Discordia

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

This server will go offline in September 2018. Please migrate to our new server, Warmachine University
For more info on why we're moving to a new server, check out the Brief History section on the new main page, and/or listen to episode 45 of the LOS podcast
If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot.
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.


Discordia
Retribution Shyeel Character Heavy Warjack

Discordia, the favored myrmidon of Adeptis Rahn, is arguably the pinnacle of Iosan warjack technology. Capable of projecting a wall of force energy around friendly forces or focusing that energy into a concentrated wave to shatter all opposition in its path, Discordia is a singular symbol of House Shyeel’s—if not the Retribution’s—might.

Basic Info[edit]

Discordia
Retribution Discordia.jpg
SPD 6
STR 10
MAT 7
RAT 6
DEF 12
ARM 18
Force Field 10
HP 22
Cost 18
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Blade Fist (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 16 melee weapons
    • Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.
    • Chain Attack: Smite - If both initials with this weapon hit the same target, then you get to make a free slam vs it. POW is included in slam damage, but not collateral damage.

Abilities[edit]

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Force Fields - this warjack has an extra damage track that takes damage first.
  • Field Dependent - If this model's Generator is crippled, it loses Imprint and cannot make attacks with its Sonic Pulse Cannon
  • Bond [Rahn] - If this model begins the game in Rahn's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Rahn and in their CTRL range, the benefit of ignoring any and all crippled systems
  • Imprint [Kinetic Field] - This model can spend 1 focus to gain Kinetic Field. (Kinetic Field - Discordia and friendly Faction models within 3" gain +2 ARM vs ranged attacks and are immune to blast damage.)

Thoughts on Discordia[edit]

Discordia in a nutshell[edit]

Discordia (or simply just Disco') is Rahn's character warjack, and gains the best of both worlds. Cygnar DEF+MAT+RAT, Cryx SPD, Khador-ish ARM with its Imprint, and a very strong spray that would make any Menite jack green with envy - all that for a reasonable price tag. Its melee attacks can bring down enemy heavies, and the Chain Attack can make for an interesting combo, with an aim-able slam attack. Due to its Imprint it is often the cornerstone of defensible formations, and usually helps to deliver a portion of the army. Its bond with Rahn basically equals the Fail Safe spell, making it near-impossible to cripple, and posing a constant threat until taken out completely.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Theme forces

  • With the changes in the Forges of War list, Discordia can only come into the themes with Rahn. Fortunately, it is not much of a burden, as they form an awesome pair. The importance of its bond cannot be overestimated. Discordia is on one box? You can still charge, run, boost, power up, combo smite, use your spray attack, repair force field - provided you're still in Rahn's CTRL area.
  • Every model enjoys the benefit of improved ARM - especially the ones who are already well armoured. Stand near an AFG to make it effectively ARM 24 against ranged attacks.

Outside themes

  • You may want to look for casters with ARM buff to further exploit Discordia's Imprint. Vyros1's Inviolable Resolve spell, or Helynna, another Jack caster, with ARM buff spell and feat are ideal choices.
  • Dawnguard Sentinels with their UA, affected by Discordia's Imprint, and the above mentioned ARM buffs may form a nigh-uncrackable wall of ARM.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • High priority target
  • Can be focus hungry between its Imprint and to ensure that both initials will hit for the chain attack

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • You can use the Imprint and run in the same activation - just remember to use it before running, as your activation immediately ends, once you finished your advance.
  • You can use the Imprint to defend your troops vs your own incoming AOEs, say from Stormfall Archers, or the Hyperion's Starburst.
  • Beware AOEs that inflict effects on models hit (such as Continuous Fire from a Vanquisher). In this case, clustering your troops up to avoid blast damage is probably not the wisest move.
  • Smart enemies will try to push/slam you out. While Push can be negated by almost any figure out there, slam is a bit more difficult to resist. Rahn, being immune to both Knockdown and collateral damage can stand behind the jack to keep it in position. If he stands directly in the slam's line, Discordia will remain in place if the slam distance is less than 3,5".

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in Warmachine: Wrath (2011)

Theme Forces[edit]

When taken in Rahn's battlegroup, this model can be taken in:

When taken in someone else’s battlegroup, this model can’t be taken in theme forces.

Other Retribution models[edit]

RetLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Rahn1 - Vyros1 - Vyros2 - Elara2 - Garryth1 - Goreshade4 - Issyria1 - Kaelyssa1 - Ossyan1 - Ravyn1 - Thyron1 - Helynna1
R
E
T
R
I
B
U
T
I
O
N
Warcaster attachments Fane Knight Guardian (Retribution) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Retribution) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Elara1 (BGC) - Sentinel Scyir - Artificer
Light warjacks Aspis - Chimera - Gorgon - Griffon - Harpy - Siren
Moros
Heavy warjacks Banshee - Daemon - Hydra - Manticore - Phoenix - Sphinx
Discordia - Hypnos - Hemera - Imperatus
Colossal Hyperion - Helios
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Destors - Invictors - Sentinels - Heavy Rifle Team - Swordsmen - Arcanists - Battle Mages - Electromancers - Halberdiers - Riflemen - Infiltrators - Strike Force - Ryssovass Defenders - Stormfall Archers
Nyss Hunters - Spears of Scyrah
Special: Eiryss3 (CA) - Soulless Escort (WA)
Solos Arcanist Mechanik - Destor Thane - Sentinel Scyir - Ghost Sniper - Artificer - Magister - Houseguard Thane - Lys Healer - Assassin - Priest of Nyssor - Soulless Voidtracer

Aelyth Vyr - Eirrys1 - Eiryss2 - Elara1 - Issyen - Narn - Nayl - Lanyssa

Battle Engines Arcantrik Force Generator
 
Theme Forces
Defenders of Ios - Forges of War - Legions of Dawn - Shadows of the Retribution
RetMercLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Retribution Mercenary Models/Units
Units Lady Aiyana & Master Holt - Lynus Wesselbaum & Edrea Lloryrr
Solos Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan


Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
  • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
  • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
  • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Chain Attack      (Edit)

  • Some Chain Attacks generate a Power Attack (such as Chain Attack: Throw. These Chains can be used after charging, even though Power Attacks normally can't be used after a charge. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Buying extra attacks with fury or focus cannot trigger a Chain Attack - only initial attacks can trigger it.
  • If you have 3 weapons but only 2 of them are associated with the Chain Attack, then you can make that 3rd initial attack at any point without it preventing the Chain Attack from triggering.
    Also, interrupting your initials to resolve the Chain Attack will not prevent you taking the 3rd initial.
    For example, the Cryx Nightmare has two Claws with a Chain Attack, plus some Tusks. When he makes his initial attacks he can go:
    • [Claw] - [Tusks] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack] ... even though the two Claw attacks weren't sequential.
    • [Claw] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack] - [Tusks] ... even though he did the Chain Attack before getting to his initial Tusk.
    • [Tusks] - [Claw] - [Claw] - [Chain Attack]
    • He cannot go ... [Claw] - [Claw] - [Tusks] - [Chain Attack] ... because you must resolve the Chain Attack as soon as it's triggered, or not at all.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Smite      (Edit)

  • This rule changed in Mk3 to no longer say it "adds the weapon's POW". It still does add the POW, however, because the whole section on calculating Slam damage was reworded in the main rulebook.
  • Smite is not a Power Attack Slam, it is just an attack which causes a model to be slammed. As such, you can smite friendly models.
  • You can trigger Critical Smite on a free strike.
  • If you Smite on a charge, then the slam damage will be boosted.
  • See also the clarifications on being slammed


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Imprint - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Kinetic Field - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Field Dependent - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Force Fields      (Edit)

  • You cannot spend focus to heal Force Fields mid-move, such as taking damage from a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot repair force fields, but you can spend focus to remove damage. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Grievous Wounds prevents removing damage from force fields. (Locked Thread)