkeep spell is giving your target (you'll want something like Blessed to do that).
- Purgation applies if you're attacking friendly models with an enemy upkeep on them.
- If the upkeep expires after the model is hit (for instance being hit by Eiryss2's Spell Breaker), then Purgation won't be applied to the damage roll. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Partisan (Edit)
- This model is normally "friendly faction" to other mercenary models. However, when taken in the Partisan faction it is "friendly faction" to that faction and not to any other mercenaries that are in that force.
- For instance, if you take Gallant in a Mercenary force he is "friendly faction" to, say, Reinholdt. But if you take them both in a Cygnar force then Gallant counts as a Cygnar model and is no longer "friendly faction" to Reinholdt.
- Partisan Warcasters can be taken in faction theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.
- When taken in a Mercenary army, Partisan units may not take attachments from their "parent" army (eg Nyss Hunters can only take a Retribution Soulless Escort when they're fielded in a Retribution army). (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Spell Breaker - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Witch Hunter (Edit)
- Magic Abilities and Animi count as spells too.
- There is no limit to how many attacks a Witch Hunter can trigger. If your opponent keeps casting spells, you can keep attacking them.
- Witch Hunter triggers on step 1 of the spellcasting sequence. After the cost has been paid, or combat action, or whatever else triggers the model to cast a spell such as battle wizard or etc. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Assault (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
Step 1: Declare the charge
- Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
- If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
- If no, continue to Step 2.
- Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
- You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).
Step 2: Move the charging model
- As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
- Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
- Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
- Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata.
- Did you fail the charge? You still get the Assault shot anyway.
- Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata and also this (Infernal Ruling)
- Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you (or your opponent) can trigger "Ends Movement" effects.
- Nothing that happens from this point onwards will retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge, or vice versa.
- If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
The Infernal Ruling dictates that Assault is not a "triggered ability" (since if it was, you wouldn't be able to cast a spell between ending movement and using your Assault shot).
Thus Assault will never occur simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot
Step 3: Make the ranged attack
- The ranged attack is optional.
- Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
- Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
- Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
- If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
- Is the target in melee with the shooter?
- If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
- If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.
Step 4: If you miss
- If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
- If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, then ...
- Randomly reassign the shot (as per the TMM rules) (nothing in Assault says it ignores this).
- Do not include the shooting model in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) but do include models the shooter is in melee with (as per the TMM rules).
- If the shot is randomly reassigned to a friendly model, then they will always get the +4 DEF bonus. The only way to ignore that bonus is if the 'point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target' and you can never be in melee with a friendly model.
Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack
- If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
- If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
- still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
- dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
- Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).
- Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
- Assault & CRA (Edit)
- You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)
- Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
- Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
- With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
- So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
- If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
- But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
- Assault & Drag ( Edit )
- You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
- If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
- It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
- You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).
Rules Clarification : Stealth (Edit)
- "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
- For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.