| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath
Mercenary, and Minion, Lesser Warlock Character Solo & Tatzylwurm Heavy Warbeast
Her own kinsmen do not understand how the entrancing music of this Iosan sorceress tames lesser minds. She has forged a bond with a pale Tatzlwurm she calls Skarath and offers their combined services in battle to those she deems useful. With a few haunting notes she directs this living weapon to swallow lesser enemies whole or to paralyse the mighty with its poisonous bite.
|Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath
| Base Size
| Base Size
|See also How to Read the statblock
- Unarmed - This model has no weapons.
Haunting Melody - Cost 2, Upkeep
- While in Dahlia's CTRL range, living enemy models cannot give or receive orders, and cannot make melee or ranged attacks targeting Dahlia.
Mist Walker - Cost 2, 6" range
- Target model in Dahlia's battlegroup gains Pathfinder and Prowl for one round. (Prowl - While concealed this model has stealth. )
- Acid Spray - 10" spray, POW 12 ranged attack
- Damage Type: Corrosion - This weapon does corrosion damage.
- Continuous Corrosion - A model hit by this attack suffers continuous corrosion, which has a chance of doing a single point of damage each turn.
- Bite - 2" reach, P+S 16 melee weapon
- Critical Consume - On critical hit vs non-warcaster, non-warlock small model, the target is removed from play.
- Paralysis - A living model hit by this weapon has its base DEF reduced to 5 and can't run, charge, slam, or trample for one round.
- Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good.
- Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapons even while in melee, but when it does so it can only target models it's in melee with. It can even make ranged attacks after charging.
- Bond [Dahlia Hallyr] - If this model begins the game in Dahlia Hallyr's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Dahlia Hallyr and in their CTRL range, an extra die on attack rolls against models in Dahlia's CTRL range
- Companion [Dahlia Hallyr] - This model only comes with Dahlia Hallyr, is part of their battlegroup, and if Dahlia Hallyr dies this model is RFP'd.
- Serpentine - This model can't slam, can't trample, and can't be knocked down.
Counterblast - Cost 1
- When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within the caster's CMD range, the caster can make one basic melee or ranged attack targeting that model, then Counterblast expires. Counterblast lasts for one round.
Thoughts on Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath
Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath in a nutshell
Skarath is a very handy warbeast with a great gun, passable melee ability, and solid defensive abilities. Dahlia grants Skarath pathfinder, prowl and mourderous (Bond) and has an upkeep that gives melee units fits. They're a solid pick and can often hold down zones on their own.
Combos & Synergies
- Dr. Arkadius can use his Combat Syringe (Specifically Raw Adrenaline) to give Skarath a fully boosted spray.
- Magnus2 or Ossrum can put Bullet Dodger on Skarath. With Wrongeye casting Star Crossed nearby, Skarath is a very difficult snake to hit.
Drawbacks and Downsides
- Expensive and Skarath is only POW 16.
Tricks and Tips
- Haunting Melody prevents living warrior models from making attacks against Dahlia, but it also keeps them from giving or receiving orders, which can really mess armies up.
Released in Forces of Hordes: Minions
Other Faction models
Rules Clarification : Unarmed (Edit)
- Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
- This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
- Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
- However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.
Rules Clarification : Lesser Warlock (Edit)
- This model has a completely separate battlegroup to your main warlock.
- Your main warlock cannot force warbeasts under this model's control (and vice versa).
- Any spells/effects that apply to your main warlock's battlegroup (such as Warpath) do not apply to warbeasts under this model's control (and vice versa).
- This model is a solo, and is not a warlock
- It is affected by stuff which specifies "non-warlock models" (such as Seduction).
- It is not affected by stuff which specifies "warlock" (such as Black Arts).
- When this solo dies, any warbeasts they are controlling go wild exactly as if it was a warlock. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Limited Battlegroup - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Charmer (Edit)
- The fury points stay on the warbeast.
Rules Clarification : Haunting Melody - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Mist Walker (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Prowl (Edit)
- You can still benefit from Prowl even if the attacker "ignores concealment".
Because even though they ignore it that doesn't change the fact that you have it, and all you need to do is have it in order to get Prowl.
Rules Clarification : Stealth (Edit)
- "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
- For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
Rules Clarification : Corrosion (Edit)
- A weapon can inflict continuous corrosion without itself being a corrosion damage weapon (for example, the Acidic Touch animus). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity: Corrosion it just won't apply the continuous effect.
Rules Clarification : Consume (Edit)
- Consume triggers on all hits, not just direct ones. So if you trigger Consume on an AOE weapon (such as Hyperion) it will RFP every model in the AOE. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Paralysis - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Warbeast (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.
- If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)
- A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
- An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and spell. (Infernal Ruling)
- If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)
- Step 4 of Frenzy was errata'd in 2016. Make sure you're using the latest version of the rules.
- You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
- You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
- If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Confirmation)
Rules Clarification: : Gunfighter (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
- A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).
- 1. Outside of melee
- If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
- 2. In melee, but didn't charge
- If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
- This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
- If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
- 3. Charged into melee
- If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
- If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
- 4. Other targeting notes
- Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
- If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
- You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
- Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
- How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
- they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
- they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
- Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).
Missing the Attack Roll
- If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
- Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
- but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).
- Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
- Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).
Gunfighter + an AOE weapon
- If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
- If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.
Gunfighter + a spray weapon
- Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
- If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.
Units of Gunfighters
- If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
- Redirected attack:
- If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
- If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
- If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.
- Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
- If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
- These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
- Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
- Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
- Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
- Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
- Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
- Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
- Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Bond (Edit)
- Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
- Bonds & Themes
- If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
- Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Companion - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Serpentine - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Counterblast (Edit)
- What does trigger Counterblast
- Counterblast triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
- You can trigger Counterblast during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
- Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
- What doesn't trigger Counterblast
- Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
- If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
- Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
- Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
Note to Editors
To edit Skarath's tagged abilities, Click here