Cipher

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Convergence Heavy Vector

The Cipher supports the assault with a pair of hydraulically powered piston spikes and an integrated servipod mortar that can unleash several different ammunition types in support of its army’s advance.

Basic Info[edit]

Cipher
Cipher WEB.jpg
SPD 4
STR 12
MAT {Special}
RAT {Special}
DEF 10
ARM 19
HP 32
Cost 16

Weapons[edit]

  • Servipod Mortar - 11" range, 4" AOE, POW (★)
    • Arcing Fire - When attacking with this weapon, this model can ignore intervening models except those within 1" of the target.
    • Attack Type - When you make an attack with this weapon you must choose one of the following types:
      • Bombardment - Models hit suffer a POW 6 blast damage roll.
      • Crater - This weapon's AOE remains in play as rough terrain.
      • Flare - Models hit by this weapon/attack lose Stealth and suffer -2 DEF for one turn.
    • Reload [1] - This model can spend focus to make up to 1 additional ranged attack(s) with this weapon during its Combat Action. It can make one additional attack for each focus spent.
  • Piston Spike x2 - Range 1, P+S 18 melee attacks.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Vector - A vector is a specialised type of warjack. It is big and stompy, as normal, but swaps out the Cortex for an Induction Node. Also its MAT & RAT is always equal to its controller's.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Steady - This model can't be knocked down.

Thoughts on Cipher[edit]

Cipher in a nutshell[edit]

Slow, Steady, and Strong, Cipher is a widely used utility heavy vector. At range, it has a shot type for all occasions, and when engaged in melee, it hits hard, with 2 initials.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Non-caster synergies

  • Diffuser : Every Convergence construct model loves the Diffuser and its beacon. But Ciphers really love them. Hit a target with the Diffuser first, and then watch Cipher rush into melee range with surprising speed.

Caster synergies
Try not to misunderstand Cipher as a shooty vector. Cipher's gun, especially its flare, is good, but it mainly functions as supporting fire. The real game is Ciphers' heavy punches, only slightly lower than inverter's main weapon. It can serve almost any role.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • It's slow, without long range/high pow guns to mitigate it (which the Assimilator and Monitor sport)
  • Very little ranged damage

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Many armies, particularly Khador and Protectorate, don't handle rough terrain well.
  • Target cheap servitors to place the AOE exactly where you want it.

Other[edit]

Comparison to Mk2[edit]

No big changes.

Trivia[edit]

In many respects, the servitor stands as a fundamental achievement of the Convergence of Cyriss; many of the sect's most miraculous devices derive from it. Though individual servitors are neither as complex nor as versatile as their more sophisticated brethren, their underlying principles continue to drive innovation in the forges of the Convergence. The Cipher's servipod mortar in particular is a shining example of how the sect applies the foundational genius behind servitor technology in groundbreaking ways.

Every shot of a Cipher's servipod mortar discharges seven miniature servitors that disperse in flight for maximum coverage. Loading chambers within the Cipher ready groups of servipods customized to the warcaster's current needs. Once the correct ammunition has been determined, the servipods are launched in a withering volley. For example, blasting servipods tear through lightly armored enemies; lumichem servipods tag enemies with the same chemicals used by the Attunement Servitors; and tunneling servipods burrow into the earth before releasing a charge that ruptures level ground with treacherous sinkholes.

Convergence warcasters favor the Cipher not only for its versatility against distant charges but also for its raw efficiency against enemies that breach the front lines. The vector wields a pair of heavy piston spikes designed to sunder the heavy armor plating of any foe sturdy enough to reach the Cipher intact.

Theme Forces this is a member of[edit]

Themes for any-and-all Vectors (Edit)


Other Convergence models[edit]

Convergence Logo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Aurora, Numen of Aerogenesis - Axis, The Harmonic Enforcer - Father Lucant, Divinity Architect - Forge Master Syntherion - Iron Mother Directrix & Exponent - Eminent Configurator Orion
C
O
N
V
E
R
G
E
N
C
E
Light Corollary - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator
Heavy Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor
Colossals Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors


Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector
Battle Engines Transfinite Emergence Projector & Permutation Servitors
 
Theme Forces Mercenaries
Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions Eilish Garrity, the Occultist

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Arcing Fire      (Edit)

  • Arcing Fire lets you ignore models but not terrain. You don't ignore clouds, forests or buildings.

Rules Clarification : Attack Type and/or Arcane Savant     (Edit)

  • If you forget to declare your Attack Type before rolling the attack, and you and your opponent can't agree on a fair fix, then the Judge's Policy is that the first listed Attack Type is the one that will be used.

Rules Clarification : Bombardment      (Edit)

  • Placeholder

Rules Clarification : Crater - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Flare - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Reload      (Edit)

  • You can use Reload to make additional attacks after a Special Ranged Attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you have (x2) of a weapon with Reload (such as Caine1), the special rule will only be written on the card once. But you can reload both weapons to the max limit. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification:  : Vector      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

Cortex
  • They don't have one.
  • They're immune to all effects that specify "cortex" - for instance, the spell Domination.
  • They're not immune to disruption. You cannot allocate or induct to a disrupted Vector.

Interface Node and Induction

  • A Vector can induct any number of times, to any number of Vectors, as long as it has focus to spend.
  • You can induct to the same Vector repeatedly, if you want.
  • You cannot go over the normal focus limit as a result of Induction. Refer to the Interface Node rules in the core rulebook.
  • You can induct to a Vector that has already activated. Although the only tactically-wise target is the Corollary.
  • Anything which prevents a model 'gaining' focus will prevent a Vector receiving focus via Induction.
  • When a Vector spends a focus to charge/run/slam/trample, it does so before movement. So you need to resolve Induction from its original position, not its final position.
  • A Vector doesn't need to be in its caster's CTRL range to give/receive focus via Induction.
  • Warcasters can't Induct or be Inducted to.
  • Unlike with normal warjacks, when a Vector has its Interface Node crippled it doesn't lose the focus currently on it.
    • It can't spend the focus or gain any more while the Node's crippled, but if you repair the Node then you can start spending again. And a Corollary with a crippled Node can still use Power Transfer to give focus away.
  • You can't spend focus to buy attacks (and Induct the focus) if no one is in your melee range. (Infernal Ruling)

MAT & RAT

  • Vectors use your warcaster's current RAT/MAT.
  • So, for things which affect RAT/MAT directly (such as Deneghra1's feat):
    • If your warcaster is affected, then all of your Vectors are affected.
    • If your Vector is affected, then it simply doesn't care.
  • And for things which affect your attack roll (such as Positive Charge)
    • There is no interaction between the caster and Vectors for 'attack roll' bonuses.
    • If your warcaster is affected, then your Vectors don't care
    • If a Vector is affected, then that Vector is affected (but not other Vectors)
  • And for things which affect other stats (such as -2 SPD, STR, etc)
    • Vectors work the same as normal models for all other stats. There is no special interaction between caster and Vectors in that regard.

Some MAT/RAT examples

  1. A caster has a MAT 6 and RAT 4.
    All Vectors in its battlegroup are MAT 6 and RAT 4
  2. In that same battlegroup, a Vector is affected by the Coven's feat (affected models suffer -2 RAT & MAT).
    That Vector remains MAT 6 and RAT 4.
  3. In that same battlegroup, the caster is affected by the Coven's feat.
    All Vectors become MAT 4 and RAT 2.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Steady      (Edit)

  • Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
    • For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
  • A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.