Khador Heavy Warjack
Behind its plates of steel, the Devastator is all but unassailable, yet it can open its armored shell to unleash a rain of deadly shrapnel from its grenade launchers.
|(★) Drops to ARM 19 after attacking.
|See also How to Read the statblock
Weapons and Attacks
- Shield Fist (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 16 melee weapons
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Armored Shell - If this model makes an attack other than a head-butt, slam, or trample power attack, its base ARM is 19 until the start of its next activation.
- Bulldoze - When this model is B2B with an enemy model during its Normal Movement, it can push that model up to 2" directly away from it. A model can be pushed by Bulldoze only once per activation. Bulldoze has no effect when this model makes a trample power attack.
- Rain of Death (★ Attack) - This attack does not need a target. Models B2B with the Devastator suffer a POW 18 blast damage roll. Other models within 3" suffer a POW 9 blast damage roll. The Devastator itself is not damaged by Rain of Death. You can purchase additional melee attacks after a Rain of Death. The Devastator can perform a Rain of Death after charging instead of making a charge attack.
- Steady - This model can't be knocked down.
- Sturdy - This model cannot be pushed.
Thoughts on Devastator
Devastator in a nutshell
Devastator is the epitome of the Khador ARM-skew - a Hunter will roll dice-6 for damage, while the Defender or Stormwall will likely to see their unboosted cannonballs bouncing off from its hull. It is the most basic Clamjack - slowly runs up to the enemy to smash them, and blow them to bits with Rain of Death!
Combos & Synergies
The Devastator is a pretty tough nut to crack, and even harder to stop, thanks to Sturdy and Steady. Being a typical Khadorian heavy, it likes those, who can make it faster, or more accurate and deadly.
- Casters with Superiority - Irusk1 or Strakhov
- Butcher 1 - Full Throttle is tailor-made for trampling around.
- Butcher 2 - Conferred Rage, along with Fury makes it truly a powerhouse
- "Jack Casters" - Karchev and Harkevich, both offer quite a lot for melee capable, tough jacks, especially SPD buff.
- Thanks to its simplicity, it is ideal candidate for marshaling with the Man-o-War Konvnik (though the Demolisher with its guns suits even better)
Drawbacks & Downsides
- No guns.
- Their accuracy in melee lags behind the Juggernaut chassis.
- Quite possibly the only warjack beside the Demolisher which gets weaker upon attacking (even with Rain of Death), giving the enemy the chance to take it down.
Tricks & Tips
- It works well in pair with the Demolisher; thanks to Girded, it is immune to RoD damage, and so are infantry in B2B with the Demolisher.
- Bulldoze is a great tool to push an enemy out of control zones/flags. Then take their place, and see how they try to remove your jack.
- Don't want to compromise your armour? Trample / Slam around, and open up the shell only in the critical moment.
Originally released in Warmachine: Escalation (2004)
Themes for generic warjacks (Edit)
Other faction models
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule menas a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Armored Shell (Edit)
- Being knocked down does not open the shell.
- You may regain your ARM bonus in the same turn as losing it - for instance you make an out-of-activation attack first, lose the bonus, then activate your jack and immediately regain the bonus.
Rules Clarification: : Bulldoze (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
People think Bulldoze works like a bowling ball hitting tenpins.
But this is wrong because the models haven't been moved DIRECTLY away.
Whereas if you move models DIRECTLY away, you bulldoze the first guy okay, but then the next one's path is blocked (shown in red), and you get stuck.
Bulldoze - General
- Models are pushed directly away from you at the point of contact. Some players do this incorrectly - refer to the section on moving bulldoze models, below.
- You cannot cast spells or use any other "any time" abilities when you 'stop' to resolve the Bulldoze movement. It's just a pause, not a stop.
- If you attempt to Bulldoze a model out of your charge lane, and it does not move far enough, it will block you and potentially cause a failed charge.
- The size of the Bulldozer vs the Bulldozed does not matter. A small model pushes a large model just fine. (Just don't expect to move a Colossal etc.)
- Bulldoze only works during your Normal Movement. This includes runs, charges, and slams; not just full advances.
- You can't make free strikes against models you bulldoze (because for them it is involuntary movement).
- You can use Bulldoze to get the charge bonus against models between 1 and 3" away. Simply move into B2B, bulldoze them 2" to make some more room, then you can move 2" further forward to get to the "moved at least 3 inches" requirement.
- Similarly for Slams vs models within 1-3".
- Enemy models with 2" melee range will still engage you after being bulldozed. Because they will be exactly 2" away and thus still within 2".
- An enemy model can only be pushed once by the Bulldozer, but if you have multiple Bulldozer models then you could push the same enemy multiple times.
Moving Bulldozers and Bulldozed models
A lot of people think they can bulldoze straight through the enemy lines, like shown on Image A (below). But what actually happens is more like Image B. This is due to 3 important factors you need to apply:
- Bulldoze pushes models directly away from your base. Not at an angle. Directly. Away.
- If there is a model behind the bulldozed model, the model will STOP.
- A model can be pushed only one time via Bulldoze.
- Push (Edit)
- Pushed models do not change their facing.
- Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
- Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
- You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
- Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds
- If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
- However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Rain of Death (Edit)
- If you do a Rain of Death after a charge then you don't get the damage bonus from charging, because it is not a charge attack.
Rules Clarification : Steady (Edit)
- Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
- For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
- A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.
Rules Clarification : Sturdy - None yet. (Edit)