Concealment & Cover

From Battle College
(Redirected from Cover)
Jump to: navigation, search
LPG (Edit)
This article is part of Battle College's Learning to Play the Game (LPG) series, which are aimed at new players still getting to grasp with the core rules.
You may also be interested in our intermediate-level articles, the Learning Objectives, Tactics, & Strategy (LOTS) series.


Concealment gives you +2 DEF, and Cover gives you +4 DEF. Couldn't be simpler, right? Wrong.

Shooting at angles[edit]

Quote marks.png

Concealment & Cover, pg 50
A model with concealment, either granted by being within 1˝ of a terrain feature that provides concealment in relation to its attacker or from another effect, gains +2 DEF against ranged and magic attack rolls.

It's not enough just to be within 1" of a terrain feature, you need to be 1" away when measuring to/from your attacker.

How do we determine this? The wording is on the same page of the rulebook, but frankly it's easier to understand with diagrams.

In this case it's obvious that the target has concealment from the wall. Conceal LOS 1.jpg
In this case it's obvious that the target DOES NOT have concealment. Conceal LOS 2.jpg
But in this case, we need to carefully check and see if there is ANY line between the two models that satisfies both:
  1. the line crosses the hedge
  2. there is 1" or less between the target and the hedge, on that same line.

Also, this is any where on the attacker's volume, it's not limited to the attacker's front arc.

Conceal LOS 3.jpg


Secondary benefits[edit]

Sometimes models get secondary benefits when they have Cover and/or Concealment. (For instance, Prowl - While concealed this model has stealth. )

If your model ignores cover and/or concealment, it will not ignore the secondary benefits that these models get.

Because even though you ignore it, that doesn't change the fact they have it. And all they need to do is have it in order to trigger Prowl (and similar abilities).

If your model makes your target lose cover and/or concealment, that's a different kettle of fish.


Ignoring Line of Sight (LOS)[edit]

LOS has zero bearing on whether you get cover/concealment from terrain. In fact, if you stop to think about it, the only way to get cover/concealment from intervening terrain is by drawing a line between the attacker and target that goes through the terrain. So the LOS line has to be a different line to the intervening terrain line.

The same logic holds true for models that grant cover/concealment "as of they were" a piece of terrain. (For instance, Roadblock - This model provides cover to friendly models as if it were an obstacle. This model loses Roadblock while it is incorporeal or knocked down.)

The point is, models that ignore terrain/models for LOS never ignore the concealment/cover bonus that is granted by intervening terrain/models.


"Intervening" or "Completely Within"[edit]

Some types of terrain provide defensive bonuses for models that are completely within the terrain (such as forests), while other types provide bonuses just by being intervening (such as hedges).

There is no 'standard rule' that makes every kind of terrain give bonuses to models within 1".

  • You do not get a bonus for being within 1" of a terrain feature that states you gain a defensive bonus while completely within it (such as a Forest). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You do not get a bonus for standing behind and being within 1" of a (short) hill. (Infernal Ruling)


Wall templates[edit]

Several spells place "wall templates" into play (such as Wall of Fire). Unless the spell says otherwise, these templates are not terrain pieces and do not provide defensive bonuses to models within 1" the same way a normal wall would. (Infernal Ruling)

Wall Templates are 4" long by 0.75" wide (Infernal Ruling)

In Melee[edit]

Melee Attackers[edit]

You don't get cover or concealment vs melee attacks. Instead you get +2 DEF if there is any type of intervening terrain anywhere between you and the attacker.

  • However, not all types of terrain count as "intervening terrain". If the terrain defines itself as giving bonuses to models "completely within" it (such as forests), then it never counts as intervening terrain. (Infernal Ruling)

Ranged & Magic Attackers[edit]

Sometimes a model will be able to make a ranged or magic attack even when they're in melee with you. A classic example is Gunfighter.

In this case, the attacker does not ignore cover or concealment, even if they're in base-to-base contact with you.


See Also[edit]