Clockwork Angels

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Convergence Unit

Clockwork angels are fast and deadly strike forces that utilize the innovation of true flight to remain in constant motion, eagerly disrupting all who would dare to oppose the will of Cyriss. Relying on their speed, maneuverability, and the devastating precision of their polynomial beams to surgically cripple enemy forces, the clockwork angels leave their foes weakened and vulnerable to the finishing blows of other Convergence elements.

Basic Info[edit]

Clockwork Angels
ClockworkAngels WEB.jpg
SPD 7
MAT 6
RAT 5
DEF 14
ARM 12
CMD 7
HP 1
Unit Size 3
Cost 5
1.7 each
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

Abilities[edit]

  • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
  • Combined Ranged Attack - This unit can combine their ranged attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Flight - This model ignores (almost) all terrain when moving. This model can move over other models, and ignores intervening models when declaring charges.
  • Blade Shield - This model gains +2 DEF vs ranged attacks.
  • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
  • Soul Vessel - This model has a soul as if it were a living model.


Thoughts on Clockwork Angels[edit]

Clockwork Angels in a nutshell[edit]

Angels act as a substitute for cavalry in the Convergence army, thanks to their high speed, reposition and brutal charge. They can hunt solos, or harass soft targets, with surgical strikes from their Binomial Blades, but do not expect them to last very long in a protracted combat. Fundamentally, they are the combat unit most likely to be seen in competitive Convergence lists because they do things the vectors simply can't.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Aurora - the only caster who can keep up with them. Her spells support them wonderfully, plus they can activate her Flank bonus.
  • Lucant - Deceleration brings their ARM up to 'doesn't die from blasts', and under his feat, they are actually somewhat survivable. Positive Charge helps their attacks hit home.
  • Axis - provided they live long enough to see use of his feat, they can deliver quite potent charges from afar.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Their armor is tinfoil - they die to blasts and magic attacks.
  • They are usually too fast to take advantage of the Enigma Foundry's support
  • One wound and small numbers means the unit can easily be wiped out in one turn

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Spread out. It is their most useful tool against blast damage and electro leaps.
  • Their only defense is their speed and high DEF. Look for concealment or cover all the time, and launch hit&run raids from there.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in Forces of Warmachine: Convergence of Cyriss (2013)

Clockwork Angels represent the newest innovation in Cyrissist technology: the true flight. To achieve this breakthrough, the Convergence leveraged the revolutionary compact displacer drive invented by Aurora, Numen of Aerogenesis. The polynomial beams of individual angels are more than capable of cutting down ordinary soldiers. When faced with a more daunting foe, however, the angels can combine their beams to achieve an exceptionally more powerful blast of raw energy.

Aurora personally selected the first Clockwork Angels from among their most capable followers. Their close relationship with the young warcaster and the time they had spend fighting together enabled them to adapt quickly both to the angelic vessel and to the new tactics Aurora developed to exploit their advantages. As the form has continued to prove itself in battle, more volunteers have come forward, each hoping to secure a place in Aurora's host. Among Cyriss' faithful, only those veterans who are fully attuned to the control of clockwork vessels can meet her standards for consideration; fewer still possess the mental dexterity required to master flight itself.

Theme Forces[edit]

Clockwork Legions (Article) (Category)

Other Convergence models[edit]

Convergence Logo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Aurora, Numen of Aerogenesis - Axis, The Harmonic Enforcer - Father Lucant, Divinity Architect - Forge Master Syntherion - Iron Mother Directrix & Exponent - Eminent Configurator Orion
C
O
N
V
E
R
G
E
N
C
E
Light Corollary - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator
Heavy Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor
Colossals Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors


Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector
Battle Engines Transfinite Emergence Projector & Permutation Servitors
 
Theme Forces Mercenaries
Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions Eilish Garrity, the Occultist

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Brutal Charge      (Edit)

  • If your charge movement was less than 3", your first attack is not considered a 'charge attack' and thus you won't get the Brutal Charge bonus.

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Blade Shield - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Soul Vessel      (Edit)

  • A Soul Vessel is not a living model in any way, so it will not trigger anything like Bloodthirst or Poison.
  • The only thing Soul Vessel means is that it produces a soul when it is destroyed, as if it were a living model.
    • This does lead to the odd situation where an ability that would normally RFP a living model and prevent a soul token being generated (such as Snacking) will not work vs a Soul Vessel. So the Vessel can't get snacked and will produce a soul.

Rules Clarification : Flight      (Edit)

  • Flight doesn't ignore:
    • Impassable terrain and hazardous terrain
    • Templates that stay in play and do damage to models moving through them (such as a Scather).
    • Free strikes.
  • Trampling with a flying model (Edit)
    • Flight allows you to trample "over" medium- and larger-bases.
    • Although you trample "over" them, you don't get to make a trample attack vs them and you don't ignore their free strikes. Refer the core rulebook.
      • Unless, of course, you have an exception like Blade Rush.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata. This is a reversal of an earlier ruling.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.

Rules Clarification : Combined Ranged Attack      (Edit)

  • CRA cannot target models in melee, except for huge-based models.
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)