Category:Channeler

From Battle College
(Redirected from Channeler)
Jump to: navigation, search
Channeler - This model can channel spells. Edit description


Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node     (Edit)

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.
  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the DEF bonus.
  • Since Stealth has both a LOS component (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed); this can lead to some non-intuitive interactions between channeling and stealth when either the caster or channeler is able to ignore stealth.
    We've put a bunch of examples on the Category:Channeler page.

Examples of Eyeless Sight (etc) & Stealth & Channelers[edit]

The Stealth rule actually has two components: a LOS component and an attack roll modifier.

The channeler's abilities are used when determining LOS and only LOS.

  • Thus if the channeler ignores stealth, then all stealth models count as intervening models.
  • If the channeler doesn't ignore stealth, then only stealth models within 5" count as intervening models (as per normal).

The caster's abilities are used when determining modifiers to the attack roll and only the attack roll.

  • Thus if the caster ignores stealth, then they won't auto-miss stealth models regardless of how far they are from the channeler.
  • If the caster doesn't ignore stealth, then they will auto-miss stealth models more than 5" from the channeler (as per normal).
Caster has Eyeless Sight, but the Channeler does not
Scenario Effect on LOS Effect on auto-miss
Stealth model is within 5" of channeler The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler The model does not count as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules. If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as the attacking model has Eyeless Sight.
Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a stealthed model behind it. As above As above
Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a non-stealthed model behind it. As above As above

Caster does not have Eyeless Sight, but the Channeler does
Scenario Effect on LOS Effect on auto-miss
Stealth model is within 5" of channeler The model counts as an intervening model, as per the normal Stealth rules If you attack it then you don't auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler The model counts as an intervening model, because the model drawing LOS ignores Stealth. If you attack it then you will auto-miss, as per the normal Stealth rules
Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a stealthed model behind it. As above As above
Stealth model is more than 5" away from channeler, and you want to target a non-stealthed model behind it. As above If you want to attack the non-stealthed model you need a clear LOS, and then you can attack it normally.

Subcategories

This category has the following 8 subcategories, out of 8 total.