Chimera

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Retribution Shyeel Light Warjack

The Chimera has an unsettling appearance as its active power field makes its form blur and fade. Once it nears the enemy, a Chimera becomes a delivery device for its warcaster’s most powerful arcane powers, channeled across its arc node. The Chimera will strike and kill with its scything arm-mounted glaives, then vanish as nearby soldiers turn to desperately engage it. With a flicker of blended light it appears behind them to deliver arcane death.

Basic Info[edit]

Chimera
Chimera
SPD 6
STR 8
MAT 6
DEF 12
ARM 16
Force Field 6
HP 20
Cost 8
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Glaive (x2) - 0.5" reach, P+S 12 melee weapons
    • Combo Strike (★ Attack) - Make a melee attack. Instead of making a normal damage roll, the POW of the damage roll is equal to this model's STR plus twice the POW of this weapon.
    • Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.

Abilities[edit]

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Arc Node - This model can channel spells cast by its controlling Warcaster.
  • Field Dependent - If this model's Generator is crippled, it loses Apparition and Phantasmal Field
  • Phantasmal Field - A Chimera gains +1 DEF against ranged and magic attacks for each focus point on it.
  • Apparition - This model may be placed 2" from its current location during the Control Phase.


Thoughts on Chimera[edit]

Chimera in a nutshell[edit]

The Chimera is an inexpensive arc node with the ability to extricate itself from melee. Its Apparition ability makes it tricky to engage for enemy models trying to prevent it from channeling. It has a decent melee ability for a light and can threaten tougher foes with its Combo Strike.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Placeholder.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

Placeholder.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

Two handed throws and slams are a good option for this guy to make it more than just an ark node.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in Forces of Warmachine: Retribution of Scyrah (Novermber 2009)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Retribution models[edit]

RetLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Rahn1 - Vyros1 - Vyros2 - Elara2 - Garryth1 - Goreshade4 - Issyria1 - Kaelyssa1 - Ossyan1 - Ravyn1 - Thyron1 - Helynna1
R
E
T
R
I
B
U
T
I
O
N
Warcaster attachments Fane Knight Guardian (Retribution) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Retribution) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Elara1 (BGC) - Sentinel Scyir - Artificer
Light warjacks Aspis - Chimera - Gorgon - Griffon
Moros
Heavy warjacks Banshee - Daemon - Hydra - Manticore - Phoenix - Sphinx
Discordia - Hypnos - Hemera - Imperatus
Colossal Hyperion - Helios
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Destors - Invictors - Sentinels - Heavy Rifle Team - Swordsmen - Arcanists - Battle Mages - Electromancers - Halberdiers - Riflemen - Infiltrators - Strike Force - Ryssovass Defenders - Stormfall Archers
Nyss Hunters - Spears of Scyrah
Special: Eiryss3 (CA) - Soulless Escort (WA)
Solos Arcanist Mechanik - Destor Thane - Sentinel Scyir - Ghost Sniper - Artificer - Magister - Houseguard Thane - Lys Healer - Assassin - Priest of Nyssor - Soulless Voidtracer

Aelyth Vyr - Eirrys1 - Eiryss2 - Elara1 - Issyen - Narn - Nayl

Battle Engines Arcantrik Force Generator
 
Theme Forces
Forges of War - Defenders of Ios - Shadows of the Retribution
RetMercLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Retribution Mercenary Models/Units
Units Lady Aiyana & Master Holt
Solos Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • Please refer to the Warjack page for a recap of the warjack rules, and the very few associated Infernal Rulings.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node     (Edit)

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.
  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the DEF bonus.
  • Since Stealth has both a LOS component (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed); this can lead to some non-intuitive interactions between channeling and stealth when either the caster or channeler is able to ignore stealth.
    We've put a bunch of examples on the Category:Channeler page.

Rules Clarification : Apparition      (Edit)

  • If a model is B2B with you when you use Apparition then they will be exactly 2" away afterwards. So you can't get away from 'long reach' melee weapons.
  • Unit members must always be placed in formation. Refer to the "Placed" section if the core rulebook.
    • If a trooper can't be placed in formation (because it's more than 2" out of formation to begin with) then it can't be placed at all.

Rules Clarification : Phantasmal Field - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Combo Strike - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Field Dependent - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
  • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
  • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
  • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.